Atlas of Sleep Medicine by
Written by experienced contributors from the renowned Mayo Clinic, the Atlas of Sleep and Sleep Medicine covers the history, humanities, and comparative biological aspects of sleep. This highly illustrated resource includes photographs, reproductions, graphics, segments of sleep studies, and clinical algorithms to aid the clinician in the correct d
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Atlas of Sleep Medicine E-Book by
Effectively diagnose and manage adult and pediatric sleep disorders with help from Atlas of Sleep Medicine, the most comprehensive and detailed source of pictorial and video guidance available. A full-color design with an entirely new image collection and video segments facilitates the observation and interpretation of sleep-related events and recordings. Whether you are preparing for the sleep medicine fellowship examination, or simply want to offer your patients today's best care, this sleep medicine book is an ideal resource! Consult this title on your favorite device, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Confidently treat sleep-related breathing disorders with a practical step-by-step approach to positive pressure titration, summarizing merits, demerits, dangers, and limitations. Observe, evaluate, and treat unusual, uncommon, and often unrecognized PSG patterns. See how clinical and PSG findings correlate in real time for various sleep disorders by watching video segments (new to this edition!) that show sleep movements and polysomnography data side by side. Visually reinforce your understanding of circadian dysrhythmias through dynamic hypnograms and a tantalizing pictorial display. Evaluate indications and choose appropriate dental appliances with step-by-step instruction and supporting video clips. Address undesired phenomena that occur in association with sleep with eight new unique vignettes with associated videos including a variety of parasomnias, cataplexy, and death from obstructive sleep apnea. Access the fully searchable text online including the complete image library, over two dozen videos, and more at Expert Consult.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Clinical Handbook of Insomnia by
It has been 5 years since publication of the first edition of Dr. Attarian's Clinical Handbook of Insomnia which at the time was the first significant cl- ical textbook dedicated to insomnia, an often overlooked but important me- cal problem. The book was very well received. There has now been sufficient new information on the subject to warrant a second expanded edition of this very useful volume. Then, as now, the approach is to emphasize the frequent biological causes of insomnia rather than to attribute it primarily to underlying psychological and emotional factors. This new edition is an impressive major effort, having been expanded from 14 to 23 chapters including an extensive revision and updating of previous chapters with new references and the ad- tion of many new authors. An entirely new section of the book deals with insomnia in special populations including teenagers, pregnancy, menopause, and the geriatric population. Other new topics include insomnia as enco- tered in primary care practice, the role of circadian rhythms, the contribution of sleep related movement disorders to insomnia, insomnia in pain disorders, and the interesting entity of paradoxical insomnia, in which there is a large d- crepancy between the objective and subjective estimation of quantity of sleep. This collection within a single volume of practical information concerning a common but often neglected disorder remains a very useful addition to the armamentarium of the general or specialty physician who wishes to properly address insomnia in an informed and responsible manner.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
The Greatest College Health Guide You Never Knew You Needed: How to Manage Food, Booze, Stress, Sex, Sleep, and Exercise on Campus by
The coach's guide to beating the Freshman Fifteen, Sophomore Slump, crippling anxiety, and your worst hangover! Learn to take care of yourself, and de-stress throughout your undergrad years and beyond. Every fall, millions of young adults crash into college fired up for the best four years of their lives, ready to experience campus life, take classes about things they're interested in, and meet people from all over the world. Most students, however, are better prepared to pick their major or talk to strangers than they are to take care of themselves in the college setting. College students today are more depressed, anxious, and stressed than previous waves of students; they're also more sedentary, not really exercising, and living in a meal-plan limbo supplemented with ramen and coffee. In this comprehensive field guild, high school coaches Jill and Dave Henry break down the facts and deliver doable, no-BS strategies for managing physical and mental health on campus. In addition to helpful, interactive graphics, the coaches share their relatable true stories--ranging from the ridiculous to the serious--to discuss the five biggest health obstacles students face in college. On top of research-backed tips, The Greatest College Health Guide You Never Knew You Needed also features raw and personal advice from current students on college campuses across the country. While simply figuring out what to eat and how to exercise can be completely overwhelming, this guide goes beyond a basic crash course on how to be healthy. Jill and Dave cover everything from crucial time-management skills to the complex sensitivity of self-doubt, sexual assault, and depression with humor, humility, and heart. The Greatest College Health Guide You Never Knew You Needed is a complete road map for how to take care of your mind and body that will not only set students up to crush the next four years, but will also provide a foundation they can carry with them for the rest of their lives.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Insomnia and Anxiety by
The statistics show that as much as twenty percent of the population suffers from chronic insomnia--and one-fourth of those with the condition eventually develop an anxiety disorder. As comorbid conditions, they contribute to any number of physical and social problems. Yet too often insomnia is undiagnosed, or treated as merely a symptom of the patient's anxiety. Insomnia and Anxiety is the first clinician guidebook that considers the evaluation and management of insomnia and related sleep disturbances that occur conjointly with the common anxiety disorders. By exploring the ways that one condition may exacerbate the other, its authors present robust evidence of the limitations of viewing insomnia as secondary to GAD, agoraphobia, PTSD, and others in the anxiety spectrum. The book reviews cognitive and emotional factors common to anxiety and sleep disorders, and models a cognitive-behavioral approach to therapy in which improved sleep is a foundation for improved symptom management. Beginning and veteran practitioners alike will find vital insights into all areas of these challenging cases, including: Diagnostic and assessment guidelines. Cognitive-behavior therapy for insomnia. Behavioral strategies for managing insomnia in the context of anxiety. Cognitive strategies for managing comorbid anxiety and insomnia. Sleep-related cognitive processes. Pharmacological treatment considerations. Insomnia and Anxiety is highly useful to clinical psychologists given the range of treatment strategies it describes and to researchers because of its emphasis on the theoretical and empirical bases for its interventions. In addition, its accessible style makes it an excellent training tool for students of therapy and psychopathology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Midnight Meditations: Calm Your Thoughts, Still Your Body, and Return to Sleep by
Stop chasing sleep and start welcoming rest with these 150 peaceful, nighttime meditations to make falling back to sleep easier than ever. There's nothing worse than waking up in the middle of the night and being unable to fall back asleep. Now with Midnight Meditations, you can be gently guided back to sleep faster than ever. These 150 peaceful, soothing meditations help you welcome and embrace the rest, relaxation, and restorative sleep every night has to offer. With these simple, guided meditations you can tune out distractions that hinder your rest and tap into the tranquility of the night. In Midnight Meditations, you will discover how to calm your racing thoughts, stop chasing sleep, and start receiving an undisturbed night's rest so you can make the most of your days.
Call Number: BF637.M4 A25 2021Publication Date: 2021
Mindfulness and Sleep: How to Improve Your Sleep Quality Through Practicing Mindfulness by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Sleep, Neuronal Plasticity and Brain Function by
This book reviews current knowledge on the importance of sleep for brain function, from molecular mechanisms to behavioral output, with special emphasis on the question of how sleep and sleep loss ultimately affect cognition and mood. It provides an extensive overview of the latest insights in the role of sleep in regulating gene expression, synaptic plasticity and neurogenesis and how that in turn is linked to learning and memory processes. In addition, readers will learn about the potential clinical implications of insufficient sleep and discover how chronically restricted or disrupted sleep may contribute to age-related cognitive decline and the development of psychiatric disorders such as schizophrenia and depression. The book consists of 19 chapters, written by experts in basic sleep research and sleep medicine, which together cover a wide range of topics on the importance of sleep and consequences of sleep disruption. This book will be of interest to students, researchers and clinicians with a general interest in brain function or a specific interest in sleep.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Sleep Deprivation and Disease by
The cognitive and behavioral implications of sleep deprivation have been noted in the medical literature for many years. In addition, emerging research continues to demonstrate the contribution of sleep deprivation to some of the most common and costly health conditions today. Sleep Deprivation and Disease provides clinically relevant scientific information to help clinicians, public health professionals, and researchers recognize the ramifications of sleep deprivation across a broad spectrum of health topics. This timely reference covers sleep physiology, experimental approaches to sleep deprivation and measurement of its consequences, as well as health and operational consequences of sleep deprivation. Clinical challenges and areas of uncertainty are also presented in order to encourage future advancements in sleep medicine and help patients avoid the outcomes associated with the myriad causes of sleep deprivation.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Sleep Information for Teens
Sleep information for teens : health tips about adolescent sleep requirements, sleep disorders, and the effects of sleep deprivation : including facts about why people need sleep, sleep patterns, circadian rhythms, dreaming, insomnia, sleep apnea, narcolepsy, and more.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
States of Consciousness by
In this accessible overview of current knowledge, an expert team of editors and authors describe experimental approaches to consciousness. These approaches are shedding light on some of the hitherto unknown aspects of the distinct states of human consciousness, including the waking state, different states of sleep and dreaming, meditation and more. The book presents the latest research studies by the contributing authors, whose specialities span neuroscience, neurology, biomedical engineering, clinical psychology and psychophysiology, psychosocial medicine and anthropology. Overall this anthology provides the reader with a clear picture of how different states of consciousness can be defined, experimentally measured and analysed. A future byproduct of this knowledge may be anticipated in the development of systematic corrective treatments for many disorders and pathological problems of consciousness.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Supporting Sleep: The Importance of Social Relations at Work by
Social support and sleep are both health promoting factors and important in the prevention of illness and sick-leave. Promoting healthy work by providing good conditions for strong social relationships and by preventing bullying or harassment can improve sleep and consequently employee health, increasing work productivity and efficiency overall.
