About these floors
Quiet study
Floors 5-8 are designated quiet study spaces. UCSB Library provides various types of study spaces to facilitate different learning experiences.
Group Study Rooms
There are additional group study rooms on floors 6 and 7 to the south of the elevators, behind the restrooms. Group study rooms can be scheduled online: Schedule a Group Study Room.
UCSB Library's physical materials are arranged in order by subject, so there is not a separate section for fiction or recreational reading. However, most literature is available in the PN-PR sections of the library. Head floors 7-8 to browse for something to read, or search for "fiction" in UC Library Search on the library's homepage.
East Asian Collection (5th Floor)
East Asian Collection
The East Asian Collection holds our collections in the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages. It is located on the 5th floor of UCSB Library. Created in 1967, the East Asian Collection supports the research and curriculum of the East Asian Language and Cultural Studies Program at UCSB.
The East Asian Collection focuses on the history and literature of East Asia, including: Chinese literature in the medieval and modern periods, contemporary Chinese and Japanese government and politics, economic and social conditions, and religious studies (especially Buddhism, Shinto, and Taoism). Containing over 160,000 print volumes, the bulk of the collection is in Chinese (60%) and Japanese (39%). The library subscribes to many online Chinese, Japanese, and Korean resources including over 50,000 electronic books in Chinese.
8th Floor
Model of UCSB
A model of the UCSB campus is located just outside the 8th floor elevators. Survey this bird's eye view of the campus before going to the windows and seeing which buildings you can recognize.
Pacific View Room
The Pacific View Room is behind the elevators on the 8th floor. This study space is a great place for quiet study with a view of the ocean and the southern part of campus.