Ocean Side (South)
Ethnic & Gender Studies Collection
The Ethnic & Gender Studies Collection (EGSC) is located toward the south end of the 2nd Floor of the library. EGSC is a cohabitation of six unique collections: Andelson Collection (LGBTQ Studies), Asian American, Black Studies, Colección Tloque Nahuaque (Chicana/o Studies), and the Native American Collection. EGSC has an important history at UCSB; the Black Studies collection and Colección Tloque Nahuaque were created because of student activism and a need for the establishment of gender and ethnic studies departments at UCSB in the 1960s. The other four collections were initiated in 1995 to support increased research and scholarship in LGBT and Queer Studies, Native American Studies, Feminist Studies, and Asian American Studies.
You can tell when a book is located in EGSC or another specialized collection in the Library when you locate information about the book in UC Library Search. For example, this book says it's located in the Main Library, Black Studies, followed by the call number E184.7.Z9 I334 1991 Even if you know where a book should be, it is always a good idea to double check in UC Library Search to make sure it says "Available" before going up to the shelves.
Curriculum Resources, Media & Children's Collection
This collection is located at the end of the Library's 2nd floor, Ocean Side, to the left of the Ethnic & Gender Studies Collection. Curriculum Resources is a resource collection of instructional materials for grades K-12. The Media and Children's Collection is located in the same area. For more information about the types of materials in these collections, check out the website.
Paseo Bridge
You are here map
Click the arrows to the right and left see what else is in this space!
Paseo Bridge
The Paseo Bridge is a popular study place because of its natural light and central location.
Microform Collections
The Microform Collections can be seen when you come out of the Ocean Side elevators. Our microform collections include materials in microfilm, microfiche, and microcard formats. There are three parts of this collection: Government Information (US, UN, California, and other foreign government materials); General Collection (Newspapers; periodicals; ERIC documents; etc.); Technical Reports (Materials from NTIS, DTIC, and various US Government Agencies).
Microform Machine
We have several different types of equipment for using microform materials. These machines can read both microfilm and microfiche. You can scan materials free of charge and save the scanned image to a USB drive.
Government Documents
The Government Information Collection contains our extensive collection of government documents. The UCSB Library collects publications from the governmental agencies of the United States, California, Santa Barbara City and County, foreign countries, international organizations, and the western states of the U.S.
KIC Scanner
There is no charge for scanning in the library. Scanners are available in the following locations:
- 1st floor Mountain Side: 2 KIC Click scanners across from the Services Desk
- 1st floor Mountain Side: 1 KIC Click scanner in Art & Architecture collection area
- 1st floor Mountain Side: 1 KIC Click scanner in Learning Commons
- 2nd floor Ocean Side: 1 KIC Click scanner near Microforms collection
Mountain Side (North)
Sciences & Engineering Collection
You'll soon find the Sciences and Engineering Collection, which contains all the materials related to the natural and applied sciences, engineering, and technology. Can't find what you're looking for on the shelves? Many of our ebooks available to online via UC Library Search.
Call Numbers N-NC and TR, Comics, and Zines
Next to the Sciences & Engineering Collection, you'll also find the Art & Architecture print materials with call numbers N-NC and TR, the Social Justice Zine Collection, and World Comics Collection.
Group Study Rooms
Group study rooms are available by reservation for UCSB students. The rooms vary in size to accommodate 4-10 people and have white boards, tables, and chairs. Whiteboard markers and erasers are available at the Services desk on the first floor. Some rooms have media hook-ups to let you work together on multiple laptops. You can make a reservation for a study room up to 2 weeks in advance for up to 2 hour periods per day using the online study room reservation system.
Group study spaces are on the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 6th, and 7th floor.
Learning Commons
The Learning Commons on the Mountain Side of the library includes individual and collaborative study spaces, group study rooms, PC computers, printers, and copiers. The Learning Commons shares space directly over the Summit Cafe.
Looking for the least crowded place to study? Download the Waitz App to see Real-time Library Occupancy Data. Is your phone about to die? Don't worry, information from Waitz will appear periodically on the Library's digital signage. Have questions? Visit the Waitz FAQ page.
DREAM Lab
The DREAM Lab (Data, Research, Exploration, Access, Methods) is near the Group Study Rooms and the Mountain Elevators. This space is where you can get help when you're working with data for research. They have special tools to help faculty, staff and students analyze and visualize qualitative, quantitative, and spatial data. They can also help you find data sets for research projects.Photos for this tour taken from the UCSB Library Flickr Photostream.