Call Number: HF5548.85 .N67 2015 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Understanding Sleep and Dreaming by
Designed primarily as a text this volume is an up-to-date and integrated overview of physiological sleep mechanisms, brain function, psychological ramifications of sleep, dimensions of dreaming, and clinical disorders associated with sleep. It is accessibly written with specially boxed material that enhances the text. Authored by a researcher/clinician/professor with more than 25 years of experience in sleep studies, Understanding Sleep and Dreaming provides a solid basis for those who are not expert in this area. It offers a good foundation for those who will continue sleep studies, while at the same time offering enough information for those who will apply this knowledge in other ways such as clinicians in their individual practices or researchers for whom sleep may be part of a specific study. It is an excellent text for courses on sleep at the undergraduate and graduate levels.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Work and Sleep by
Sleep disorders and disruptions are commonly associated with negative mood, hostility, poor concentration, and ego depletion. And while researchers have long investigated the widespread negative effects of shift work on individuals, the knowledge derived from these studies is rather limited to those with non-linear work schedules. However, whether employees are clocking in a normal 9-5 or trudging through the graveyard shift, sleep is a crucial activity for us all. If the quantity and quality of our sleeping patterns are disrupted, the consequences affect not only the employee but for the organization they work for, as well. Work and Sleep: Research Insights for the Workplace addresses the effects of sleep on employee and organizational functioning, and the impact of common work experiences on a night's rest. With a team of influential organizational psychologists at the helm, the editors lead a group of expert contributors as they each explore the issues that, regardless of industry, matter in work force well-being today.
Call Number: HF5548.8 .W647 2016 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Biopsychosocial Factors of Stress, and Mindfulness for Stress Reduction by
This volume brings together basic research on the nature of stress reactivity with up-to-date research on the effectiveness and mechanisms of mindfulness interventions. The chapters review the major research areas that elucidate the impact of stress reactivity on health, and explore the mechanisms and effectiveness of mindfulness-based approaches for stress reduction and improved physical and emotional health. The first section examines biopsychosocial mechanisms of stress reactivity such as allostasis and allostatic load, neurobiology of stress, biology of the "fight-or-flight" and "tend-and-befriend" responses, and psychoneuroimmunology. This section concludes by addressing the roles of perception and appraisal, including the role of perceived threat in stress reactivity as well as the role that negative perceptions of the stress response itself play in compromising health. The second section opens with review of leading psychological models of mindfulness, including self-regulation, reperceiving, and the Intention, Attention, Attitude (IAA) triaxiomatic model. Subsequent chapters discuss mindfulness-based interventions and mechanisms of change for stress and related clinical conditions including chronic pain, traumatic stress, anxiety and related disorders, and clinical depression. The final chapter reviews possible neural networks and brain mechanisms associated with mindfulness meditation practice. As the research on stress reactivity and mindfulness-based stress reduction continues to proliferate, this book offers readers a single volume covering the most relevant information across this vast terrain. Other available volumes offer in-depth coverage of stress research with little mention of mindfulness and stress reduction. Conversely, many texts on the topic of mindfulness and mindfulness-based interventions do not adequately cover the biopsychosocial processes of stress reactivity.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Cleaning up Your Mental Mess: 5 Simple, Scientifically Proven Steps to Reduce Anxiety, Stress, and Toxic Thinking by
Toxic thoughts, depression, anxiety--our mental mess is frequently aggravated by a chaotic world and sustained by an inability to manage our runaway thoughts. But we shouldn't settle into this mental mess as if it's just our new normal. There's hope and help available to us--and the road to healthier thoughts and peak happiness may actually be shorter than you think.Backed by clinical research and illustrated with compelling case studies, Dr. Caroline Leaf provides a scientifically proven five-step plan to find and eliminate the root of anxiety, depression, and intrusive thoughts in your life so you can experience dramatically improved mental and physical health. In just 21 days, you can start to clean up your mental mess and be on the road to wholeness, peace, and happiness.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Coping in Good Times and Bad: Developing Fortitude by
No one thinks about how well they're coping with life's daily stresses, until they're not. Coping in Good Times and Bad brings together what we know about coping so we can create a life of health, joy, satisfaction, resilience and wellbeing.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Crazy-Stressed: Saving Today's Overwhelmed Teens with Love, Laughter, and the Science of Resilience by
VOYA Voice of Youth Advocates: Essential Books for Professionals Who Serve Teens A little resilience goes a long way.... Peel back the cheerful facade that parents present, and you'll find that many are worried about their teens. Mood swings, impulsiveness, poor judgment, and other problems peak in these years. Add stressors such as screen addiction, cyberbullying, increasing academic demands, and time-consuming athletic commitments . . . and it's no surprise that today's teenagers rank as the most anxious in 50 years. Parents long to help, but how? Based on a career counseling kids and their parents, psychologist Michael Bradley locates the most powerful protective trait: resilience. Teens with this crucial quality know how to handle difficulty, overcome obstacles, and bounce back from setbacks. Packed with insights from neuroscience and psychology, real-life case studies, and a dose of humor, Crazy-Stressed sheds light on the teen brain and offers a wealth of resiliency-boosting strategies. In it, Dr. Bradley reveals: What kids these days are really going through * Ways to strengthen the seven skills every teen needs to survive and thrive * What-to-do-when suggestions for common behavior, school, and social issues * Tactics for coping with conflict, teaching consequences, improving communication, staying connected, and more It's not easy being a teen-and it's certainly not easy parenting one. Always frank and often funny, Crazy-Stressed will become your go-to guide . . . and your kids may even thank you for it.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Creativity: The Psychology of Discovery and Invention by
The classic study of the creative process from the bestselling author of Flow Creativity is about capturing those moments that make life worth living. Legendary psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi ("The leading researcher into 'flow states.'" -- Newsweek) reveals what leads to these moments--be it the excitement of the artist at the easel or the scientist in the lab--so that this knowledge can be used to enrich people's lives. Drawing on nearly one hundred interviews with exceptional people, from biologists and physicists, to politicians and business leaders, to poets and artists, as well as his thirty years of research on the subject, Csikszentmihalyi uses his famous flow theory to explore the creative process. He discusses such ideas as why creative individuals are often seen as selfish and arrogant, and why the "tortured genius" is largely a myth. Most important, he explains why creativity needs to be cultivated and is necessary for the future of our country, if not the world.
Call Number: BF408 .C77 2013 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2013
De-Stress at Work: Understanding and Combatting Chronic Stress by
Burn-out, excessive hours, office politics, handling complaints, isolated remote working, complex and inefficient processes - this book addresses the full complexities of chronic stress at work. It explains the potential for emotional and physical illness resulting from work, and importantly, presents ways in which occupational health and wellbeing can be enhanced through strengthening chronic stress diagnosis and promoting resilience. The latter is a win-win, for the worker, for the organization and for society in general. Drawing on 40 years of research in collaboration with some of the best-known occupational stress gurus (including Cary Cooper, Susan Jackson, the late Ron Burke and Arie Shirom), Simon L. Dolan translates abstract concepts of chronic stress into practical guidance for enhancing resilience in a VUCA world. The ILO and many governments recognize stress as a principal cause of emerging physical and mental disease and one of the strongest determinants of high absenteeism, low morale and low productivity. While important advances have been made in the diagnosis of acute stress, the field of chronic stress in the workplace remains less clear. This book seeks to address this by presenting a wealth of diagnostic tools, including "The Stress Map". The text is brought to life for the reader by short vignettes in the form of anecdotes and stories. This book will be of particular interest to HR professionals, consultants, executive coaches, therapists and others who wish to help employees and clients better manage their own and others' stress and to build resilience that leads to a more productive and healthier workforce.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Excelling in College: Strategies for Success & Reducing Stress by
There is a difference between surviving in college and thriving in college, especially when considering the change in environment for first-year students. They are expected to take on new roles and responsibilities such as speaking up in class, approaching instructors, making new friends, performing under pressure, dealing with financial struggles, and making healthy lifestyle choices on their own. With so many changes and challenges to deal with at once, it often results in a stressed-out student. In fact, persuasive evidence shows stress is the single most reported obstacle to academic success in college (CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION, 2009). This is especially true of first-year students. In surveys conducted by the American College Health Association (2009) and the Cooperative Institutional Research Program (2009), half of all students reported feeling plagued by stress in the previous year. One-third found that there were times they were so overwhelmed that they could barely function on a daily basis. EXCELLING IN COLLEGE encourages students to perform their best using critical-thinking skills and stress management. By using exercises, in-class activities, and videos, readers learn how to manage these challenges in order to better maintain relationships with family and friends. These skills are not only helpful during college but also carry through the post-academic career.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .K68 2012 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Five Good Minutes of Mindfulness: Reduce Stress, Reset, and Find Peace Right Now by
How can you find true peace of mind and contentment, even when the going gets tough? This portable pick-me-up will show you how--all in just five good minutes. In difficult or stressful times, peace of mind can be hard to come by. That's why you need a quick antidote to help you find calm and serenity--no matter what the world throws your way. Using the proven-effective mindfulness practices in this use-anywhere guide, you'll learn how to slow down, relax, and appreciate what's good in your life--all in just moments a day. In Five Good Minutes of Mindfulness, Dr. Jeffrey Brantley--founder and director of the Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Program at Duke Integrative Medicine--shows us that true serenity and happiness are within our reach, even when we feel like all is lost. Using the quick and easy mindfulness practices in this guide, you'll find tons of ways to take stock of what matters to you, stay present in the moment, and soothe stress before it takes over. Whether you're at home, at work, or simply at your wit's end, five good minutes can be found in actions as simple as stretching your body, savoring a delicious meal with your loved ones, or jotting down your thoughts in a gratitude journal. If you're ready to harness the amazing benefits of mindfulness in just minutes a day, this little guide offers small mindful practices for finding your own joy amidst the chaos of our modern world. Isn't it time you took five good minutes?
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Flourish: A Visionary New Understanding of Happiness and Well-being by
From the bestselling author of Learned Optimism and Authentic Happiness comes "a relentlessly optimistic guidebook on finding and securing individual happiness" (Kirkus Reviews). With this unprecedented promise, internationally esteemed psychologist Martin Seligman begins Flourish, his first book in ten years--and the first to present his dynamic new concept of what well-being really is. Traditionally, the goal of psychology has been to relieve human suffering, but the goal of the Positive Psychology movement, which Dr. Seligman has led for fifteen years, is different--it's about actually raising the bar for the human condition. Flourish builds on Dr. Seligman's game-changing work on optimism, motivation, and character to show how to get the most out of life, unveiling an electrifying new theory of what makes a good life--for individuals, for communities, and for nations. In a fascinating evolution of thought and practice, Flourish refines what Positive Psychology is all about. While certainly a part of well-being, happiness alone doesn't give life meaning. Seligman now asks, What is it that enables you to cultivate your talents, to build deep, lasting relationships with others, to feel pleasure, and to contribute meaningfully to the world? In a word, what is it that allows you to flourish? "Well-being" takes the stage front and center, and Happiness (or Positive Emotion) becomes one of the five pillars of Positive Psychology, along with Engagement, Relationships, Meaning, and Accomplishment--or PERMA, the permanent building blocks for a life of profound fulfillment. Thought-provoking in its implications for education, economics, therapy, medicine, and public policy--the very fabric of society--Flourish tells inspiring stories of Positive Psychology in action, including how the entire U.S. Army is now trained in emotional resilience; how innovative schools can educate for fulfillment in life and not just for workplace success; and how corporations can improve performance at the same time as they raise employee well-being. With interactive exercises to help readers explore their own attitudes and aims, Flourish is a watershed in the understanding of happiness as well as a tool for getting the most out of life. On the cutting edge of a science that has changed millions of lives, Dr. Seligman now creates the ultimate extension and capstone of his bestselling classics, Authentic Happiness and Learned Optimism.
Call Number: BF204.6 .S45 2011 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Stress and Health by
A comprehensive work that brings together and explores state-of-the-art research on the link between stress and health outcomes. Offers the most authoritative resource available, discussing a range of stress theories as well as theories on preventative stress management and how to enhance well-being Timely given that stress is linked to seven of the ten leading causes of death in developed nations, yet paradoxically successful adaptation to stress can enable individuals to flourish Contributors are an international panel of authoritative researchers and practitioners in the various specialty subjects addressed within the work
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
How To Reduce Stress : A Proactive Way To Manage Stress by
Intro -- Title Page -- Disclaimer -- Copyright Page -- Dedication -- Introduction -- Preface -- What Is Stress? -- Contents -- Chapter One: Mind Altering Substances -- Co-Dependency and Learned Helplessness -- Changing how you think -- A traumatic journey -- New Zealand massacre -- The gears of your mind -- Wrong turns -- Daily papers, television, news reports and other media often mention the pain people suffer -- Losing material goods can give you strength to grow -- Mike is determined -- The Feel Better Box
Polish Slaves -- Slave gang trafficked people from Poland to exploit in the UK -- Co-dependency -- Learned helplessness -- What is stress? -- Your notes -- Chapter Two: Your Precious Brain and Mind -- Understanding How Your Brain and Mind Work -- The first brain (or brain one) -- the cerebellum -- Damage to the cerebellum -- Ataxic cerebral palsy -- Victoria -- Brains two and three -- Information from your living environment travels from your senses and to your brains -- The human mind
The human mind is a combination of interacting, inter-Connecting, electronic pathways within the human brain -- Servants -- Your notes -- Chapter Three: Your Three Ego Personality States -- Berne's Model: Parent, Adult And Child ego personality states -- Your Parent ego personality state -- Your Adult ego personality state -- The Adult ego personality state is the preferred state to work within -- Your Child ego personality state -- Why the young can get into trouble or lose their way -- Gottengen minipigs -- Behaviour and sugar or opioid intake -- Young Offenders
Frightening facts -- Please note -- 10 Tips to manage life and stress -- The power of your Adult ego personality state -- Your notes -- Chapter Four: The Start -Your Ego Personality States, Emotional Intelligence and Your Inherited Instincts and Their Importance in Everyday Life and Role Confusion -- So, what is emotional intelligence? -- Emotional intelligence and the Adult ego personality state -- Maturation -- Role Confusion -- Working with your inherited instincts -- Radicalisation, terrorism, and criminal activities -- Personal contracts and terrorism
More about role confusion -- Different cultures of the world -- Sub-cultures -- Role confusion -- how did you cope? -- Your notes -- Chapter Five: Identifying Stress! -- Identifying Stress -- Assumptions -- the danger of assumptions -- The assumption -- when is it fact or an assumption? -- Wrong assumption -- Robert -- role confusion -- Stress and difficult life situations -- Stress -- We are hard-wired to be survivors -- Some of the difficult mechanisms inside your head -- talking about stress -- Taking each stress separately -- Key areas
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
The Mind-Body Stress Reset: Somatic Practices to Reduce Overwhelm and Increase Well-Being by
Harness your mind-body connection for lasting ease and well-being In our busy, get-it-done-now culture, stress has become the new normal--a normal that's embedding itself into our minds and our bodies. If left unchecked, stress can dictate how we think, feel, and act. Overwhelm, anxiousness, malaise, and unease are a daily experience. And over time, these stress-reactions turn into habits, leaving us stuck in a mental and physical rut. So, how can you soothe stress before it becomes your go-to? In this practical and accessible guide, you'll find powerful and effective tools for calming stress in both mind and body. Based on the innovative Mind-Body Reset (MBR) program, you'll learn how to stop stress in its tracks with simple somatic exercises. You'll also discover how you can "reset" your nervous system, alleviate stress flare-ups, and boost your overall health and happiness. If you're ready to combat stress, cultivate calm, and live a more vital life, it's time for a reset!
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction: Protocol, Practice, and Teaching Skills by
Learn the comprehensive skills and practices necessary to deliver the MBSR program confidently! Developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn and first introduced in a hospital setting, mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR) is an evidence-based modality that has been shown to help alleviate a wide range of physical and mental health issues--such as anxiety, depression, trauma, chronic pain, stress, and more. This comprehensive learning manual for professionals provides everything you need to practice and teach MBSR. Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction is a timely book that focuses on structure and flexibility when delivering this seminal program. Whether you work in health care, the mental health field, social work, or education, this manual offers clear direction and a sound framework for practicing MBSR in any setting. You'll gain an understanding of the underlying principles of mindfulness, learn to establish your own personal practice, and discover how you can embody that practice. You'll also find tips to help you guide meditations, engage in inquiry, and to convey the content of the program to others. If you're looking for a clear protocol and curriculum for delivering MBSR, this book has everything you need to get started today.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook by
The ultimate practical guide to MBSR--with more than 115,000 copies sold--is now available in a fully revised and updated second edition. Stress and pain are nearly unavoidable in our daily lives; they are part of the human condition. This stress can often leave us feeling irritable, tense, overwhelmed, and burned-out. The key to maintaining balance is responding to stress not with frustration and self-criticism, but with mindful, nonjudgmental awareness of our bodies and minds. Impossible? Actually, it's easier than it seems. In just weeks, you can learn mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a clinically proven program developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn, author of Full Catastrophe Living. MBSR is effective in alleviating stress, anxiety, panic, depression, chronic pain, and a wide range of medical conditions. Taught in classes and clinics worldwide, this powerful approach shows you how to focus on the present moment and permanently change the way you handle stress. As you work through A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, you'll learn how to replace stress-promoting habits with mindful ones--a skill that will last a lifetime. This groundbreaking, proven-effective program will help you relieve the symptoms of stress and identify its causes. This fully revised and updated second edition includes new audio downloads, new meditations, and extensive chapter revisions to help you manage stress and start living a healthier, happier life.
Call Number: RA785 .S73 2019 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Stress Reduction by
Stress is a part of life--but it doesn't have to take over your life. With this guide, you'll develop the skills needed to help you manage difficult emotions, cultivate self-compassion, adopt positive physical and emotional habits, build resilience, and connect with your true values. Everyone experiences stress. From the moment we wake up in the morning to the moment we finally settle into bed at night, our days are packed with stressful moments--some big and some small--that can quickly add up and feel overwhelming. Unfortunately, you can't escape stress. But you can change the way you relate to it. This important workbook will show you how. Written by internationally renowned ACT experts, The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Stress Reduction offers a powerful ten-week program for stress management drawing on the latest research in acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) and mindfulness. You'll gain a better understanding of what stress really is, how it affects the brain and body, and what you can do to manage and reduce stress in your life. You'll discover how to build resilience and set smart, effective personal goals that align with your values. And finally, you'll learn to be more aware of how you deal with stress in the moment. Stress is an unavoidable side effect of being human in today's fast-paced world. But with this workbook, you'll build the skills necessary to keep stress in its place and live a more vital life!
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
My Pocket Tai Chi: Improve Focus - Reduce Stress - Find Balance
This essential take-anywhere guide explains the numerous mindfulness benefits of tai chi and shows how to use this ancient martial art to reduce stress and improve overall wellness. Often called "moving mediation," tai chi is an ancient practice with numerous health benefits our modern, over-stressed society needs. Not only is tai chi a proven stress reliever, it's also been shown to increase balance, flexibility, and strength, and improve muscle tone, sleep, mood, and overall sense of well-being. This book teaches readers the essential principles and techniques of tai chi while showing you how to use tai chi as an effective mindfulness technique to reduce stress, increase focus, and improve your state of mind. With more than 60 illustrations to help you understand and master essential tai chi moves, this handy, portable package makes My Pocket Tai Chi a perfect companion for practicing tai chi in your own backyard and beyond.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Personal Stress Management: From Surviving to Thriving by
Stress and its impact -- Stress on Campus -- Managing stress -- Stress Reduction and Relaxation techniques.
Call Number: RA785 .H35 2018 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2018
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook by
Now in its seventh edition--with more than one million copies sold worldwide--The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook remains the go-to resource for stress reduction strategies that can be incorporated into even the busiest lives. The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook broke new ground when it was first published in 1980, detailing easy, step-by-step techniques for calming the body and mind in an increasingly overstimulated world. Now in its seventh edition, this fully revised and updated workbook--highly regarded by therapists and their clients--offers the latest stress reduction techniques to combat the effects of stress and integrate healthy relaxation habits into every aspect of daily life. This new edition also includes powerful self-compassion practices, fully updated chapters on the most effective tools for coping with anxiety, fear, and panic--such as worry delay and defusion, two techniques grounded in acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT)--as well as a new section focused on body scan. In the workbook, you'll explore your own stress triggers and symptoms, and learn how to create a personal action plan for stress reduction. Each chapter features a different method for relaxation, explains why the method works, and provides on-the-spot exercises you can do when you feel stressed out. The result is a comprehensive yet accessible workbook that will help you to curb stress and cultivate a more peaceful life.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019-04-01
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens by
Today's teens are totally stressed. Based on the self-help classic, The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, this evidence-based guide will help you develop a game plan for reducing stress so you can focus on reaching your goals. Are you feeling stressed out? You aren't alone. Between school, tests, friendships, dating, the latest drama on social media, college applications, and a bunch of confusing physical changes, it's no wonder that stress is a major mental health issue for many of today's teens. The good news is that there are simple ways you can reduce your stress and reach your goals. This workbook will show you how. With The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens, you'll learn to understand the underlying causes of your stress. You'll discover practical mindfulness and breathing techniques to help you calm your mind and body in moments of worry and anxiety. You'll also find tips for moving past "what ifs" and "shoulds," strategies for managing negative thoughts and emotions, and tools to help you develop your own personalized plan for dealing with stress. If you're ready to move past stress and worry and start focusing on your bright future, this workbook has everything you need to get started today. Teens need mental health resources more than ever. With over 1.2 million copies sold worldwide, Instant Help Books for teens are engaging, proven-effective, and recommended by therapists.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Self-Care for College Students: From Orientation to Graduation, 150+ Easy Ways to Stay Happy, Healthy, and Stress-Free by
Make the most out of your college experience with these manageable self-care tips that are easy to incorporate into your busy college lifestyle. As a student in college--you're dealing with a lot. At times this can be physically, mentally, and emotionally draining between classes, homework, activities, and building a new social life for yourself. But the secret to making sure these are the best years of your life is making time for self-care. If you've been working for hours on your latest paper, take a walk around campus to get moving. If you're feeling tired after a long week of classes and activities, give yourself permission to say no to those Friday night plans and take a relaxing evening for yourself. Self-Care for College Students offers suggestions that help you tackle every aspect of taking care of yourself from the simplest tasks to rewarding activities that might require more planning. Whether it is making sure you eat a healthy meal to utilizing your school's support services, there is advice for any situation. In this book, find realistic and practical self-care activities that you can try right away to maximize your college experience. Each activity is designed to help you refuel, such as making sure you get enough sleep to developing an exercise routine. Start making time for you and make your college years the best of your life--all while building lifelong habits for success and happiness for years to come.
Call Number: LB2343.3 .D45 2019 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook
basic consumer health information about stress and stress-related disorders, including signs, symptoms, types, and sources of acute and chronic stress, the impact of stress on the body, and mental health problems associated with stress, such as depression, anxiety disorders, bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, substance abuse, posttraumatic stress disorder, and suicide ; along with advice about getting help for stress-related disorders, managing stress and coping with trauma, a glossary of stress related terms, and a directory of resources for additional help and information
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Stress Management: Enhance Your Well-being by Reducing Stress and Building ResilienceCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Take Control of Your Anxiety: A Drug-free Approach to Living a Happy, Healthy Life by
Do you know what really triggers panic attacks? Are you aware of what thinking patterns create anxiety? Are you a chronic worrier? Have you ever self-medicated with alcohol or tranquilizers? According to mental health professionals, anxiety disorders have emerged as the common cold of mental illness. Every family is touched in some way or another by anxiety issues and, with ever-increasing frequency, diagnosable anxiety disorders. In Take Control of Your Anxiety--an easy-to-read, self-help book for the layperson--Drs. Cortman, Shinitzky, and O'Connor present the current understanding of anxiety: its genesis in the brain, its functions and contributions to human survival and growth, and its progression to pathology. Each of the five major anxiety disorders is featured in a chapter that explores its etiology, practical steps and exercises for successful resolution, and real-life case studies of patients who have overcome the disorder. The authors use some levity to teach their concepts, including Dr. Seuss-like poems, popular music parodies, and other easy-to-remember aids. A tool box of simple resources and self-help techniques is also included. Most importantly, the authors emphasize a non-pharmaceutical, evidence-based approach to mastering anxiety issues and living a productive, well-balanced life.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Urgent!: Strategies to Control Urgency, Reduce Stress and Increase Productivity by
Leverage the power of urgency to avoid burnout and increase performance Urgency--that frantic feeling that we need to be doing more, and faster--is a destructive force in today's workplace. Unnecessary urgency can be toxic, causing stress and burnout. But not all urgency is bad, and sometimes we really do need to get things done quickly. Too little urgency can lead to inaction and lost productivity. So how do we find the right balance where we can use urgency as a meaningful tool to keep productivity up, without generating burnout? Urgent! is a guide to using urgency for good to help achieve your goals, to drive success, and minimise stress for yourself, your teams, and your business. This book will teach you to moderate urgency for yourself and those you lead. In our age of fast-paced technology, it's easy to swing between extremes, working reactively one minute, and being inactive the next. The middle ground, described in this book, allows us to work in the "Active Zone" where we maximise proactivity and productivity. By following the practical strategies outlined in this book, readers will learn to understand urgency, become proactive rather than reactive, and lead teams to their fullest potential. * Eliminate stress and burnout for yourself, your teams, and your businesses * Learn how to dial urgency up or down, depending on the situation * Keep teams working in the optimal productive zone by moderating urgency * Stay focused on what's important and learn prioritisation skills to avoid burnout If you feel that you and your team are caught up in busy work, stressed to the max by competing demands, leaving no room to focus on what really matters, Urgent! will show you a new way of thinking, leading, and responding. Learn the skills to reduce overload, get more done, and achieve better performance each day.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
