Visit UCSB Library's Social Justice Zine Collection!
The Social Justice Zine Collection includes over 60 zines and was curated with a social justice activism lens. Specific topics that represent the scope of this collection are zine works about neurodivergence, anti-racist activism, gender, sexuality, disability activism, feminist art, Black archives, and social movement history.
Zines (pronounced "zeens" like "magazines") are do-it-yourself publications, made from collections of images and text, and distributed by the creator or zinester themselves. Zines are created out of love, not for profit, and are focused on a wide array of topics.
Let's make a Mini Zine!
About the Collection
Location: The Social Justice Zine Collection is located in the Main Library, Mountain Side
Borrowing: This collection is circulating, meaning you can check out, read, and share the zines anywhere!
Searching: You can search for and find zines in UC Library Search.
Funding: This collection was grant-funded thanks to the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.
Featured Zines
Raza for Black Lives: This Bridge Called Unity by
"In creating this zine we aim to raise consciousness on the prison-industrial complex, criminalization of youth and anti-Blackness within our Raza community. The last pages mention ideas pa tomar pasos pa'lante. In order for us to continue to be active against oppressive forces and to dismantle the barriers planted between Black and Brown peoples."--Publisher's Etsy site.
Call Number: HV9950 .R39 2015, Main Library, Social Justice Zine Collection
Queer azn musicians by
"Inside, you will find interviews and/or submissions from 26 queer and asian musicians. Our goal is to create a space to feature the voices of queer and trans people of color, specifically of the asian diaspora, and their relationship with music."--Page [ii].
Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 W86 2019, Main Library, Social Justice Zine Collection
BOY* Black Transmasc Reflections
"BOY* a field guide to transformation, posing difficult questions to my body, displacement, and dysphasia, my body, and yours"--Page 3.
Call Number: HQ77.9 .W96 2020, Main Library, Social Justice Zine Collection
Zines were purchased from over 25 zinesters and distros!
- Brown Recluse Zine Distro (Oakland, CA)
- Individual Zinesters’ Etsy shops
- Microcosm Publishing (Portland, OR)
- Radical History Club (San Diego, CA)
- Mixed Rice Zines (Oakland, CA)
- Project Paint (San Diego, CA)