Communication Databases
Articles are generally published in academic journals. They provide the latest research and focused examinations of specific topics. Because they are published more quickly and more frequently than books you will usually find the most recent works on a topic in the forms of articles.
Find articles, both scholarly peer-reviewed publications as well as popular sources like newspapers or magazines, using the databases below. Remember, this is but a small selection of the many databases available to you through the UCSB Library.
Top Databases for Communication
-
Communication Source (including Communication Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of articles, books and other resources in communication studies and related disciplines, including communication theory, organizational communication, technology in human communication and public opinion. Coverage is 1977 to present.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.
Additional Databases for Communication Research
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA mix of academic and popular literature on a wide range of disciplines.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowMarketing and Advertising research, business/organizational communication, and more!... Coverage:1886 to present.
-
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
-
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowPrimarily used to identify open access journal titles and forty percent of them are searchable at the article level.
-
Education Research Index
Education Research Index combines ERIC, the leading education research database provided by the U.S. Department of Education, with the new Supplemental Education Index, which was created to expand upon the current scope of ERIC.
-
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.