News Aggregators & Databases
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text U.S. and international news, covering local, regional and world issues. Includes comprehensive coverage of current events and historical events.
-
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Citations are drawn from roughly 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Indexes such important periodicals as: Cineaste, Environmental Action, Socialist Review, and Women's Review of Books.
-
Chronicling AmericaThe Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers collection provides access to select digitized newspaper pages produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowProvides access to global news and business information, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, photographs, and trade and industry publications, including full-text of the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times. Important source for market data, company profiles, financial comparisons, stock price data, etc.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
Research Centers of News Media
-
Columbia Journalism Review"CJR’s mission is to be the intellectual leader in the rapidly changing world of journalism. It is the most respected voice on press criticism, and it shapes the ideas that make media leaders and journalists smarter about their work. "
-
Pew-Knight Initiative"Pew-Knight Initiative seeks to empower Americans seeking to navigate the current media and technology landscape and to provide critical insights to news providers seeking to serve citizens more effectively. In this era of technological disruption, Americans must be able to discern reliable information amidst ever-evolving platforms to effectively engage with their communities."
-
Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public PolicyThe Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy is a Harvard Kennedy School research center dedicated to addressing this challenge at its root by examining how essential information is created, conveyed and consumed.
-
Knight FoundationSupports excellence in journalism and media innovation. Follow the Knight publications to discover organizations and institutions working towards these goals.
-
Poynter Institute"A global nonprofit that strengthens democracy by improving the relevance, ethical practice and value of journalism. Through teaching, publishing, convening, fact-checking and media literacy, Poynter creates a crossroads where communities come together to use journalism to confront society’s complex problems."
-
U.S. Press Freedom TrackerA project of the Freedom of the Press Foundation (FPF), the U.S. Press Freedom Tracker is "a centralized repository for research, the data we gather informs journalism, legal action and is the backbone of advocacy efforts for major press freedom groups."
-
Freedom ForumA non-partisan 501(c)(3) foundation advocating for First Amendment freedoms.
A version of these resources were originally published by Shevon Desai at the University of Michigan Library.
Watchdog or Fact-checking sites
-
Misinformation Dashboard: Election 2024A free online resource that collects and tracks examples of political misinformation, including debunked falsehoods, doctored images, conspiracy theories and AI-generated fakes.
-
FactCheck.orgA project of The Annenberg Public Policy Center, FactCheck.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit advocate that monitors the accuracy of things said by political figures across a variety of media.
-
ProPublica"ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism with moral force. We dig deep into important issues, shining a light on abuses of power and betrayals of public trust — and we stick with those issues as long as it takes to hold power to account."
-
SnopesEstablished in 1994 as a site that investigated "urban legends, hoaxes, and folklore," the site is a member of the International Fact Checking Network, and debunks misinformation.