Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tools: Proxied Links to Subscription Resources

Why Use Proxied Links?

It is extremely important that all of your links to subscription resources use proxied links.  This will enable users who are both on campus and off campus to have access to the resource.

Do not proxy links to free resources that are available to anyone without a subscription!

The boxes below will show you 3 different ways to accomplish this in LibGuides.  They are ordered top-to-bottom from the most recommended method to the least-recommended method.

NOTE:  You should always check every link you put in a LibGuide by clicking on it.  This will help you catch problems before the users find them.

How Proxied Links Work:

When a user clicks on a proxied link, the proxy server looks at their IP address to determine if they are on campus or off campus.  If they are using a computer with an IP address from the campus IP range, the proxy server will pass them through to the resource without requiring the user to sign in.  If the user is off campus, they will be prompted to log in with their UCSBnet ID and password and will be passed to the subscription resource after authentication.

Using Links from the Database List

This is the best way to link to a database.  By using this method, you don't have to worry about keeping the links up to date.  When they are updated in the database list, your link will be automatically updated.

Note that you can use your own description by using the "custom description" field.

See the "Database List" tab for instructions.

Adding a database

Using "Links" or "Books from the Catalog"

When using the "Link" or "Book from the Catalog" content types, always check the "Yes" box next to "Use Proxy?".  This will automatically place the proxy prefix in front of the link.

You should do this for links to anything that we pay to access -- databases, e-journals, e-books, online reference sources, etc.

Proxy checkbox

Manually Inserting the Proxy Prefix into a Link

If you have links to subscription resources in a "Rich Text/HTML" content box, you will have to do your own proxied links.  This is the most complicated way to provide proxied links, because you must add the proxy prefix to your links manually.

When entering a link manually, you should insert the proxy prefix string at the beginning of the URL.

Proxy String:  http://proxy.library.ucsb.edu:2048/login?url=

Database URL:  http://uclibs.org/PID/126936

Proxy Prefixed Database URL:  http://proxy.library.ucsb.edu:2048/login?url=http://uclibs.org/PID/126936

Note that the prefixed link has two occurrences of "http://".  This is required for it to work.  LibGuides will trim the initial "http://" from your link, so if you are fixing an existing link URL you will need to manually add the "http://" in between the proxy prefix and the database URL.

You cannot have any spaces between the prefix and the URL!

Always check your link using these two steps to make sure it works:

  1. Mouse over your link to make sure that you see the proxy prefix before the database URL.
  2. Click on the link to make sure it works.  If you are on campus, it will just take you to the database.  If you are off campus, you will be asked to log in and then will go to the database.

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies