What's on This Page?
In the boxes on this page, you will find links and citations to information resources on the history of the Middle East.
For advice on finding books on your topic, see the 'How to Find Books' tab of the World History (generally) research guide.
World History by Region: Middle East
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
- Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East.
New York: Macmillan Reference, 1996.
- Ref DS43 .E53 1996 v.1-4
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
- Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009 v.1-6
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
- Ref DS35.53 .O95 1995 v.1-4
Gelvin, James L. The modern Middle East: a history.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Main Library DS62.4 .G37 2016
A companion to the ancient Near East.
Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2005.
- Ref DS57 .C56 2005
A companion to the history of the Middle East.
Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2005.
- Main Library DS62 .C63 2005
Crossroads of war: a historical atlas of the Middle East.
Cambridge, Mass.: The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2014.
- Ref G2206.S1 B3 2014
Historical atlas of the Middle East.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1993.
- Ref G2206.S1 F7 1993
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Region (Middle East):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A database that focuses on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, from the University of London's School of Oriental and African Studies. - RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowA selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Israel, compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Israel
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A database of original documents relating to Empire Studies from 1492 held in libraries and archives around the world.
History: Middle East: Primary Sources.
Links to primary source collections, from the University of Washington.