Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World History by Region: Europe

What's on This Page?

In the boxes on this page, you will find links and citations to information resources on the history of Europe.

For advice on finding books on your topic, see the 'How to Find Books' tab of the World History (generally) research guide.

World History by Region: Europe

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages.
Leiden: Brill, 2017.
- Ref CB351 .B75513 2017 v.1-2
- Medieval European history and culture, ca. 500 to ca. 1500.

Encyclopedia of early modern history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Leiden: Brill, 2015.
- English edition of the 15v Enzyklopädie der Neuzeit, covering the history of Europe from ca. 1450 to ca. 1850.

Encyclopedia of European Social History
Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2000. v.1-6
- Ref HN373 .E63 2001

Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006. v.1-5
- Ref D424 .E94 2006

The European encyclopaedia from 1650 to the twenty-first century
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019.

The Oxford handbook of early modern European history, 1350-1750.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2015.
- Main Library D208 .O94 2015 v.1-2

The Oxford handbook of European history, 1914-1945
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Main Library D424 .O946 2016

The Oxford handbook of postwar European history
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.
- Main Library D1051 .O94 2012

Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.


Times Atlas of European History. 2nd ed. 
London: Times Books, 1998.
- Sciences & Engineering G1797.21.S1 T5 1998

Historical Atlas of Central Europe
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Toronto: University of Toronto Press 2018

Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of Eastern Europe
New York: Palgrave, 2001.
Sciences & Engineering G2081.S1 H8 2001

Atlas of Southeast Europe: Geopolitics and history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Volume One, 1521-1699.
Volume Two: 1699-1815.
Volume Three, 1815-1926.

The Atlas of Medieval Europe. 2nd ed. 
New York: Routledge, 2007
Sciences & Engineering G1791 .M2 2007

Place Names of the World: Europe: historical context, meanings and changes
Houndmills, Basingstoke: Macmillan Press; New York, NY: St. Martin's Press, 2000.
Main Library D905 .E94 2000


Additional Reference Sources for World History by Region (Europe):

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc. 

Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.

Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.

Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.

American Geographical Society Library. Digital Photo Archive: Europe
Images from the American Geographical Society Library, digitized and hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries.

Biblioteca Nacional de Espana: Colecciones Digitales
Digitized books, manuscripts, drawings, photographs, engravings, maps, music scores, sound recordings, periodicals and more from the National Library of Spain

Bibliotheca Palatina digital
The most important collection of books from the 17th century Holy Roman Empire, the Bibliotheca Palatina is now divided between two principal locations: Heidelberg and the Vatican.

Das Bundesarchiv
The German Federal Archives preserve documents from the Holy Roman Empire (1495-1806), the German Confederation (1815-1866), the German Reich (1867/71-1945), the occupation zones (1945-1949), the German Democratic Republic (1949-1990) and the Federal Republic of Germany (since 1949).

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
European primary historical documents, transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

European History Primary Sources. (EHPS) 
The European University Institute's (Florence, Italy) EHPS provides an index to digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.

Europeana
Database of millions of items found in Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums, including books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, and more.

Die Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften = Historical Commission at the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Primary source materials from German history, from the Middle Ages to contemporary times (such as Documents for the Imperial German Diet; and Acts of the Reich Chancellery, Government Hitler, 1933-1945) in print and online. The material published so far comprises approximately 700 volumes.

Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum = Munich Digitization Center. (MDZ). 
Digitized cultural heritage materials preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions.

Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection
Nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). The Donovan papers contain both original statements from the defendants in German and typed translations in English prepared by the Allies.

Nuremberg Trials Project
The Harvard Law School Library has approximately one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).

Broad, comprehensive histories are often good places to start your reading. They are also good sources for citations to guide your further reading. 

- Search the Library Catalog portion of UCSB Library Search for the "Oxford history of modern Europe" series; which includes such titles as Germany, 1800-1870 (2004), The Russian empire, 1801-1917 (1967) and Spain, 1808-1939 (1966).


For example, if you search for "Short Oxford History of France" you will find:

France in the central Middle Ages: ages 900-1200.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
- Main Library DC61 .F58 2002 

France in the later Middle Ages, 1200-1500.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
- Main Library DC61 .F584 2003

Renaissance and Reformation France, 1500-1648.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
- Main Library DC111 .R43 2002 

Old Regime France, 1648-1788.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
- Main Library DC125 .O53 2001 

Revolutionary France: 1788-1880.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
- Main Library DC148 .R4886 2001

Modern France: 1880-2002.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
- Main Library DC361 .M58 2003 


Other important series covering European history include the "Short Oxford history of Germany," the "Short Oxford history of Italy," the  "Short Oxford history of Europe," the "Oxford history of early modern Europe," the "Oxford history of modern Europe" (noted above), the "Cambridge economic history of modern Europe," and multi-volume titles like the "Cambridge history of Russia."


Chronology of European History
Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1997
Ref D11 .C57 1997, v.1-3

Association of College and Research Libraries. European Studies Section. (ESS) European Studies: Regional and Historical Resources
Links to guides covering:
- Classics Studies
- Dutch Studies
- French Studies
- German Studies
- Iberian Studies (Spain and Portugal)
- Irish Studies
- Italian Studies
- Medieval and Renaissance Studies
- Scandinavian Studies

Harvard University. Finding Primary Sources Online

History: Europe: Primary Sources - East
History: Europe: Primary Sources - North
History: Europe: Primary Sources - South
History: Europe: Primary Sources - West
More links to primary source collections, from the University of Washington


Links and citations to additional sources of information on the history of the British Isles might be found on the UCSB Library research guides for:

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies