Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy: Home

Introduction

The Genealogy subject guide provides information on resources available in the UCSB Library for the study of genealogy, family trees and family history. It does not attempt to cover other, publicly available resources.

Note to Non-UCSB Users

nDue to COVID-19 concerns, the UCSB Library building is only accessible to current UCSB students, faculty and staff with valid UCSB IDs (ACCESS cards). Users with community borrower cards and other walk-in users are ot being admitted at this time.

For more information, and the most recont updates see: Library Reopening.

Introduction

The UCSB Library's collections contain many resources of value to family history researchers. Unlike public libraries and genealogical society collections, we do not keep these materials in a special room. You will have the most success if you use the UCSB Library Catalog to search the collection. Use the Library Location guide to find the locations of call numbers.
 

Items noted with UCSB Only are available for use on UCSB campus computers. UCSB faculty, staff, and students may have off-campus access via the proxy server. This guide offers many tips for your research.

These Unique Collections in the UCSB Library May Be Of Interest to Genealogists:

Special Research Collections (3rd Floor, Mountain Side)
The William Wyles collection is a major Civil War collection that also includes books about the development of the West. Some other collections (Pearl Chase, Santa Barbara) may be of interest.

Map and Imagery Collection (also 3rd Floor, Mountain Side)
Collection of historical US maps (especially for colonial US) may be useful in identifying historic sites.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies