LibGuides: Genealogy: California Resources

Local Libraries

LDS Family History Center

2107 Santa Barbara Street

Santa Barbara, CA

805-682-2092

Santa Barbara Public Library

40 East Anapamu Street

Santa Barbara, CA 93101

(805) 564-5604

Santa Barbara Historical Society

136 East De La Guerra St

Santa Barbara, CA 93101

805-966-1601

Santa Barbara County Genealogy Society

Sahyun Library

316 Castillo Street

Santa Barbara, CA 93101

805-884-9909

mailing address: P.O. Box 1303

Goleta, CA 93116-1303

Deigitzed Local Newspapers

The Carpinteria Chronicle
The Carpinteria Chronicle (Carpinteria, California) was first published in 1933 under the ownership of W. L. Davis Jr. The paper was sold to Ann Waynflete of Tulare County, California. The 141 newspaper issues held by the UC Santa Barbara Library range from February 1933 to December 1934, and from March 1938 to February 1939. Coverage includes school segregation in the Carpinteria Valley in the 1930s, and the construction of the Aliso School for Mexican children in 1933-1934. Linn Unkefer, of Carpinteria, California served as editor of the Chronicle from 1933 until its change of ownership.
Santa Barbara Gazette
The Santa Barbara Gazette (Santa Barbara, California) was published from May 24, 1855 to May 15, 1857, by W.B. Keep & Co. The first newspaper in Santa Barbara County, the Gazette came out weekly with a section in English and a section in Spanish, from May 24, 1855 to December 20, 1855. The Spanish section was discontinued after 1855. Coverage includes national and international affairs, as well as state and local politics and events in Santa Barbara and the surrounding region, just five years after the incorporation of the city in 1850. In total, 104 issues were published in two volumes, 52 issues each. All 104 issues are reproduced here, from a bound presentation copy to the Santa Barbara Public Library, with the inscription: “Charles Fernald presentation inscription to the Public Library of the City of Santa Barbara this 31st day of Aug. 1891.”
UCSB Daily Nexus and antecedent newspaper
Student newspapers from the University of California, Santa Barbara and antecedent institutions. Includes the following titles: Daily Nexus (1971-), UCSB Daily Nexus (1970-1971), El Gaucho (1934-1970), El Gauchito (Summer sessions 1935-1965), Roadrunner (1930-1934), Stray Feathers (Summer sessions 1932-1934), and The Eagle (1923-1930).

California Resources

California Biographical Dictionary: People of All Times and Places Who Have Been Important to the History and Life of the State.
- 2nd ed. New York: Somerset, 1994.
- Reference CT225.C35 1994
California county and regional histories.
- New Haven, Conn.: Research Publications.
- Microfilm Area F856 .C25
California early records, 1834: Santa Barbara County.
- Editor, Ronald Vern Jackson. South Jordan, Utah: Genealogical Services, 2002.
- Special Collections F868.S23 C34 2002
California Pioneer Register and Index, 1542-1848. Including Inhabitants of California, 1769-1800, and List of Pioneers.
- Bancroft, Hubert Howe. Baltimore, Regional Pub. Co., 1964.
- F860 .B3, and Special Coll., Wyles Collection F860 .B3, and Coleccion Tloque Nahuaque F860 .B3
Spanish-Mexican families of early California, 1769-1850.
- Northrop, Marie E. 1st ed. Burbank, Calif.: Southern California Genealogical Society, 1976-1984. 2 v.
- Ethnic Gender Studies Reference F860 .N67
Index to the Biographies in 19th Century California County Histories.
- Parker, J. Carlyle. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1979.
- Z5313.U6 C36