New user? -- The first time you use this database you need to register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page (http://proxy.library.ucsb.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.library.ucsb.edu/node/2017) to access registration information.
Already have a SciFinder account?: Your UCSB SciFinder username and password will also work for SciFinder-n. Note that your saved searches and Keep Me Posted alerts in SciFinder will not automatically transfer to SciFindern and vice versa. You may need to recreate them.
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited.
SciFinder-n indexes the same rich collection of documents on the chemistry of materials. (See above.) It also includes PatentPak full text patents for a large number of chemical patents.
Dates: 1907 - present, with selected material from 1840 - 1907,
Materials indexed: Conference proceedings, Journal articles, Patents, Preprints, Technical reports, Theses and dissertations
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Date Coverage: 1984 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles
Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
MRS Proceedings Library contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed conference papers presented at Materials Research Society meetings, representing over 900 print volumes. Topics include electronic materials, plastics and polymers, composite materials, ceramics and metals. Proceedings may be browsed by date, symposium title, and symposium table of contents. For current MRS proceedings (2016-present) see the journal "MRS Advances"
The National Technical Reports Library provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. It indexes about 2,000,000 reports and currently provides access to PDF copies of some 800,000 reports published since 1995. (More reports will be added, as pre-1995 reports are scanned.) Note that while access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
Preprint Citation Index currently indexes preprints from five major repositories: arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv and Preprints.org. It allows searching by topic, authors, etc. as well as cited reference searching. It profices a version history of preprints (where applicable) and links to citing preprint references as will as to citing references in journal articles, conference papers and patents.
The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
Date Coverage: 1861 - present
Materials Indexed: Theses & Dissertations
Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes the full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles which have not yet been added to MEDLINE, and some additional references from life sciences journals.
Date Coverage: 1814 - presen
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
A comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing. About 15,000 papers are added annually. The SPIE Digital library provides access to the papers published in: Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems.
Web of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index
Journal Citation Reports from Thomson Reuters provides analysis of the article publication and citation patters of major journals in the sciences and social sciences. Journals may be searched individually or by subject category, publisher or country of origin. Information available for each journal includes the total number of article published, total citations to articles from the journal, Impact Factor (ratio of number of citations to number of articles), Immediacy Index, Journal Half-Life, Impact Factor Trends and more. These indices are widely used in comparing and evaluating scholarly journal quality.
Date Coverage: 2007 - present
Materials Indexed: Statistics