Skip to Main Content

UCSB Library Self-Guided Tour

This guide has been optimized for use on a mobile device and is designed to introduce students to the services and spaces of the UCSB Library.

Mountain Side (North) & Mountain Entrance

 

Turn so your back is to the Paseo and and you'll be facing the Mountain Side of the Library.  The North part of the library is referred to as Mountain Side because if you were outside you'd be heading toward the mountains.  

Art & Architecture Collection
With your back to the Paseo, navigate past the computers and you'll see the Art & Architecture Collection on the left.  This collection includes publications on architecture, sculpture, drawing, painting, prints, decorative arts, artistic photography, and interdisciplinary works on the arts covering all cultures and time periods.  The Art & Architecture Collection is also the home to the World Comics Collection of comics and graphic novels and the Social Justice Zine Collection. 
 

All Gender Restrooms 

Two All Gender Restrooms are located across from the Art & Architecture Collection. All Gender Restrooms are also located on the Library's 2nd Floor, 5th Floor, 6th Floor, 7th Floor, and 8th Floor. UCSB Library’s all gender restrooms are part of a campus-wide commitment to providing safe, accessible, and convenient restroom facilities for all members of our community. 

 

Pro tip: Books and laptop on green background

Group Study Rooms can be reserved online up to two weeks in advance using our study room reservation system. Rooms that are unoccupied may be used by drop-in groups, but we ask you to leave when a group that has made a reservation comes in to claim their timeslot.  

 

Presentation Practice Room

Do you have a class presentation coming up that you want to practice? You can use the Presentation Practice Room!  This room is set up with a podium, ceiling-mounted camera, whiteboard, and a table and chairs for you to record yourself with some friends.  Just bring yourself, your presentation, and your laptop!  This room can be reserved up to two weeks in advance using the same reservation system as the group study rooms. 

instruction and training room 1312. desks, whiteboards, and rolling chairsInstruction & Training Room 1312

Instruction & Training Room 1312 hosts course-specific instruction sessions, meetings, and outreach events.

 

Learning Commons

The Learning Commons is a student space that includes:  

  • individual and collaborative study space
  • reservable group study rooms
  • PC computing
  • printing and scanning

   

 

Pro tip: Books and laptop on green backgroundDid you know that the UCSB Library has a microwave for student use? It is located adjacent to the Summit Cafe.  The microwave and area is cleaned daily and is the only approved machine in the library for students' food reheating use.