Note: Our access is limited to one user at a time. If you are denied access, please try again later.
The American National Biography has biographies of men and women from all eras and walks to life, whose lives have shaped America. Biographies in ANB can be cross-referenced with those in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography to gain national perspective on someone. ANB includes illustrations, links to selected websites for more information, and descriptive bibliographies. The articles in ANB trace a person's life in chronological order, from birth to death, through a sequence of significant events. Contextual information or hyper-linked articles are included to give background information. Concluding paragraphs put the person's life in historical perspective.
Special features: Search by genres in American history: Black History, Women's History, Asian Pacific American Heritage, American Indian Heritage, and Hispanic Heritage. Search by topics in American history: American Literature, Arts in America, Black History, Civil Rights Movement, Civil War, Depression and New Deal, Frontier and Western Expansion, Gilded Age, Hispanic American Heritage, Native American Heritage, Women's History, and World War II.
Ancestry Library Edition is an online genealogy resource with 4000+ databases of family information, including digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward; the American Genealogical Biographical Index; Passenger and Immigration Lists Index; United Kingdom and United States Directories1680-1830; court, land, and probate records; and many other resources. It also includes telephone directory information for the U.S.
Biography in Context (formerly known as Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 600,000 biographies from over 170 sources, with over one million entries from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
Date Coverage: Current
Materials Indexed: Biographical Information
City Directories
Guide to this collection is located in the microfilm area, 2nd floor opposite the Ocean Elevators: Z 5771.2 .C58 1984
City directories of the United States through 1860
Microfiche E 154.5 .C5 & Microfilm E154.5 .A2
City directories of the United States. Santa Barbara 1886-1960
by Francois Weil, Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2013![[UCSB!]](http://www.library.ucsb.edu/gallery/ucsbonlygoldbackground.gif){kind=small}
