Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tools: T&L Tutorials

About these videos

These videos are created by the Teaching & Learning Department as a way to provide point-of-need quick instruction for our users. Each video is closed captioned. Enjoy!

Evaluating Sources

Not sure if the article, book, or other source you found will work for your assignment? Use the video below to apply the ACT UP method to evaluate the source. 

ACT UP Source Evaluation from UCSB Library on Vimeo.

How can I get help at the library?

Learn how you can get help with your research at the UCSB Library. Watch the video below and visit us at library.ucsb.edu/ask.

Research Help at UCSB Library from UCSB Library on Vimeo.

Transcript:
Title: Research Help at UCSB Library: Teaching & Learning Series
Body: Ready for a little boost with your research? Librarians are ready to help! Visit us in person, or online. Go to: library.ucsb.edu/ask. Get assistance by chat, email, or appointment. Whether you need help, finding sources, constructing citations, brainstorming keywords, forming a topic, or something else entirely, we're eager to help! Need help with your research? Contact us 24/7 at: library.ucsb.edu/ask

Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources

Learn how you can connect UCSB Library to Google Scholar to easily access the full text of an article through UC Library Search.

Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources from UCSB Library on Vimeo.

Transcript:

Title: Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources: Teaching & Learning Series

Body: Starting on the Google Scholar homepage, login to Google using your UCSB NetID and password. Once you are logged in, find the menu in the top left corner of the screen and select the “settings” option, then the “library links” option. In the search box, enter “University of California, Santa Barbara” and search. Find the “Get it At UC” option and make sure the box is checked, then save your changes. Now, you can search for full-text articles in UCSB Library from Google Scholar! On the Google Scholar homepage, enter your search terms and search. Look for the “Get it at UC” links to access the full-text resource through the Library website. You’ve done it! Having trouble? Ask for help. Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask

The Research Process is Complex

The research process is complex -- it's not just you. Learn more about what to expect about the research process in the video below.

The Research Process is Complex from UCSB Library on Vimeo.

Navigating the UCSB Library Homepage

Are you ready to start your research but confused by the library homepage? Use this quick tutorial to explore...

  • the major tools available on the UCSB Library homepage
  • where to find Course Reserves placed on hold by your professor
  • where to get help with your research

Get started here: https://ucsb.libwizard.com/f/librarywebsitetour

How to retrieve full text of an article from UC Library Search

Learn the basics for getting the full text for that article you found using UC Library search. Watch the short video below. If you have any questions or run into trouble, ask for help at library.ucsb.edu/ask

 

Retrieving the full text of an article from UC Library Search from UCSB Library on Vimeo.

 

Transcript:
Title: Retrieving the full text of an article from UC Library Search: Teaching & Learning Series

Body: Starting on the UCSB Library homepage, search by keyword or by title in UC Library Search. In the result list, click on the desired article title. Once you are in the detailed view of the article, find the “Access Online” links and choose one. If one doesn’t work, try the next one. After you click an “Access Online” link you will be prompted to log in with your UCSB NetID and Password. Any “Access Online” link directs you to the full text of one article. Oh no! Having trouble? Ask for help. Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask

Getting Started with Citations Tutorial

Learn about how and why we cite in academic writing with this interactive tutorial. You will learn some basics of overall citation best practices and then have the opportunity to learn the details of how to cite a website, book, and journal article in either APA, CSE or MLA. If you're taking this tutorial for a class, you'll have an opportunity to print a certificate of completion to submit to your instructor.

 


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies