FAMST 101C: International News

Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.

One of the largest on-line newspaper database in Japan, containing over 8,000,000 articles. Includes four sections: Asahi Shinbun newspaper: 1945-present; AERA weekly magazine: May 1988-present; Shukan Asahi weekly magazine (news section only): April 2000-present; and Historical Photo Archive : 1930-1945. (10,000 historical photographs).

Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.

The most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. Created in May 1946, People's Daily carries the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China.

Access to Pravda (1912-2009), meaning “Truth” – the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party from 1918-1991. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, it represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.

The most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China. An important primary source for late imperial and modern China, Shen Bao covering three reigns of Qing Dynasty, and many significant historical events, such as Sino-French War, Sino-Japanese War, Boxer Rebellion, and two World Wars. Known for its rich news reporting, commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era.