100 Questions and Answers about Eating Disorders by
Approximately 3 percent of all females suffer from anorexia and up to 4 percent suffer from bulimia in their lifetimes. Whether you're a newly diagnosed patient with an eating disorder, or are a friend or relative of someone suffering from an eating disorder, this book offers help. The only text available to provide both the doctor's and patient's views, 100 Questions & Answers About Eating Disorders gives you authoritative, practical answers to your questions. Written by an expert on the subject, with
Adolescence and Body Image: From Development to Preventing Dissatisfaction by
Body image is a significant issue for the majority of adolescents. Anxieties relating to body image can be crippling across both genders, their debilitating effects sometimes leading to mental health problems. This important book is the first of its kind to focus specifically on adolescents, providing a comprehensive overview of the biological, psychological and socio-cultural factors relating to the development of body image. It also provides a detailed review of the measures which can be taken to address body dissatisfaction. Discussing the role of culture, family, peers, schools, sport and media in stimulating a negative body image, the book also examines the different challenges faced by girls and boys as they grow. Eating disorders and body change strategies are also addressed, as well as the challenges faced by youngsters affected by conditions causing visible differences, such as hair loss in cancer patients.The book also presents original research, including the results from a large Australian study of the body image and associated health behaviours of adolescent boys, and the results of a study of current teaching practices relating to body image. Adolescence and Body Image will be ideal reading for students and researchers from a variety of fields, including developmental, health, and social psychology, sociology, and cultural and health studies. Professionals working with young people, whether in education, health promotion or any other allied discipline will also find this book an invaluable resource.
The Bigger the Better, the Tighter the Sweater: 21 Funny Women on Beauty, Body Image, & Other Hazards of Being Female by
Getting undressed for the dreaded seventh-grade gym class. Feeling fascinated with, yet disgusted by, the fashion magazines full of perfect, unattainable bodies. Enduring the pain of a bikini wax or suffering the ramifications of overplucked brows.Like all women, the contributors to The Bigger the Better, the Tighter the Sweater have been there and lived to tell the tale. With laugh-out-loud essays on such topics as the hell of puberty fashion errors and triumphs rolls, jiggles, and dimples the positives and pitfalls of cosmetic surgery and beauty standards across different races and cultures, readers will feel that they are sitting down with their girlfriends for a funny, honest, and thought-provoking conversation about our complex relationships with our bodies. With smarts, wit, and style, this collection captures the double bind of beauty and body image that women contend with each day.
Bio-Psycho-Social Contributions to Understanding Eating Disorders by
This book uniquely combines cutting-edge medical, psychological, and sociocultural topics pertinent to eating disorders. In the medical realm, the book focuses on Eating Disorders' newly investigated associations with ADHD and sleep disorders, and on innovative treatments of osteoporosis in anorexia nervosa. Novel contributions in the psychological realm address families' trans-generational transmission of Eating Disorders-related difficulties and novel internet-based treatments for such families. Lastly, in the sociocultural realm, the book discusses social contagion and Pro-Ana websites as increasing risk for disordered eating in young women around the globe. This volume provides readers with more holistic perspectives of each realm and their interplay, to promote Eating Disorders' understanding, treatment, prevention, and research. It provides various professionals including mental health providers, physicians, nutritionists, and graduate students in these professions.
Body Image, Eating, and Weight: A Guide to Assessment, Treatment, and Prevention by
This book equips readers with the knowledge required to improve diagnosis and treatment and to implement integrated prevention programs in patients with eating and weight disorders. It does so by providing a comprehensive, up-to-date review of research findings and theoretical assumptions concerning the interface and interactions between body image and such disorders as anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge eating disorder, other specified feeding and eating disorders, orthorexia nervosa, overweight, and obesity. After consideration of issues of definition and classification, the opening part of the book examines the concept of body image from a variety of viewpoints. A series of chapters are then devoted to the assessment of the multidimensional construct "body image", to dysmorphophobia/body dysmorphic disorder, and to muscle dysmorphia. The third part discusses body image in people suffering from different eating disorders and/or overweight or obesity, and two final chapters focus on body image in the integrated prevention of eating disorders and obesity, and cultural differences regarding body image. The book will be of interest to all health professionals who work in the fields of psychiatry, clinical psychology, eating disorders, obesity, body image, adolescence, public health, and prevention.
Body Image, Eating Disorders, and Obesity in Youth: Assessment, Prevention, and Treatment by
The physical and mental health consequences of body image problems, eating disorders, and obesity in children and adolescents can be serious and can extend into adulthood. But as the empirical data presented in this second edition of a landmark volume show, these disorders are preventable and treatable. Research in these three areas has exploded since the publication of the first edition of ""Body Image, Eating Disorders, and Obesity in Youth"" and in these new pages leading researchers and practitioners detail recent progress in treatment and discuss areas of persisting challenge.Risk factors for these conditions appear early in development, and many of these factors are social and familial. Cultural variables play a powerful role, too, and the authors in this book demonstrate how body image and eating problems present and vary across ethnic groups and in boys and girls. No other volume considers all three of these challenging areas together, and no other volume provides the same range of information, from very early experience through treatment. All chapters are empirically based and contain suggestions for future research. This book assimilates up-to-date information into a form that is readily accessible by clinicians, researchers, and students.
Body Image: Understanding Body Dissatisfaction in Men, Women, and Children by
Sarah Grogan compares the effects of gender, sexuality, social class, age and ethnicity on satisfaction with the way we look and suggests how these differences arise. She also discusses the effect of media presentation of the ideal body and other cultural influences.
Body Image in Eating Disorders: Clinical Diagnosis and Integrative Approach to Psychological Treatment by
Body Image in Eating Disorders explores issues relating to the prevention, clinical diagnosis, and psychological treatment of distortions of body image in eating disorders. It presents a multifactorial model of indicators for diagnosis and treatment, considering psychological, sociocultural, and family indicators. Based on original empirical research with women and girls suffering from eating disorders, the book draws attention to limitations and dilemmas related to psychological diagnosis and treatment of people with eating disorders including anorexia readiness syndrome, bulimia, and bigorexia. The book proposes an integrative psychodynamic approach to the diagnosis and treatment of body image disorders and presents case studies illustrating examples of application of integration of psychodynamic therapy and psychodrama in psychological treatment of young people suffering from eating disorders. It considers risk factors including abnormal body image for the development of eating disorders and argues that psychological diagnosis of the body image is an important factor in determining the right direction of psychological treatment for people with eating disorders. Drawing on theoretical foundations and evidence-based clinical practice, the book will be of great interest to researchers, academics, and students in the fields of clinical and applied psychology, mental health, and specialists in eating disorders. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
The Body Is Not an Apology: The Power of Radical Self-Love by
New York Times bestseller! "To build a world that works for everyone, we must first make the radical decision to love every facet of ourselves. . . . 'The body is not an apology' is the mantra we should all embrace." --Kimberlé Crenshaw, legal scholar and founder and Executive Director, African American Policy Forum Humans are a varied and divergent bunch with all manner of beliefs, morals, and bodies. Systems of oppression thrive off our inability to make peace with difference and injure the relationship we have with our own bodies. The Body Is Not an Apology offers radical self-love as the balm to heal the wounds inflicted by these violent systems. World-renowned activist and poet Sonya Renee Taylor invites us to reconnect with the radical origins of our minds and bodies and celebrate our collective, enduring strength. As we awaken to our own indoctrinated body shame, we feel inspired to awaken others and to interrupt the systems that perpetuate body shame and oppression against all bodies. When we act from this truth on a global scale, we usher in the transformative opportunity of radical self-love, which is the opportunity for a more just, equitable, and compassionate world--for us all. This second edition includes stories from Taylor's travels around the world combating body terrorism and shines a light on the path toward liberation guided by love. In a brand new final chapter, she offers specific tools, actions, and resources for confronting racism, sexism, ableism, homophobia, and transphobia. And she provides a case study showing how radical self-love not only dismantles shame and self-loathing in us but has the power to dismantle entire systems of injustice. Together with the accompanying workbook, Your Body Is Not an Apology, Taylor brings the practice of radical self-love to life.
Body Positive: Understanding and Improving Body Image in Science and Practice by
What would it be like to feel good about your body? Does anyone really fully appreciate their body? If diverse body shapes and sizes were shown in the media, would this change your perception? While this book addresses all of these questions and more, it is not simply a standard scientific exploration of poor body image. Instead, it examines a new movement focused on understanding what it is that leads people to love, appreciate, take care of, and embrace their bodies. Featuring chapters written by leading, international experts in the science and practice of body image, Body Positive is a provocative and engaging look at how we feel about our physical selves in the twenty-first century - and how we can all come to feel better than we currently do.
