Skip to Main Content

FAMST 101C: Theatrical Collections

New Wave Cinemas 1958-1989

Newsreels

Berlin International Film Festival - Includes festival history, programming, award winners, photographs, and press releases (1952-2019)

Cannes Film Festival - The festival website includes an online retrospective with programming, posters, juries, awards, and other media (1946-2019)

The Panafrican Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou (FESPACO) - a limited amount of information about past festivals and filmmakers is available online

Palm Springs International Film Festival - Includes digital programs, screening information, and award winners (2016-2020).

San Francisco International Film Festival - Includes festival history and programming information searchable by title, director, year, and cast (1957-present)

San Francisco Silent Film Festival - Includes articles, essays, and program notes from past events (1996-2020)

Sundance Institute Digital Archive - The Sundance Institute Archives includes press kits, posters, films, photographs, scripts, and scores which were donated to UCLA as the Sundance Institute Collection in 1997. The searchable digital archives includes information about festival screenings and award winners (1980-2017).

Tribeca Film Festival - Includes screening information searchable by genre, festival year, festival section, and country (2002-2019)

Venice Film Festival - This resource includes festival history, programming information, and award winners (1932-2019). 

UCSB Collections

The Performing Arts Collection more than 300,000 historical sound recordings and over 150 archival collections containing manuscripts, letters, photographs, scrapbooks, artwork and other primary source documents that document and support research in the performing arts, including music, theater, dance, broadcast media (film/television/radio), and the circus.

Selected Collections

Dame Judith Anderson Collection, ca. 1915-1980s 

Film Press Kit Collection (PA Mss 39)

Film Scripts Collection (PA Mss 60) -- 247 screenplays for major and independent American films (1950s-2003)

Hollywood Film Star Photographs Collection (SC 722)

The Marjorie Kellogg Papers (PA Mss 85)

Southern California Institutions

Margaret Herrick Library (MHL) Digital Collections - Contains more than 35,000 items representing a curated selection of materials from the library's holdings including correspondence, photographs, sheet music, scrapbooks, lobby cards, movie ephemera, books, film magazines, and industry publications.

UCLA Library Digital Collections - Provides access to more than 10,000 digitized motion picture stills , digitized images from the Los Angeles Times and Los Angeles Daily News, and UCLA preserved silent animation.

The Academy Visual History Program, PST: LA/LA Oral History Interviews - Includes 13 interviews with prominent Latino, Latin American and Chicano filmmakers

 

 

 

 

Academy Film Archive - Dedicated to the preservation, restoration, documentation, exhibition and study of motion pictures the collections include Academy Award® nominated films, the annual Oscar® telecasts, documentaries, silent movies, experimental films, film industry related interviews, behind-the-scenes footage, home movies, and a wide range of international cinema. Be sure to review their policies for access and use

Autry Museum of the American West (Collections are searchable online but unavailable for research until late 2021) - The Autry's Library and Archives hold unique, rare and significant primary and secondary resources focusing on the peoples and cultures of the American West including materials related to the motion picture industry such as films, promotional brochures, as well as collections from Western stunt performers and actors.

Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library (Special Collections) is a public library collection that represents Hollywood in film, television, the performing arts, and community history. The collection includes many out-of-print books, film yearbooks (1920s-30s), casting directories, unpublished motion picture and television scripts, production files, posters and lobby cards, theatre and dance programs, as well as community records related to events and notable community members.

Hollywood Heritage Museum - Hollywood Heritage works to preserve and protect the historic built environment of Hollywood and operates the Hollywood Heritage Museum (the Lasky DeMille Barn). Their archive includes documents,  photographs, and paper ephemera relating to the history of both Hollywood and the film industry as well as an object collection which includes costumes, equipment and props used in films. Contact them to schedule an appointment.

Louis B. Mayor Library (American Film Institute) - Dedicated to supporting AFI Conservatory studies by offering resources that complement the curriculum and promote scholarship. Resources include books and periodicals, photographs, published and unpublished scripts, a film and television collection (including all films made by AFI Conservatory Fellows and the Directing Workshop for Women, as well as the AFI Archives. Review access and use policies prior to contacting.

Margaret Herrick Library - Devoted to the history and development of the motion picture as an art form and an industry the Library holds periodicals, books and pamphlets, scripts, production files, oral histories, and much more which can be explored via catalogs and databases. Review the library's policies for access and use as well as their modified remote research and reference services before contacting them, but expect slower response times during closure for the pandemic.

The Mayme A. Clayton Library & Museum (MCLM) Film & Recorded Sound Archives - Collections related to the history and culture of African Americans in the United States, with a special focus on Southern California and the American West, including more than 700 film titles with strengths in pre-1959 black films. Be sure to review their policies for access and use and complete a Research Application before contacting.

UCLA Performing Arts Collections - Acquires  materials in all formats that document the performing arts created in and around Los Angeles and Southern California including film, television, dance, theater, and music. Collections include scrapbooks, personal papers, scripts, oral histories, and publicity materials. Review their helpful guide to conducting film and television research as well as their guide specific to Women in Entertainment.

USC Cinematic Arts Library - Extensive book collection and archives focusing on the history of the film industry, including photographs, scores, and artifacts. Significant collections include the Constance McCormick Collection of print articles, photos and reviews; the Elmer Bernstein Collection of music, film, and related materials; The Archives of Performing Arts containing the studio collections of MGM, Universal Studios, Twentieth Century Fox, Hal Roach, Republic Pictures, and Carolco Pictures; and The Warner Bros. Archives which contains the records of Warner Bros. Pictures Inc. and its subsidiaries including First National and Vitagraph (1918-1968).

 

Interviews & Oral Histories

The Television Academy Foundation: The Interviews - More than 900 oral history interviews with television professionals across a range of specialties and genres.

The Academy Visual History Program, PST: LA/LA Oral History Interviews - Includes 13 interviews with prominent Latino, Latin American and Chicano filmmakers

American Masters Digital Archive includes unreleased interviews with musicians, filmmakers, artists, historians, writers, comedians, journalists and others that were originally recorded for PBS American Masters documentaries. The collection includes 1000+ records from more than 40 episodes.

BAMPFA Film Library & Study Center - The library has digitized more than 750 of their more than 1,600 cassette tapes (1975-1985) that document filmmakers visits to BAMPFA and made them available online through the Internet Archive.

British Entertainment History Project - "For the past thirty years, The British Entertainment History Project has been recording the stories of men and women working in the UK film, television, theatre, and radio industries to ensure that information on their lives and experiences is preserved for future generations."

Cinémathèque française - "Henri" the free streaming platform includes interviews with Henri Langlois with English subtitles.

Directors Guild of America Visual History Program - Founded in 2000, the DGA’s Visual History Program has conducted more than 200 interviews with directors and director’s team members discussing their careers and creative processes in film, television and other media.

Other Institutions (United States)

Southern Methodist University: The African American Film Materials Collection includes a sample of digitized photographs and press books. Also available online  from the G. William Jones Film & Video Collection is The Sulphur Springs Collection of Pre-Nickelodeon Films and the Tyler, Texas Black Film Collection.

BAMPFA Film Library & Study Center: The library has digitized more than 750 of their more than 1,600 cassette tapes (1975-1985) that document filmmakers visits to BAMPFA and made them available online through the Internet Archive. Their online database, CineFiles, contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, film festival and repertory theater program notes, newspaper articles, and other ephemera from their collection. Some materials may be restricted due to copyright and require a free account to access.

BAMPFA Film Library & Study Center - The library holds film-specific collections of books and magazines including rare holdings of early silent film magazines and Japanese film fan magazines (1950s-1960s), unpublished scripts (1970s-1980s), exhibitors manuals and press kits, festival catalogs and venue calendars, stills, and posters.

G. William Jones Film & Video Collection (Southern Methodist University) - more than 9,000 film prints and 3,00 videotapes as well as print materials including The Tyler, Texas Black Film Collection and The Sulphur Springs pre-nickelodeon films. Review the archives research and access policies.

Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research - Search archival holdings relating to the entertainment industry include more than 300 collections from playwrights, television and motion picture writers, producers, actors, designers, directors, and production companies with the greatest amount of material being records of the American film industry (1930-1960), American popular theater (1940s-1950s), and American TV (1940s-1970s). Materials preserved including historical records and personal papers, motion pictures, television shows, photographs and promotional graphics, and sound recordings. Their digital exhibits also offer a glimpse into the breadth of materials available in their collections and how they are being used by researchers.

Motion Picture Distribution & Presentation

Cinema Treasures is a great place to begin gathering information about a specific movie theatre or movie theatres located in a particular region. Don't forget to take a look at the Technical Journal Collections of Trade Magazines from the Media History Digital Library and other Industry Literature.

 


Copyright © 2008-2024 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies