Tip: Do a keyword search for your film title.
Add a director or actor last name if the title is a common word or phrase.
Pro Tip: Use quotation marks if there is more than one word in the title.
Examples:
"The Kid" AND chaplin | "Fried Green Tomatoes" | "Kung Fu Hustle"
Film Reviews in Academic Journals
For newer films, you can also find reviews in databases such as Academic Search Complete
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThis International Federation of Film Archives's database offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972-present.
Tip:
KEYWORD = "film title"
ARTICLE TYPE = review
Film Indexes & Catalogs
- American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new windowIMDb before IMDb was a thing...
Tip: search for film by title, then scroll down to SUPPLEMENTAL DATA field, this will be a list of citations for primary sources related to your film.
Print Indexes
Within our gates:ethnicity in American feature films, 1911-1960 by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1995.9.M56 W58 1997 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0520209648Publication Date: 1997- The British Film Catalogue, 1895-1985 byCall Number: MAIN REF PN1998.G543 1986 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0816015546Publication Date: 1986
- The international film index:1895-1990 byCall Number: MAIN REF PN1998.G62 1991 [Non-circulating]Publication Date: 1991
- Treasures from the Film Archives byCall Number: MAIN REF PN1995.75 .M335 1988 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 081082180XPublication Date: 1988 (Print), 1998 (Online)
Don't forget to check here
Popular Magazines in UCSB Library
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowMinimal indexing for popular magazines in the U.S. (1890-1982).
- Business WeekCall Number: Main Library H1 .B87
- EsquireCall Number: Main Library AP1 .E86
- EssenceCall Number: Black Studies E185.86 .E8Print only
- NewsweekCall Number: Main Library AP1 .N48
- The New YorkerCall Number: Main Library AP1 .N47
- PeopleOnline only
- PlayboyCall Number: Special Collections AP2 .P5639Print only. To view materials from Special Collections, please make an appointment with that department.
- Teen VogueOnline only
- TIME MagazineOnline only
- VogueCall Number: Sciences & Engineering TX1 .V6Print only
Cahiers du Cinéma
French
Cahiers du cinémaCall Number: PN1993 .C3
English Translations
Cahiers du Cinéma, the 1950s : Neo-Realism, Hollywood, New WaveCall Number: PN1995 .C29 1985ISBN: 0674090608English Translations
Cahiers du Cinéma, 1960-1968: New Wave, New Cinema, Reevaluating HollywoodCall Number: PN1995 .C295 1986ISBN: 9780674090651English Translations
Cahiers du Cinéma, 1969-1972: The Politics of RepresentationCall Number: PN1995 .C296 1990ISBN: 0674090632English Translations