Body Stories: In and Out With and Through Fat by 
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body by
Pop culture and the media today are saturated with the focus on the aesthetics of the human body. Magazines and infotainment shows speculate whether this or that actress had breast implants or a nose job. Americans are not just focusing on celebrities but on themselves too and today have unprecedented opportunities to rework what nature gave them. One can now drop in to have cosmetic surgery at the local mall. Contemplating the superficial nature of it all grows tiresome, and pop culture vultures and students can get a better fix for their fascination with the body beautiful through the cultural insight provided in this amazing set. Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body is a treasure trove of essays that explore the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world that are sometimes mind-blowing and eye-popping. Body parts are examined through a multifaceted cultural lens. Readers will explore how the parts are understood, what they mean to disparate societies, how they are managed, treated, and transformed, and how they are depicted and represented. The entries draw from many disciplines that are concerned to some degree or another with human bodies, including anthropology archeology, sociology, religion, political history, philosophy, art history, literary studies, and medicine. The encyclopedia proffers information on a number of cultures, tribes, and customs from East and West. Ancient practices to the latest fad, which in fact might continue ancient practices, are illuminated. Other considerations that arise in the essays include comparisons among cultures, the changing perceptions of the body, and issues of race, gender, religion, community and belonging, ethnicity, power structures, human rights.
Eating Disorders: What Everyone Needs to Know by 
Eating Disorders and Obesity: A Counselor's Guide to Prevention and Treatment by
Both practical and comprehensive, this book provides a clear framework for the assessment, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders and obesity. Focusing on best practices and offering a range of current techniques, leaders in the field examine these life-threatening disorders and propose treatment options for clients of all ages. This text, written specifically for counselors, benefits from the authors' collective expertise and emphasizes practitioner-friendly, wellness-based approaches that counselors can use in their daily practice.Parts I and II of the text address risk factors in and sociocultural influences on the development of eating disorders, gender differences, the unique concerns of clients of color, ethical and legal issues, and assessment and diagnosis. Part III explores prevention and early intervention with high-risk groups in school, university, and community settings. The final section presents a variety of treatment interventions, such as cognitive-behavioral, interpersonal, dialectical behavior, and family-based therapy.
Eating Disorders and the Brain by
Why is the brain important in eating disorders? This ground-breaking new book describes how increasingly sophisticated neuroscientific approaches are revealing much about the role of the brain in eating disorders. Even more importantly, it discusses how underlying brain abnormalities and dysfunction may contribute to the development and help in the treatment of these serious disorders. Neuropsychological studies show impairments in specific cognitive functions, especially executive and visuo-spatial skills. Neuroimaging studies show structural and functional abnormalities, including cortical atrophy and neural circuit abnormalities, the latter appearing to be playing a major part in the development of anorexia nervosa. Neurochemistry studies show dysregulation within neurotransmitter systems, with effects upon the modulation of feeding, mood, anxiety, neuroendocrine control, metabolic rate, sympathetic tone and temperature. The first chapter, by an eating disorders clinician, explains the importance of a neuroscience perspective for clinicians. This is followed by an overview of the common eating disorders, then chapters on what we know of them from studies of neuroimaging, neuropsychology and neurochemistry. The mysterious phenomenon of body image disturbance is then described and explained from a neuroscience perspective. The next two chapters focus on neuroscience models of eating disorders, the first offering an overview and the second a new and comprehensive explanatory model of anorexia nervosa. The following two chapters offer a clinical perspective, with attention on the implications of a neuroscience perspective for patients and their families, the second providing details of clinical applications of neuroscience understanding. The final chapter looks to the future. This book succinctly reviews current knowledge about all these aspects of eating disorder neuroscience and explores the implications for treatment. It will be of great interest to all clinicians (psychiatrists, psychologists, nurses, dieticians, paediatricians, physicians, physiotherapists) working in eating disorders, as well as to neuroscience researchers.
Eating Disorders in Women and Children: Prevention, Stress Management, and Treatment by
Your daughter, mother, or someone in your care may have an eating disorder. Would you know? Whether you work in health care, counseling, education, athletics, or you are a concerned family member, you will find that Eating Disorders in Women and Children: Prevention, Stress Management, and Treatment develops a broader understanding of eatin
Eating Disorders Sourcebook
Encyclopedia of Feeding and Eating Disorders by
The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders. The scope of the book is an overview of all the feeding and eating disorders from “bench to bedside”, incorporating recent changes introduced into the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5). The aim is to present one of the first complete overviews of the newly defined area of feeding and eating disorders with respect to genetics, biology and neuroscience through to theory and its application in developing clinical approaches to the prevention and treatment of feeding and eating disorders.
Fat and Faithful: Learning to Love our Bodies, Our Neighbors, and Ourselves by
You are already enough, and you are not too much. J. Nicole Morgan grew up fat and loving Jesus. But she was forever burdened by what she saw as her biggest spiritual flaw: her weight. In Fat and Faithful, she shares her journey from body shame to fat acceptance and shows us how to care for the image of God found in every body--including our own. When the world tells us that our bodies are too much, J. Nicole Morgan reminds us that all people--no matter their size, shape, or ability--are beloved of God. Bodies of all sizes, shapes, colors, ethnicities, genders, sexual orientations, and abilities are expressions of the body of Christ. When our first prayer isn't about changing our bodies, we create space to care for our neighbors and to celebrate the unique ways we are equipped to serve our communities in the bodies we have. Fat and Faithful shows us that the world is wider than the size of our waistline.
Fat Gay Men: Girth, Mirth, and the Politics of Stigma by
To be fat in a thin-obsessed gay culture can be difficult. Despite affectionate in-group monikers for big gay men-chubs, bears, cubs-the anti-fat stigma that persists in American culture at large still haunts these individuals who often exist at the margins of gay communities. In Fat Gay Men, Jason Whitesel delves into the world of Girth & Mirth, a nationally known social club dedicated to big gay men, illuminating the ways in which these men form identities and community in the face of adversity. In existence for over forty years, the club has long been a refuge and 'safe space' for such men. Both a partial insider as a gay man and an outsider to Girth & Mirth, Whitesel offers an insider's critique of the gay movement, questioning whether the social consequences of the failure to be height-weight proportionate should be so extreme in the gay community. This book documents performances at club events and examines how participants use allusion and campy-queer behavior to reconfigure and reclaim their sullied body images, focusing on the numerous tensions of marginalization and dignity that big gay men experience and how they negotiate these tensions via their membership to a size-positive group. Based on ethnographic interviews and in-depth field notes from more than 100 events at bar nights, café klatches, restaurants, potlucks, holiday bashes, pool parties, movie nights, and weekend retreats, the book explores the woundedness that comes from being relegated to an inferior position in gay hierarchies, and yet celebrates how some gay men can reposition the shame of fat stigma through carnival, camp, and play. A compelling and rich narrative, Fat Gay Men provides a rare glimpse into an unexplored dimension of weight and body image in American culture.
Fulfilled: Let Go of Shame, Embrace Your Body and Eat the Food You Love by
Today's culture has distorted the way we women view our bodies. We are hyper-critical, obsessed with weight loss, and distracted by the countless advertisements we see to eat, exercise, and dress differently. But God does not call you to be thinner or to follow a perfectly clean diet plan. Rather, God longs for you to embrace your body, eat with freedom, and live with a deep sense of confidence that you (and your body) are loved exactly as you are. In Fulfilled, nutrition expert Alexandra MacKillop explores physical, mental, and spiritual health through a non-diet lens, encouraging you to respect your body, honor your hunger, and embrace the unique size and shape that God created for you. Fulfilled provides tangible steps toward changing your beliefs about food and your body. After examining the ways dieting harms a person's physical and spiritual health, the book lays out a more intuitive framework for eating that emphasizes mindfulness, satisfaction, and surrender. As you learn to embrace your body, you'll be set free from the fear of losing control. As you grow in your understanding of God's love for you and your natural shape, you'll be released from the shame of not conforming to a certain physical type. As you develop your knowledge of intuitive eating, you'll realize that you can love and eat foods of all types. With Alexandra as your guide, you'll learn how to enjoy food without sabotaging your fitness goals, honor the unique body God created for you, and live out a life of love and freedom--all under the umbrella of grace.
Handbook of Positive Body Image and Embodiment: Constructs, Protective Factors, and Interventions by
For five decades, negative body image has been a major focus of study due to its association with psychological and social morbidity, including eating disorders. However, more recently the body image construct has broadened to include positive ways of living in the body, enabling greater understanding of embodied well-being, as well as protective factors and interventions to guide the prevention and treatment of eating disorders. Handbook of Positive Body Image and Embodiment is the first comprehensive, research-based resource to address the breadth of innovative theoretical concepts and related practices concerning positive ways of living in the body, including positive body image and embodiment. Presenting 37 chapters by world-renowned experts in body image and eating behaviors, this state-of-the-art collection delineates constructs of positive body image and embodiment, as well as social environments (such as families, peers, schools, media, and the Internet) and therapeutic processes that can enhance them. Constructs examined include positive embodiment, body appreciation, body functionality, body image flexibility, broad conceptualization of beauty, intuitive eating, and attuned sexuality. Also discussed are protective factors, such as environments that promote body acceptance, personal safety, diversity, and activism, and a resistant stance towards objectification, media images, and restrictive feminine ideals. The handbook also explores how therapeutic interventions (including Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Cognitive Dissonance, and many more) and public health and policy initiatives can inform scholarly, clinical, and prevention-based work in the field of eating disorders.
Human Body Perception from the Inside Out by
The human body has long inspired artists, philosophers, musicians, and writers. Researchers in the psychological sciences, however, have only relatively recently begun to acknowledge the role the body plays in perception and cognition. With the general notion of cognition recently broadeningto include its embodied nature, researchers' accounts of perception have increasingly come to include the body's special status as a window on the world and to accommodate the specific perceptual requirements for identifying, interpreting, and interacting with other bodies.This volume presents a comprehensive overview of the rapid progress that has been made in understanding the human body and its relationship to perception. It will help to unify the relevant research from several independent areas of cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience and facilitate thedevelopment of an integrated framework for the study of human-body perception. Its sections cover the four major lines of research that have contributed and will continue to contribute to this new framework: body and multimodal perception, body representation, perception of biological motion, andintention and action in body perception. Each chapter provides a state-of-the-art account of exciting theoretical developments and empirical advances, and section introductions integrate the chapters and establish each section's place in the broader context of human-body-perception research. Thisvolume will be an invaluable guide for student and professional researchers in visual perception, cognitive psychology, and cognitive neuroscience.
Hungry for More: A Keeping-It-Real Guide for Black Women on Weight and Body Image by
Blending kitchen table wisdom and her own experience in losing her sister to gastric bypass surgery, author Robyn McGee explores the historical and cultural roots of obesity among black women, offering practical guidelines to weight loss and living a more healthy and balanced life. Though she advocates a slow and steady approach to weight loss under a doctor's supervision and a commitment to exercise, healthy eating, support groups, and therapy, she also understands that many black women, like her sister, will still choose the option of gastric bypass surgery despite the fact that 1 in 200 patients die from the surgeries. McGee argues that a range of factors often lead to obesity in black women, including the problem of fat acceptance in the black community, historically negative images of black women, compulsive bingeing and purging, childhood sexual abuse, and a lack of attention to black women in the medical community. With the memory of her sister's lifelong struggle with weight firmly in mind, McGee conveys to readers the importance of honoring themselves by making healthy choices, starting slow and being patient, seeking help when they need it, and finally, remembering that they are much more than a number on a scale.
The Management of Eating Disorders and Obesity by
A panel of internationally recognized eating disorder experts has expanded and fully updated this widely acclaimed book to reflect recent scientific and therapeutic developments. Stressing human physiology, treatment, and disease prevention, the authors take advantage of the new molecular understanding of the biological regulation of energy. Updated chapters review specific evidence-based and future treatment modalities, present an objective evaluation of the treatment, and identify the positives and negatives that have been seen during clinical studies, as well as cumulative data derived from clinical practice. New chapters include material on the use of the internet in the education and treatment of eating disorders and obesity, and on the role of appetite and satiety in obesity treatment, particularly with regard to the carbohydrate diet.
The Media and Body Image: If Looks Could Kill by
Blaming the media for reproducing and extolling unrealistic female bodies has almost become a popular truism. Even medical opinion notes that the media can influence young women to starve themselves and therefore act as a possible causal factor of disordered eating. Yet surprisingly, little work has addressed either the nature of media representations of the body, or the ways in which audiences interpret and use such images in our contemporary cultural context. The Media and Body Image addresses this lack and: - Draws together literature from sociology, gender studies and psychology - Brings together new empirical work on both media representations and audience responses - Offers a broad discussion of this topic in the context of socio-cultural change, gender politics, and self-identity.
More Than a Body: Your Body is an Instrument, Not an Ornament by
"An indispensable resource for women of all ages, this is a guide to help us better connect to ourselves, to value ourselves, to love ourselves, and ultimately, to be ourselves." --Chelsea Clinton Positive body image isn't believing your body looks good; it is knowing your body is good, regardless of how it looks. How do you feel about your body? Have you ever stayed home from a social activity or other opportunity because of concern about how you looked? Have you ever passed judgment on someone because of how they looked or dressed? Have you ever had difficulty concentrating on a task because you were self-conscious about your appearance? Our beauty-obsessed world perpetuates the idea that happiness, health, and ability to be loved are dependent on how we look, but authors Lindsay and Lexie Kite offer an alternative vision. With insights drawn from their extensive body image research, Lindsay and Lexie--PhDs and founders of the nonprofit Beauty Redefined (and also twin sisters!)--lay out an action plan that arms you with the skills you need to reconnect with your whole self and free yourself from the constraints of self-objectification. From media consumption to health and fitness to self-reflection and self-compassion, Lindsay and Lexie share powerful and practical advice that goes beyond "body positivity" to help readers develop body image resilience--all while cutting through the empty promises sold by media, advertisers, and the beauty and weight-loss industries. In the process, they show how facing your feelings of body shame or embarrassment can become a catalyst for personal growth.
Narrative Journeys of Young Black Women with Eating Disorders by
Narrative Journeys of Young Black Women with Eating Disorders: A Hidden Community among Us explores how the realities of three young black women who have experienced eating disorders since childhood were transformed, discussing the larger implications of disordered eating in underrepresented populations. People of all ethnic, gender, and socioeconomic backgrounds are susceptible to their grips, yet black women and children are experiencing eating disorders and suffering in silence due to shame and stigma. Due to barriers such as the conventional thought that eating disorders do not occur in the black community, they are often not acknowledged, discussed, or treated properly. Stephanie Hawthorne argues that these women's lived experiences substantiate the need for culturally sensitive and inclusive prevention, intervention, and care when it comes to mental health, and offers recommendations to schools, clinicians, parents, and adolescents to accomplish this goal. Scholars of communication, mental health, race studies, education, and medicine will find this book particularly useful.
Obesity and Overweight Sourcebook by
Part 1: The Phenomena of Overweight and Obesity -- Chapter 1 Understanding the Medical Model of Obesity -- Section 1.1 Body Composition and Body Fat Percentage -- Section 1.2 What Is Childhood Obesity and Overweight? -- Section 1.3 What Is Adult Obesity and Overweight? -- Section 1.4 What Is Obesity and Overweight in Elderly? -- Chapter 2 What Is the Difference between Being Overweight and Obese? -- Chapter 3 What Is Fat? -- Chapter 4 What Are the Types of Fat -- Chapter 5 What Is Morbid Obesity? -- Chapter 6 What Causes Obesity and Overweight? -- Section 6.1 Major Factors Causing Obesity -- Section 6.2 Disability and Obesity -- Section 6.3 Genetics and Obesity -- Chapter 7 What Is Obesity Screening? -- Chapter 8 Myths and Facts on Obesity and Overweight -- Part 2: Obesity and Overweight in the United States -- Chapter 9 Statistics on Obesity and Overweight in the U.S. -- Section 9.1 Prevalence among Children and Youths -- Section 9.2 Prevalence among Adults -- Section 9.3 Prevalence Based on Sex, Race, and Ethnicity -- Chapter 10 Surveillance Systems of Obesity and Overweight -- Chapter 11 Steps Taken by the U.S. Government to Reduce Obesity and -- Overweight -- Section 11.1 Steps That Can Be Taken by the Local Government -- Section 11.2 Community Efforts -- Part 3: Co-occurrence of Weight and Health -- Chapter 12 How Healthy Eating Affects Your Well-Being -- Chapter 13 What Is a Healthy Weight? -- Section 13.1 Body Mass Index (BMI) Explained -- Section 13.2 Factors Contributing to a Healthy Weight -- Section 13.3 Assessing Your Weight -- Section 13.4 Attaining a Healthy Weight: A Guide -- Chapter 14 Sleep and Weight Gain: What Is the Connection? -- Chapter 15 Common Health Consequences of Overweight and Obesity -- Chapter 16 How Health and Nutrition Are Closely Related in Weight Management -- Chapter 17 Myths about Nutrition and Physical Activity -- Part 4: Health Risks and Diseases Associated with Obesity and Overweight -- Chapter 18 Diabetes Due to Increasing Weight -- Chapter 19 Cardiovascular Diseases -- Chapter 20 Stroke Due to Excessive Weight -- Chapter 21 High Blood Pressure Due to Obesity and Overweight -- Chapter 22 How Your Weight Contributes to Getting Asthma -- Chapter 23 Arthritis, Osteoporosis, and Chronic Back Condition -- Chapter 24 Congenital Leptin Deficiency
Preventing Eating-Related and Weight-Related Disorders: Collaborative Research, Advocacy, and Policy Change by
This book presents a collection of writings by expert researchers from Canada, the United States, and Australia who are committed to finding common cause and common ground in the prevention of eating disorders and obesity. The ten chapters in this book seek to create a new public health approach to the prevention of weight-related disorders, one that counters the confusion and frustration from public policies, messages, and programs that recipients of prevention efforts often experience. The first section looks at prevention from a public health perspective, and the second section highlights theories from risk and resilience research that can inform the prevention of weight-related disorders. The contributions are varied in their theories and models, but woven throughout is the theme of collaboration in changing public institutions and social systems that promotes universal prevention and fosters mental health and resilience. Unique methods of linking systems and fostering partnerships across sectors and disciplines are highlighted, and readers are exposed to innovative ideas of how to move the field of prevention science forward to reduce the onset of negative body image, unhealthy weight management, eating disorders, and disordered eating. Preventing Eating-Related and Weight-Related Disorders is the second in a series of titles from The Community Health Systems Resource Group at The Hospital for Sick Children. This series will educate researchers, policy-makers, students, practitioners, and interested stakeholders on such topics as early intervention in psychosis, aggressive behaviour problems, eating-related disorders, and marginalized youth in educational contexts.
Relapse Prevention: Maintenance Strategies in the Treatment of Addictive Behaviors by
This important work elucidates why relapse is so common for people recovering from addictive behavior problems--and what can be done to keep treatment on track. It provides an empirically supported framework for helping people with addictive behavior problems develop the skills to maintain their treatment goals, even in high-risk situations, and deal effectively with setbacks that occur. The expert contributors clearly identify the obstacles that arise in treating specific problem behaviors, review the factors that may trigger relapse at different stages of recovery, and present procedures for teaching effective cognitive and behavioral coping strategies.
Rhetoric of Femininity: Female Body Image, Media, and Gender Role Stress/Conflict by
Rhetoric of Femininity: Female Body Image, Media, and Gender Role Stress/Conflict offers critical and social identity intersectionalities approach to interpretations of femininity among three generations of women for a rhetorical examination of how femininity is made to mean by media and popular culture. Amplified are voices of women across multiple age, ethnic, and sexual orientation groups who shared in focus groups and interviews their perceptions of femininity and feminine ideals. Femininity is explored using theories from communication and mass media, psychology, sociology, and feminist and gender studies. Donnalyn Pompper explores femininities as shaped by cultural rituals and industries, at home and at work in organizations, on sporting fields and arenas, and in politics.
The Routledge Companion to Beauty Politics by
The growth of the service economy, widespread acceptance of cosmetic technologies, expansion of global media, and the intensification of scrutiny of appearance brought about by the internet have heightened the power of beauty ideals in everyday life. A range of interdisciplinary contributions by an international roster of established and emerging scholars will introduce students to the emergence of debates about beauty, including work in history, sociology, communications, anthropology, gender studies, disability studies, ethnic studies, cultural studies, philosophy, and psychology. The Routledge Companion to Beauty Politics is an essential reference work for students and researchers interested in the politics of appearance. Comprising over 30 chapters by a team of international contributors the Handbook is divided into six parts: Theorizing Beauty Politics Competing Definitions of Beauty Beauty, Activism, and Social Change Body Work Beauty and Labor Beauty and the Lifecourse The Routledge Companion to Beauty Politics is essential reading for students in Women and Gender Studies, Sociology, Media Studies, Communications, Philosophy, and Psychology.
Sociology of the Body: A Reader by
Sociology of the Body is an introductory text reader that provides students with insight into theories and issues that shape contemporary perspectives of the body. Combining the work of classical theorists with modern-day sociological theory, the text takes a broad approach to achieving asociological understanding of the body.
Two Whole Cakes: How to Stop Dieting and Learn to Love your Body by
From the internationally renowned Fatshionista blogger, a "vulnerable, funny, whip-smart" celebration of fat acceptance and body confidence (Hanne Blank). From Photoshopped pictures to food-shaming to the latest crop of diet fads, our culture is obsessed with weight--as in, the less of it the better. In this spirited book based on the popular blog of the same name, Lesley Kinzel urges readers to do away with calorie-counting, cutting carbs, and all of the diet "secrets" foisted on us by the media. Instead of conforming to an unrealistic and unnecessary standard, the key to confidence--and happiness--is to learn to love the body you have, no matter what shape you are. Full of personal observations, enthusiastic encouragement, and straightforward advice, this is the non-diet book for everyone who wants to enjoy life at any size. Hanne Blank, author of Big, Big Love, calls it, "a delightfully readable way out of our culture's unrealistic expectations of body size and appearance." "Every single page of this book contains an AHA! moment. Two Whole Cakes is super empowering and fun to read--you seriously can't put it down. I've read it twice, and I'm keeping it for my daughter." --Jane Pratt, founding editor of xoJane and Sassy "This accessible blend of memoir and cultural theory is a lifeline and a love letter; one is better off in the world for having read it." --Marianne Kirby, co-author of Lessons From the Fat-o-Sphere
What Every Therapist Needs to Know about Treating Food and Weight Issues by
Koenig's book is written for practitioners who lack expertise in this area, and provides clinical strategies and therapeutic techniques to explore clients' feelings about food and their bodies to get at the root of these issues. It includes descriptions of how food and weight problems surface in conjunction with psychological and medical conditions, as well as how they create difficulties in various life stages and situations. Packed with insights and practical tips, this unique book teaches clinicians how to help clients make peace with food and the scale and balance nutrition and exercise in a healthy lifestyle.
The Wiley Handbook of Eating Disorders: Assessment, Prevention, Treatment, Policy, and Future Directions by
This groundbreaking two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive collection of evidence-based analyses of the causes, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders. A two-volume handbook featuring contributions from an international group of experts, and edited by two of the leading authorities on eating disorders and body image research Presents comprehensive coverage of eating disorders, including their history, etiological factors, diagnosis, assessment, prevention, and treatment Tackles controversies and previously unanswered questions in the field Includes coverage of DSM-5 and suggestions for further research at the end of each chapter 2 Volumes
Women's Health Vagina University: A Complete Owner's Manual from Sex and Periods to Health and Body Image...and Everything In Between by
Anatomy 101 : vulva or vagina--demystifying "down there" -- Your period 101 : why, when, and how to deal -- Birth control 101 : preventing pregnancy and ensuring safer sex -- Sexuality 101 : what's sex and what's sexy? -- Staying healthy 101 : keeping your vagina healthy and happy -- Safety 101 : harassment to rape--what you need to know -- You and your V in the 21st C.
Your Body, Your Best Friend: End the Confidence-Crushing Pursuit of Unrealistic Beauty Standards and Embrace Your True Power by
For women who've learned to be their own worst enemies, this in-your-face guide offers powerful tools to break free from the cultural messages that feed negative body image and stand in the way of becoming your most authentic and radiant self. Have you ever wondered what you could accomplish with the time you spend worrying about your body or appearance? In a society overwhelmed with messages of how women should be and appear, it's easy to internalize these ideas and become our own harshest critics. It's time for a change. It's time to stop squashing ourselves into painfully tight "should-be" boxes and celebrate our bodies for what they are--divine tools to reach our highest aspirations and experience the full fabulousness of life. In this book, you'll find a practical program for healing body image dissatisfaction using a unique blend of wisdom--from yoga to Buddhism and Taoism to shamanism and more. Weaving the author's own experiences with tools for putting lessons into action, this empowering book will help you examine your own thoughts and feelings about your body and learn how they affect the way you relate in and to the world. With this unflinchingly direct and honest book, you'll learn to release years of negative conditioning to see yourself as the fiercely authentic woman you really are. So, stop wasting time and energy hating your body and start moving toward a life that celebrates your body's unique strengths and capabilities for experiencing health, happiness, and true radiance.
Your Body Is Not an Apology Workbook by
Based on the New York Times bestseller The Body Is Not an Apology, this is an action guide to help readers practice the art of radical self-love both for themselves and to transform our society. Readers of The Body Is Not an Apology have been clamoring for guidance on how to do the work of radical self-love. After crowdsourcing her community, Sonya Renee Taylor found her readers wanted more concrete ideas on how to apply this work in their everyday lives. Your Body Is Not an Apology Workbook is the action guide that gives them tools and structured frameworks they can begin using immediately to deepen their radical self-love journey--such as Taylor's four pillars of practice, which help readers dismantle body shame and give them access to a lifestyle rooted in love. Taylor guides readers to move beyond theory and into doing and being radical self-love change agents in the world. "In this book, you will be asked to draw, color, doodle, talk to friends, take risks, and perhaps step outside of what feels like your natural gifts and talents," Taylor writes. "I encourage you to release the need to be 'good' at what you are doing and instead strive to be authentic. Perfection is the enemy of radical self-love because it is an impossible illusion. When the voice of perfectionism chimes in, take a deep breath, remember that the work is about the process, not about the product, and give yourself permission to be fabulously unapologetically imperfect."