What's on This Page?
In the boxes on this page, you will find links and citations to information resources on the history of Latin America.
For advice on finding books on your topic, see the 'How to Find Books' tab of the World History (generally) research guide.
World History by Region: Latin America
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures.
London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
- Ref F1406 .E515 2000 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Detroit: Gale/Cengage, 2008.
Handbook of social movements across Latin America.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Dordrecht: Springer, 2015.
Latinoamericana: enciclopedia contemporánea de América Latina y el Caribe.
Madrid, España: Akal; São Paulo, Brasil: Boitempo; Buenos Aires, Argentina: Clacso, 2009.
- Main Library F1406 .L38 2009
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
The Cambridge history of Latin America.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1984-
- Main Library F1410 .C1834 1984 v.1-11
- Contents: v.1-2 Colonial Latin America. v.3 From Independence to c.1870. v.4-5 c. 1870-1930. v.6 Latin America 1930 to the present: economy, society and politics. Pt.1. Economy and society. Pt. 2. Politics and society (2v) v.7 Latin America since 1930: Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean. v.8 Latin America since 1930: Spanish South America. v.9 Brazil since 1930. v.10 Latin America since 1930: ideas, culture and society. v.11 Bibliographical essays.
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Region (Latin America):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Continuously published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. 1970-present. - Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliographies covering scholarly publication in the field of Latin American studies.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Topics include Brazilian and Portuguese history, literature, and politics, but nearly all topics and time periods beginning with the colonial era are represented. - Empire Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A database of original documents relating to Empire Studies from 1492 held in libraries and archives around the world.
History: Latin America: Primary Sources.
Links to primary source collections, from the University of Washington.