Get Research Help
Guides by Subject
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Mexico in History: Colonialism to Revolution is a collection of digitized primary sources covering Mexican history from Spanish colonization and the formation of New Spain through the Mexican War of Independence and then through the Mexican Revolution. Materials in this collection are sourced from the Bancroft Library at University of California, Berkeley's Latin Americana Collection.
Primary source collection of reports, correspondence, images and audio files, articles, pamphlets, speeches, and transcripts from the American Committee on Africa (ACOA), a U.S.-based organization involved in African liberation struggles in the 20th century. Materials in the collection cover issues related to social justice, civil rights, decolonization, U.S. anti-apartheid movements, and Africa in the Cold War.
China on Film features an exciting selection of documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travelers. Through a combination of amateur films, travelogues and newsreels, this resource provides a unique perspective on both everyday life and some of the key events of modern Chinese history.
Education Research Index combines ERIC, the leading education research database provided by the U.S. Department of Education, with the new Supplemental Education Index, which was created to expand upon the current scope of ERIC.
In-depth analysis and commentary on global business and economics from five digital
editions: UK, European, USA, Asian, and Middle East. World Markets tool: View the performance of
global markets and browse news items by region, in 135 global indexes. Equities Screener: Search or
browse company equities data. The subscription allows UCSB affiliates to explore any and all
issues of the Financial Times going back to 2004.
This expansive resource, drawn exclusively from The National Archives, UK, presents the files of the British legation and consulates in China. It offers a rich view of historical events, from trade routes and military conflicts, to public health challenges and revolution. UCSB has Section 1 which includes content from 1830-1895.
A Global History of Epidemics, 1800-1970 brings together unique primary sources to enable research into a pivotal part of history for public health and medicinal advancement. Through a broad range of sources including correspondence, official reports, diagrams, photographs and film footage, researchers can explore developments in disease prevention, outbreak management, sanitation and public welfare as well as track the spread and treatment of major epidemics and pandemics across the globe in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Hindi Cinema: Histories of Film-making is a collection of video interviews, on-set footage, photographs, and film posters that document the history of Bollywood cinema in the latter half of the 20th century and the early 21st century.
Indigenous Americans have shaped the geography, arts, culture, and civil discourse of their homes from prior to the arrival of Europeans through modern times, often whilst experiencing intergenerational trauma and compounding discrimination, racism, and oppression.
Delve into the dynamic and exciting world of nineteenth-century theatre and the rise of celebrity culture across the UK, US, and Australia through this comprehensive resource.
This multi-archive resource covers the development of the modern Olympic Games from 1896 to 1992, telling the story of the world’s biggest sporting event through primary sources while shining a light on key social and political phenomena throughout the twentieth century.
Trade in Early Modern London: Livery Company Records, 1450-1750 is a collection of digitized primary sources, including all extant court minute books and wardens' account books, from six of London's principal livery companies. Some supporting records have also been selected from each company, including ordinances, charters, ledgers, and other financial records.
Primary source material covering social and cultural history of the retail industry and consumers (19th-20th centuries), with content from company archives, trade journals, and union records. Includes archival material from across the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and Europe.
Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 brings together diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women, told through their own words. Featuring content from both regional and national archives across the UK and Ireland, users can explore the life course of hundreds of individuals from a diverse range of backgrounds.