About the Database List
This tab will help you build your list of databases using the database tool in LibGuides.
It will be very advantageous for you to spend a little time cleaning up your database lists. If you use the method described below, you will be mapping your links to the main database list in LibGuides. If the URL for a database changes, we will change it in the master list and it will automatically change in all guides that are using that link.
Even more important, if you use the links from the database link the system will automatically add the proxy server prefix to the URLs. Users who are on-campus will be passed right through when they click on the link, but those who are off campus will be routed through the proxy server login screen before they go to the database. And you don't have to maintain both on-campus and off-campus links anymore.
This will make it much easier for you to maintain database links in your guides!
Sample Database List
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowI entered a custom description when I put this link in the list. It is shorter than the one in the database list.
NOTE
One of the best things about LibGuides 2 is that you can now mix and match the links in a content box. You can mix links from the database list, with links to websites, with PDFs, etc. They can all go in the same content box now.
And even better, you can reorder all the links in the content box very easily now.
How to Build Your List of Database Links
Start by creating a box.
Click on the “Add/Reorder” button at the bottom of your box, and pick “Database”.
Enter at least the first 3 letters of the database name in the Search for Database box until you find the one you want. Select the database from the list to add the link.
You can enter a custom description for the database, or use the default one that is already there.
Important: ALWAYS use this method when adding a link to a database that we have in the database list! By doing so, you no longer need to worry about updating these links if the database URL changes. We will update the link in the master list and it will automatically update the links on all associated guides.
Off-Campus Access: There is no need to offer “on-campus” and “off-campus” links separately to our subscription databases. If you use the links from the LibGuides database assets list in your guides, the system will automatically provide a proxied link to the database. When users click on the links, off-campus users will be routed through the proxy login screen, while those that are on-campus will be routed through to the database without haing to log in.
NOTE: It is highly recommended that you clean up your database links on all your guides as soon as you possibly can. Doing so now will make it much easier for you to keep your guides up-to-date.