Genealogy: Articles

AM (formerly Adam Matthew) publishes primary source collections from archives around the world.

America: History and Life is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1691 to 1877. The Collection was released in five series. All five series are simultaneously searched on this site. Users can also search specific series. From the search screen, click on “Choose Databases,” and select specific portions of the series.

Series 1: 1691-1820 subject strengths include but are not limited to Afro-Americana, agriculture, children's literature, education, eighteenth-century imprints, leisure and hobbies, Masonic works, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature. Long runs of popular magazines as well as unusual and short-lived titles can be found. The collection includes an early millennial publication, satirical serials, music journals, and titles printed and edited by women.

Series 2: 1821-1837 documents the growth and expansion of the new nation during the Jacksonian era, from the aftermath of the Panic of 1819 through the Panic of 1837. Topics cover agriculture, entertainment, literary criticism, domestic arts, technology, medicine (both traditional and alternative), and politics. The periodicals in this database reflect the important beginnings of the social movements and economic trends that set the stage for events that would come to define America in the nineteenth century.

Series 3: 1838-1852 reveals a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion, slavery, agriculture, children's literature, education, leisure and hobbies, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature. The collection covers a broad range of geography (from Bangor, ME, to Madison, WI) as well as a diversity of languages (French, German, and Welsh), reflecting the rapid westward expansion that characterized the time period.

Series 4: 1853-1865 focuses on the Civil War, both leading up to and during, and also offers a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans. More detailed subject matter includes psychiatry, gardening, freed African Americans, temperance, the Irish question, Freemasonry, the U.S. Postal Service, and dentistry. The breadth of subject matter represented in the collection reveals the increasing diversity and affluence of the American population coupled with all of the political difficulties and the rising tensions that led to the Civil War.

Series 5: 1866-1877 reflects a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives, the incorporation of the recently freed African Americans into American life, and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

This full-text/full-image resource, easily accessible via the Web, paints a vivid picture of the American experience from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.The contents include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's, and Ladies' Home Journal.

A comprehensive source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. The C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of books and official publications, archival collections and articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 12 bibliographic indexes, including almost a million records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collections I and II.

Historical Abstracts is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts currently indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.

Periodicals Archive Online (formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index Full Text) is an online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography.This database includes over one million articles and millions of pages of text. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Periodicals Index Online (formerly Periodicals Content Index) is an index journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Israel.  Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources. Author, title and source information are given in the original language of publication. Subject headings are in English. Proper search and display of Hebrew characters requires that your browser have the correct Unicode character set. The database authors recommend the use of Internet Explorer 5 or higher to properly use the features of the database.