Skip to Main Content

FAMST 101C: Trade & Industry Literature

New Wave Cinemas 1958-1989

About Trade & Industry Literature

Advertisement for Cleo from 5 to 7 by Agnes Varda

 

 

Trade magazines and other industry literature are key primary sources for the study of film, television, and media history.

These sources are good places to start for many research topics including finding film reviews, ratings and box office data, advertisements, and information about media production and distribution.

Trade magazines are written by industry representatives, and it's not uncommon that an author is not named.  Articles are written to share industry information including trends, products, and techniques.  Articles in these publications are written for people within the industry using technical language or jargon. References are provided via contextual referrals to other works, and the publications are reviewed by one or more editors employed by the publication. 

Popular magazines are written by journalists, or a writer whose specialty is writing, not necessarily in the field that they are reporting. Articles are aimed at a general audience and written without using technical terms, or will define technical terms if used. The articles are reviewed by editors employed by the magazine, and referrals to other works rely on contextual information in the text. 

 

Advertisement for "Cleo from 5 to 7" in Zenith Exhibitor Manual

CineFiles, University of California Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive

https://cinefiles.bampfa.berkeley.edu/catalog/38168

Selected Resources

Directories and Distribution or Rental Catalogs helped programmers, curators, and private collectors find and screen films. 

The Film and Video Makers Directories and Travel Sheet (Carnegie Museum of Art. Department of Film and Video) -  Includes The Film and Video Makers Travel Sheet  published by Carnegie Museum of Art (CMOA) between 1973 and 1987, the Film and Video Makers Directory published in 1978 and 1979, and the Media Exhibitors Directory of Independent Artists (MEDIA), which was only published by the museum on a limited scale in 1987.

Blackhawk Film Catalogs (USC Hugh M. Hefner Moving Image Archive) - Blackhawk Films was, for many decades, the best source for purchasing rare and important films for home viewing on 16mm, 8mm, and Super 8. USC's collection includes catalogs, many available in PDFs, from 1935-1995.

Although some trade magazines are available in full-text through online databases, others are only available through the library in print or on microfilm. Some magazines, such as American Cinematographer (1920-present), can be found on different formats for different time periods of the magazine's publication.

Example:

American Cinematographer

Microfilm: Microfilm Area TR1 .A5335  

Print: Sciences & Engineering   TR1 .A5335

Online: Performing Arts Periodical Database (1972-present) and Hathi Trust Digital Library (limited)


 

Search Tips

Search these magazines for the names of people, places, and things.

Examples: production titles, directors or actors, TV network call-signs, the name of a production company or studio, etc.

Pay attention to the dates of the articles and use your date filters to make sure the results fit your time period of study.

Need Research Help?


Copyright © 2008-2024 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies