It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most databases do not have a way to search by whether or not an article uses empirical research. The only absolute way to determine if an article uses empirical research is to check the METHODS section, however, you can usually find some keywords in the ABSTRACT that will let you know if an article used empirical research.
To find an empirical article in the database, do a search using keywords on your topic.
Look for the following words or clues in the abstract of articles that look interesting.
Descriptions of statistical analysis**
Go to the METHODS and RESULTS section to determine if the authors used empirical research methods an analysis in their research.
*Remember, smaller case studies can also ask their subject to take a survey, then go in-depth with the interview questions - making this qualitative rather than empirical research.
**Look for charts and graphs, percentages reported out, etc.
Digital Object Identifiers are unique permanent number assigned to articles that have been published online. Not all online articles use them, but if you find one -- UCSB Library has a DOI Search Tool!
Abstracts of articles, books and other resources in communication studies and related disciplines, including communication theory, organizational communication, technology in human communication and public opinion. Coverage is 1977 to present.
Date Coverage: 1977 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Journal Articles; Reports
Other places to find Comm-related Literature (Scholarly/Academic)
A scholarly database for the literature of psychology, the behavioral sciences and related disciplines. Researchers and students will find that PsyINFO contains citations to many communication-related articles, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations. Coverage: 1806 to present.
Date Coverage: 1890 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Technical Reports; Theses & Dissertations
PAIS Index includes both PAIS International, 1972 to present, with international coverage of materials in government, international relations, legislation, political science, statistics, and related areas and PAIS Archive, the historical segment, comprising a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
Date Coverage: 1915 - present
Materials Indexed: Books; Government Documents; Journal Articles
Consists of several databases:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded for journal articles
Conference Proceedings Citation Index
Science and Conference Proceedings
Social Sciences and Humanities
Book Citation Index
Science and Book Citation Index
Social Sciences and Humanities
Current Chemical Reactions
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index