Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World History by Region: Australia & Oceania

What's on This Page?

In the boxes on this page, you will find links and citations to information resources on the history of Australia & Oceania.

For advice on finding books on your topic, see the 'How to Find Books' tab of the World History (generally) research guide.

World History by Region: Australia & Oceania

The Australian people: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins
Cambridge England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
- Ref DU120 .A718 2001

Historical dictionary of the discovery and exploration of Australia
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2003.
- Ref DU97 .D39 2003

The Oxford companion to Australian history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.


Australia's empire.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
- Main Library DU110 .A8975 2008

The Cambridge history of the Pacific Islanders
Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997.
- Main Library DU28.3 .C33 1997

A concise history of Australia.
Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia: Cambridge University Press, 2016.
- Main Library DU112 .M13 2016

A history of Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific.
Oxford, UK; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Pub., 2000.
- Main Library DU28.3 .D46 2000 

 Bolton, Geoffrey. The Oxford history of Australia.
 Melbourne; New York: Oxford University Press, 1986-
- Main Library DU110 .O94 1986  v.1-5


Additional Reference Sources for World History by Region (Australia & Oceania):

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc. 

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.

Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.

Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies