Well-being Resources: Articles

Provides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.

Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Annual Reviews is a non-profit organization that provides the worldwide scholarly community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scholarly disciplines. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.

Database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects.  Primarily used to identify open access journal titles and forty percent of them are searchable at the article level.  Journals can be browsed by title or by broad subject area.  Articles are searchable by article author or title, ISSN, journal title, abstract, or key words.  Full-text is not searchable but is fully accessible.  To be included in the DOAJ, journals must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control.

Education-related literature. Provides access to ERIC documents and journal articles. Updated monthly. A freely accessible site covering 1966 to the present is also available.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The UC has partnered with Google Scholar to allow our users to click on the familiar "Get it at UC" button to reach full text of some items indexed. Use the "Scholar Preferences" link and select "University of California, Santa Barbara - Get it at UC" before saving your preferences.

MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.

The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe.  The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.

Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes the full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles which have not yet been added to MEDLINE, and some additional references from life sciences journals.

SAGE Research Methods provides full-text access to more than 1,000 social sciences-related books, reference works and journal articles published by SAGE. Included in SRM are two research methods series known as the Little Blue Books and the Little Green Books.

The Cases sub-collection provides access to more than 500 case studies. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions.

The Datasets sub-collection is comprised of teaching datasets and instructional guides. These practice datasets are indexed by method and data type, and are designed for use in classroom exercises or in exam papers.

SRM also includes a series of original instructional videos created by SAGE to aid pedagogy in social science research.

Elsevier ScienceDirect allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Full-text display is available for most journals and for a few of the books and reference works.

The ProQuest Social Sciences Database cluster allows users to simultaneously perform a search in any or all of the following databases:
American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
COS Funding Opportunities
EconLit (1969 - current)
ERIC (1966 - current)
Ethnic NewsWatch
GenderWatch
Index Islamicus (1906 - current)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951 - current)
Linguistics and Language Behavior
Abstracts (LLBA) (1973 - current)
PAIS International
Philosopher's Index (1940 - current)
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (1871 - current)
PsycARTICLES (1894 - current)
PsycINFO (1806 - current)
Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current)
For more information on the individual databases, see their respective entries in the Databases list.

CSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of thousands of journals and other sources.

Web of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.