FAMST 101C: US Newspapers

Contains searchable and displayable full text coverage of the Chicago Defender, the oldest and most respected African-American newspaper in Chicago. The Chicago Defender was a weekly newspaper from 1909-1956, when it switched to daily coverage. The Chicago Defender was the most influential black weekly newspaper by the start of WWI. Note: current files of the Chicago Defender (1989-present) are available separately under Chicago Defender (current: 1989 – current).

Keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Chicago Tribune from 1849 to 1987.

A historical archive of the Los Angeles Sentinel, a weekly African American-owned newspaper.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present. (Note: historical backfiles of the LA Times are available separately for 1881-1984.)

Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1995. Note: current files of the LA Times (1985-present) are available separately.

Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Note: historical backfiles of the New York Times are available as a separate file.

Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008. Note: current issues of the New York Times are available as a separate file.

Includes searchable and displayable full text of the historical San Francisco Chronicle. No current edition available online.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 2002.

The Washington Post is well known for not only in-depth news and analysis of American politics but also insightful coverage of national and international trends and events.

Searchable and displayable full text of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008.

Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.

Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.

Provides full text access to more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers; select full text for more than 370 U.S. newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts, including CBS news, CNN, Fox news, NPR and more.

Contains news, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes complete articles and archival material. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.

Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Covers scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental-organization and special reports. Provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, and the impact of gender and gender roles on society.