Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Adolescent Health Sourcebook
pt. 1. An overview of adolescent health -- pt. 2. Staying healthy during adolescence -- pt. 3. Puberty, sexuality, and reproductive health -- pt. 4. Common health concerns of teens and their parents -- pt. 5. Emotional, social, and mental health concerns in adolescents -- pt. 6. Substance abuse and adolescents -- pt. 7. Adolescent safety concerns -- pt. 8. Violence against adolescents -- pt. 9. Additional help and information.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Anxiety Disorders Sourcebook by
Provides consumer health information about the ways people encounter anxiety and its various types, including general anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and panic disorder.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
APA College Dictionary of Psychology by
APA offers the second edition of its popular, compact, and economical student's dictionary. With some 5,500 entries - more than 500 more than the original edition - the second edition continues to feature clear and authoritative definitions that provide basic coverage from across 90 sub-disciplines of psychology. Special emphasis is concentrated on the fields that are typically encountered in undergraduate studies, such as general, personality and social, lifespan developmental, abnormal, and cognitive psychology. Moreover, basic coverage of neuropsychology and of statistics and methodology have been enhanced for the second edition, and two helpful appendixes have been included: Abbreviations and Acronyms and Symbols.This second edition is a reliable resource that answers the needs of both advanced placement high school students and college undergraduates, whether they are taking psychology as part of a broader curriculum or making it their major field of study.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
The Cognitive Neurosciences by
The sixth edition of the foundational reference on cognitive neuroscience, with entirely new material that covers the latest research, experimental approaches, and measurement methodologies.Each edition of this classic reference has proved to be a benchmark in the developing field of cognitive neuroscience. The sixth edition of The Cognitive Neurosciences continues to chart new directions in the study of the biological underpinnings of complex cognition-the relationship between the structural and physiological mechanisms of the nervous system and the psychological reality of the mind. It offers entirely new material, reflecting recent advances in the field, covering the latest research, experimental approaches, and measurement methodologies. This sixth edition treats such foundational topics as memory, attention, and language, as well as other areas, including computational models of cognition, reward and decision making, social neuroscience, scientific ethics, and methods advances. Over the last twenty-five years, the cognitive neurosciences have seen the development of sophisticated tools and methods, including computational approaches that generate enormous data sets. This volume deploys these exciting new instruments but also emphasizes the value of theory, behavior, observation, and other time-tested scientific habits. Section editors Sarah-Jayne Blakemore and Ulman Lindenberger, Kalanit Grill-Spector and Maria Chait, Tomas Ryan and Charan Ranganath, Sabine Kastner and Steven Luck, Stanislas Dehaene and Josh McDermott, Rich Ivry and John Krakauer, Daphna Shohamy and Wolfram Schultz, Danielle Bassett and Nikolaus Kriegeskorte, Marina Bedny and Alfonso Caramazza, Liina Pylkk nen and Karen Emmorey, Mauricio Delgado and Elizabeth Phelps, Anjan Chatterjee and Adina Roskies
Call Number: QP360.5 .C63952 2020 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2020
The College Wellness Guide: A Student's Guide to Managing Mental, Physical, and Social Health on Campus by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Complimentary and Alternative Medicine Sourcebook by
Pt. 1. An overview of complementary and alternative medicine -- pt. 2. Alternative medicine systems -- pt. 3. Dietary supplements -- pt. 4. Biological-based therapies -- pt. 5. Mind-body medicine -- pt. 6. Manipulative and body-based therapies -- pt. 7. Energy-based therapies -- pt. 8. Alternative treatments for specific diseases and conditions -- pt. 9. Additional help and information.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychotherapy, Volume 1: Psychodynamic/Object Relations by
Now available in paperback. In this volume, different approaches to Psychodynamic/Object Relations approaches are examined. It covers the important issues in the field, with topics ranging from "psychodynamic psychotherapy with undergraduate and graduate students" to "a relational feminist psychodynamic approach to sexual desire" to "psychodynamic/object relations group therapy with shizophrenic patients."
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychotherapy, Volume 2: Cognitive-Behavioral Approaches by
Now available in paperback. The Cognitive/Behavioral/Functional model is a landmark that combines established and cutting-edge authors and issues, as well as integrating material for both novice and experienced theorists, researchers, and practitioners. In this volume, international authors, many of whom are pioneers in their approach, illustrate issues clearly and apply them to diverse populations. Chapters in supervision and ethical issues provide unique and valuable perspectives.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychotherapy, Volume 3: Interpersonal/Humanistic/Existential by
Now available in paperback. In this volume, theoretical frames, modalities, and applications are examined for Interpersonal/Humanistic/Existential psychotherapy. Topics range from "Culturally Sensitive Psychotherapy with Children" to "Spiritually Sensitive Therapy" and "Existential Treatment with HIV/AIDS clients."
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Contemplative Practices for Sustaining Wellness: Priorities for Research and Education by
Contemplative Practices for Sustaining Wellness: Priorities for Research and Education continues ongoing studies exploring relationships between expressed emotions, physiological changes in breathing patterns, blood circulation and wellness, and use of interventions to live with chronic disease and, when possible, restore healthy functioning of the body. Unique aspects of the book's chapters include complementary approaches and practices for self-care, caring for others, and harmonizing universal energy. To ameliorate emotions and enhance wellness a variety of healing and contemplative practices are discussed, including breathing meditation and mindfulness in everyday activities. In so doing, authors address a diverse set of critical issues, including education, resilience, vulnerability, racism, misogyny, bigotry, and poverty.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
A Dictionary of Psychology by
With over 11,000 authoritative and up to date entries, this bestselling dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. It features comprehensive coverage of such key areas as cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Entries provide clear and concise definitions, word origins and derivations, and they are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use. In addition, over 80 illustrations complement the text. Detailed appendices follow the AZ dictionary and include a list of 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, and a list of phobias and phobic stimuli with full definitions. Now containing an appendix of recommended web links, which are accessed and kept current via the Dictionary of Psychology website, this edition offers more information than any other dictionary of its kind, making it an ideal reference for students, teachers, and professionals, and for anyone with an interest in the workings of the mind.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology by
With contributions from leading school psychology practitioners, this encyclopedia provides a one-of-a-kind guide to cross-cultural school psychology. Some 400 entries explore concepts, themes, and the latest research findings to answer your questions in all aspects of the field. Moreover, the encyclopedia offers support at all levels of primary and secondary education, from pre-K to 12th grade. Each entry offers a description of a particular term, a bibliography, and additional readings. The editor is widely known for her bi-weekly Spanish-language columns and her appearances on television and radio as a cross-cultural expert.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Second Edition, tackles the subject of mental health, arguably one of the biggest issues facing modern society. The book presents a comprehensive overview of the many genetic, neurological, social, and psychological factors that affect mental health, also describing the impact of mental health on the individual and society, and illustrating the factors that aid positive mental health. The book contains 245 peer-reviewed articles written by more than 250 expert authors and provides essential material on assessment, theories of personality, specific disorders, therapies, forensic issues, ethics, and cross-cultural and sociological aspects. Both professionals and libraries will find this timely work indispensable. Provides fully up-to-date descriptions of the neurological, social, genetic, and psychological factors that affect the individual and society Contains more than 240 articles written by domain experts in the field Written in an accessible style using terms that an educated layperson can understand Of interest to public as well as research libraries with coverage of many important topics, including marital health, divorce, couples therapy, fathers, child custody, day care and day care providers, extended families, and family therapy
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by
Explores various areas of the neuroscience on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of the discipline. This title features various articles that contain a glossary, introduction, a reference section, and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion by
Public Health is one of the fastest growing university programs in the United States today. At the same time, the challenges that face the practitioner continue to grow and become more complex. This Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion, 2nd ed covers more than 250 topics, taking a lifespan approach to the fields of public health and prevention. The encyclopedia is divided into four volumes: 1. Foundational Topics 2. Early Childhood and Childhood 3. Adolescence 4. Adulthood and Older Adulthood Within each volume, issues of illness prevention and health promotion (sometimes referred to as "positive psychology") are addressed in chapter-length entries arranged alphabetically. An international group of contributors synthesizes research focusing on improving the physical and mental health of the community as a whole. Each entry will have a structured format: Introduction, Definition of Terms, Prevalence, Theories, Empirical Studies, and Strategies (What Works, What Is Promising, What Doesn't Work). Each entry concludes with a look ahead to the coming decades of Public Health - what are the next steps to primary prevention and health promotion - and a "See Also" box recommending books, films, or articles by the editors for further reading. The encyclopedia is designed for practitioners, students, and researchers working in prevention, public health, and psychology. It will also serve as reference for practitioners in sociology, social work, nursing and medicine. The second edition more than doubles the number of entries in the first edition by adding entries focusing on gender, African American and Latino issues, social support, social and emotional learning, and physical health and disease. All entries from the first edition will be rewritten and expanded, reflecting the most up to date thinking in the field.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Public Health
The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. The work includes more than 2,500 alphabetical entries. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions. Numerous figures and tables enhance understanding of this little-understood topic. Solidly structured and inclusive, this two-volume reference is an invaluable tool for clinical scientists and practitioners in academia, health care and industry, as well as students, teachers and interested laypersons.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Quality of Life and Well-being ResearchCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Social Psychology by
This handbook provides a broad overview of the field of social psychology and up-to-date coverage of current social psychological topics. It reflects the recent and substantial development of the field, both with regard to theory and empirical research. It starts out by covering major theoretical perspectives, including the inter actionist, identity, social exchange, social structure and the person perspectives. Next, it discusses development and socialization in childhood, adolescence and adulthood. In addition to updated discussions of topics that were included in the first edition, the part examining personal processes includes entirely new topics, such as social psychology and the body and individual agency and social motivation. Interpersonal processes are discussed from a contemporary perspective with a focus on stress and health. The final section examines the person in sociocultural context and includes another topic new to the second edition, the social psychology of race and gender and intersectionality.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. This encyclopedia will cover all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies. A significant percentage of the articles will cover public health aspects of diseases and conditions. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues. Edited and written by a distinguished international group of editors and contributors Heavily illustrated and abundantly cross-referenced Via ScienceDirect platform, multimedia files will provide an enhanced online experience Includes 'Further Reading' lists at the end of each article A complete subject index contained in one volume
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Mental: Everything You Never Knew You Needed to Know About Mental Health by
Become your own mental health expert Mental illness is too often portrayed with a sense of despair, as if it's a life sentence. Nothing could be further from the truth. Virtually everyone improves with help, and most of the help is relatively easy to access. How do we define mental illness? What does a diagnosis mean? What should you ask your doctor before you begin treatment? Are there alternatives to medication? What does the research show actually works? Practitioner and professor of psychiatry Dr Steve Ellen and popular comedian Catherine Deveny combine forces to demystify the world of mental health. Sharing their personal experiences of mental illness and an insider perspective on psychiatry, they unpack the current knowledge about conditions and treatments. Punctuated with anecdotes and real-life stories, Mental covers everything from depression and anxiety to schizophrenia, personality disorders and substance abuse. This updated edition includes a new chapter on coping with the challenges of the covid-19 pandemic, as well as updates on new drugs and therapies. Whether you have a mental illness or support someone who does, Mental offers clear practical help, empowering you with an arsenal of tips and techniques to help build your resilience Dr Steve Ellen is a professor of psychiatry at the University of Melbourne and the Director of Psychosocial Oncology at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. He is a broadcaster on 3RRR, a weekly regular on ABC Melbourne and has written for medical journals, textbooks and print media. Catherine Deveny is a writer, commentator and comedian. She is the author of eight books, including Use Your Words, The Happiness Show, Free to a Good Home, Say When and It's Not My Fault They Print Them.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Mental Health and Mental Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Conditions, Treatments, and Well-Being by
Serving as an indispensable resource for students and general-interest readers alike, this three-volume work provides a comprehensive view of mental health that covers both mental well-being and mental illness. A three-volume ready-reference encyclopedia, this up-to-date work supplies a holistic introduction to the fields of mental health and mental disorders that is written specifically for high school students and college students. Covering the full continuum of mental health, the set describes typical functioning, including biology and neurology of the brain, emotions, and the traits and characteristics of mental well-being. It also addresses mental disorders and conditions, from obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to phobias and schizophrenia. Mental Health and Mental Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Conditions, Treatments, and Well-Being highlights important concepts and phenomena, key individuals, treatment techniques, organizations, and diagnostic tools to give readers a complete view of this broad field of study. It also investigates all sides of wellness, exploring what it means to be "normal" and consistently identifying the links between lifestyle and mental health. The encyclopedia is consistent with the goals of AP psychology curricula and addresses the various disorders classified in the new edition of the APA Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-V-TR). Provides exhaustive content that affords readers a holistic understanding of mental health and mental disorders Features extensive cross-referencing that allows readers to easily see connections and relationships between different entries Offers end-of-entry further readings that serve as a gateway to additional information for study Reflects on common perceptions and portrayals of mental health through a variety of pop culture-oriented entries that focus on subjects such as television shows and movies
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook by
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook, Eighth Edition discusses how the brain works, the components of mental wellness, and the lifestyle habits that lead to illness. It offers information about the major types of mental illness and their treatments, including affective disorders, anxiety disorders, psychotic disorders, personality disorders, and disorders that impact behavior, including impulse control disorders, addictions, and eating disorders. A special section looks at pediatric issues in mental health and another examines the distinctive concerns of other specific populations. Information is also included about the relationship between mental health and chronic illnesses, such as cancer, epilepsy, heart disease, pain, and sleep disorders. The book concludes with a glossary of mental-health terms, a list of crisis hotlines, and a directory of mental-health organizations.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Psychiatry by
Now in a new Fourth Edition, Psychiatry remains the leading reference on all aspects of the current practice and latest developments in psychiatry. From an international team of recognised expert editors and contributors, Psychiatry provides a truly comprehensive overview of the entire field of psychiatry in 132 chapters across two volumes. It includes two new sections, on psychosomatic medicine and collaborative care, and on emergency psychiatry, and compares Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5) and International Classification of Diseases (ICD10) classifications for every psychiatric disorder. Psychiatry, Fourth Edition is an essential reference for psychiatrists in clinical practice and clinical research, residents in training, and for all those involved in the treatment psychiatric disorders. Includes a a companion website at www.tasmanpsychiatry.com featuring PDFs of each chapter and downloadable images
Publication Date: 2015
Women's Health Concerns Sourcebook
basic consumer health information about breast and gynecological conditions, menopause, sexuality and female sexual dysfunction, birth control, infertility, pregnancy, common cancers in women, cardiovascular disease, mental health, and chronic disorders that affect women disproportionally, including gastrointestinal disorders, thyroid disease, urinary tract disorders, osteoporosis, chronic pain, and migraines ; along with an introduction to the female body, information on maintaining wellness and avoiding risk factors for disease, a glossary, and a directory of resources for additional help and information
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
