Polling & Public Opinion Resources
- American Public Opinion Index byPublication Date: 1981 - 2001Covering 1981 to 2000, this is an annual, two-volume publication that indexes surveys and opinion polls from more than 250 polling sources. Has companion microfiche publication: American public opinion data.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Available through the DREAM Lab. ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to a vast archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. The data and codebooks may be downloaded by UCSB faculty, students, and staff.
- NES Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior"NES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research and development work through pilot studies in odd-numbered years." 1948-
- Odum Institute Public Opinion Poll DataSocial science data curated and archived by the Odum Institute Data Archive at the UNC Chapel Hill. Some key collections include the primary holdings of the Louis Harris Data Center, the National Network of State Polls, and other Southern-focused public opinion data.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of materials in government, international relations, legislation, political science, statistics, and related areas.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Indexes public opinion polls. Contains the full text of questions and responses from surveys conducted in the U.S. and 80 other countries. Only polls using statistically valid sampling and methods are indexed. Each question is individually indexed.
- Polling ReportPolls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media orgs. Recent polls listed on homepage; to browse by topic, use links for Politics and Policy, Business/Economy, or The American Scene on the left. Some info is only for subscribers.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. Provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. Focuses on US public opinion, but also includes collections of micro-level European, Latin American (Latin American Databank), and Japanese (JPOLL) polls.