Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

These Library resources are an excellent place to start your research as they contain articles that summarize in a few paragraphs what's most important to know about a topic. Look for key concepts, terms, contexts, and the names of people who have done important work on your topic, plus bibliographies to guide your further reading.

  • The Advertising age encyclopedia of advertising
    • Ref HF5803 .A38 2003
  • Dictionary of mass communication & media research
    • Ref P87.5 .D449 2005
  • Dictionary of media and communication studies
    • Ref P87.5 .W38 2003
  • Encyclopedia of communication and information
    • Ref P87.5 .E53 2001
  • Encyclopedia of communication theory
    • Ref P87.5 .E496 2009
  • Encyclopedia of international media and communications
    • Ref P87.5 .E535 2003
  • Encyclopedia of media and politics
    • Ref P95.82.U6 E47 2007
  • Encyclopedia of new media: … communication and technology
    • SEL Ref QA76.575 .E5368 2003
  • Encyclopedia of political communication
    • Ref JA85 .E64 2008
  • Encyclopedia of psychology(APA)
    • Ref BF31 .E54 2000
  • Encyclopedia of religion, communication, and media
    • Ref P94 .E48 2006
  • Encyclopedia of social movement media
    • Ref P96 .A44 E53 2011
    • Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media.
  • Encyclopedia of television
    • Ref PN1992 .I8 E53 2004
  • Handbook of conflict analysis and resolution
    • HM1126 .H34 2009
  • Handbook of conflict resolution: theory and practice
    • HM1126 .H35 2006
  • Handbook of group research and practice
    • Ref HM716 .H35 2005
  • Handbook of interpersonal communication
    • Ref BF637 .C45 H287 2002
  • Handbook of language and communication: diversity and change
    • P40 .H3424 2007
  • Handbook of new media: social shaping and social consequences
    • Ref P96.T42 H36 2006
  • Handbook of visual communication: theory, methods, and media
    • P93.5 .H363 2005
  • History of the mass media in the United States: an encyclopedia
    • Ref P92 .U5 H55 1998
  • IABC handbook of organizational communication
    • HD30.36.U5 I25 2006
  • The international encyclopedia of communication[online resource] 
    • Internet Resource P87.5 .I58 2008eb -- click the ONLINE link in the catalog
  • International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
    • Ref H41 .I58 2001
  • International encyclopedia of the social sciences[online resource]
    • Internet Resource H40.A2
  • The Museum of Broadcast Communications encyclopedia of radio
    • SEL Ref TK6544 .M84 2004
  • Oxford handbook of information and communication technologies
    • Ref HM851 .O98 2007
  • SAGE handbook of conflict communication
    • Ref HM1126 .S24 2006
  • SAGE handbook of conflict resolution
    • Ref JZ6045 .S24 2009
  • SAGE handbook of gender and communication
    • Women's Studies P96 .S48 S34 2006
  • SAGE handbook of media studies
    • P90 .S18 2004
  • SAGE handbook of nonverbal communication
    • BF637 .N66 S24 2006
  • Violence in the media: a reference handbook
    • Ref PN1992.8 .V55 S55 2005

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies