INT 100RS 
Asian TraditionsChristian TraditionsIslamJudaismNative American TraditionsReligion in AmericaSikhism and Pujabi
Law and ReligionMaterial Culture and SpacePhilosophy of ReligionPsychology of ReligionScience and ReligionSociology and Anthropology of Religion
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Religious Studies 

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/religion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Reference Sources            Print Page
  
 

General Print Reference Sources

Atlas of the World’s Religion
   Main Ref  G 1046.E4 A75  1999

Brill Dictionary of Religion (4 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 31 M4813 2007

Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism & Humanism
   Main Ref  BL 2705 C66 2006

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities
   Main Ref  BL 782 C67  2000

Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism (3 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 501 E53  1998

Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements
   Main Ref  BT 891  E53  2000

Encyclopedia of Monasticism (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 631 E63 2000

The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
   Main Ref  E 98 R3 H73  1991

Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 65 P7 E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 31 E465  2005

Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals
   Main Ref  BL 31 E47 2004

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 240.3 E53  2003

Encyclopedia of World Religions
   Main Ref  BL 80.3 E54 2007

Encyclopedia of World Scriptures
   Main Ref  BL 70 S56  2001

Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements
   Main Ref  BP 601 C47  2001

The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition
   Main Ref  BL 245 H57  2000

Mythologies (Y. Bonnefoy) (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 311 D513  1991

Pilgrimage: From the Ganges to Graceland (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 619 P5 D38 2002

Religions of the World: Comp. Encyclopedia of beliefs (4 vols.)
   Main Ref  BL 80.3 R45  2002

Shamanism: An Encyclopedia… (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  GN 475.8 S445 2004

Witchcraft Today: An Encyclopedia of Wiccan & Neopagan Trad.
   Main Ref  BF 157 L49 1999

 
 

Primary Sources

Adherents.com

  • A collection of religious adherent statistics and religious geography citations. Contains references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.

EuroDocs

  • Primary History Documents from Western Europe.

Historical Text Archive

  • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

  • Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.

Perseus Project

  • Tufts University's digital library project, containing materials related to: Greece & Rome, Renaissance, 19th century America and more. Access to Greek and Latin lexica.

Religion Online

  • This site has thousands of full-text articles on Religious Studies, but its focuses are Christianity and sociology.
 

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Mythica

  • An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

  • Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

Oxford Reference Online UCSB Only

Religion Gateway

  • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Religious Studies Conferences Worldwide

  • Links to upcoming conferences.

Virtual Religion Index

  • Rutgers University offers one of the best gateway sites for Religious Studies.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMeryle Gaston
Contact Info:
Davidson Library
5520H
805-893-7686
Send Email

Subjects:
Middle Eastern Studies, Religious Studies

 

Libraries and Research Centers

Libraries & Research Centers

Center for Research Libraries

  • Access to more than five million volumes of rare research materials found in North American libraries.


Center for the Study of Religion, Princeton University

  • Encourages intellectual exchange and interdisciplinary scholarly studies about religion
  • Offers diverse perspectives of the humanities and social sciences.
  • Examines religion comparatively and empirically in its diverse historical and contemporary manifestations.

International Institute of Social History

  • One of the world's largest documentary- and research-centres for social history.
  • Stores, maintains, and provides access to documents pertaining to social movements.

National Library Catalogues Worldwide

  • Links to the national library catalogues of various countries.

Walter H. Capps Center for the Study of Religion and Public Life

  • Promotes the study of religious pluralism.
  • Provides useful list of links to other pages about this topic.
 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait