Librarian
Chuck Huber
he/him/his
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website
Career and Job Resources
- AAAS CareersCareer support for scientists from the American Association for the Advancemtn of Science (AAAS). The site includes a link to career resources at Science magazine.
- ACS Career NavigatorA wide-ranging collection of career and job finding resources from the American Chemical Society.
- AIChE CareersJob-hunting and career development information from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).
- ASBMB CareersThe careers site of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes career development and career path suggestions, as well as a database of summer research opportunities.
- Bio CareersA commercial site with career resources and job postings "for postgraduate life scientists."
- Biochemical Society CareersCareer information for biochemists and molecular bioscientists from the Biochemical Society.
- Chemistryjobs.com Career CenterSuggestions on resume writing, interview skills and other job seeking advice form Chemistryjobs.com
- Graduate Career Consortium: ResourcesThe Graduate Career Consortium is an organization for professionals who assist college graduates with their careers. This page is a collection of useful online resources,
- MRS Careers and AdvancementCareers information from the Materials Research Society (MRS).
- Naturejobs.comThis site from Nature Publishing includes numerous articles on career issues, as well as Nature's job postings database.
- Networking for Nerds: Find, Access and Land Hidden Game-Changing Career Opportunities EverywhereRecent (2015) guide to crafting professional networks for scientists and engineers, whether beginning or experienced.
- New Scientist Careers HubA collection of articles on career issues from New Scientist magazine.
- RSC Careers SupportCareer resources from the Royal Society of Chemistry. Note that some of these resources are for members only.
- versatile PhDA resource for scholars with doctorates in any field who are seeking employment outside of academia.
- ChemIDPThe American Chemical Society's Individual Development Plan tool, designed specifically for chemists.
- Myers & Briggs Foundation - MBTIThe Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, a personality test that assigns the user to one of 16 personality types, is widely in use, and available from many sources. This site explains the test, as well as providing a link to the test.
- myIDPThis is an Individual Development Plan resource from the ScienceCareers site of AAAS.
- SkillScanA commercial strengths assessment site, with a variety of tools at a variety of prices.
- StrengthsFinderThis commercial tool, from the Gallup organization, helps the user to determine their strengths. Note that the tool is NOT free and the costs vary depending on how extensive a report you want.
- AIChE Career Engineer Job BoardJob listings for chemical engineers from AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers.)
- ASBMB Job BoardJob listings from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Full access requires an ASBMB membership.
- Biochemical Society Job BoardJob postings from the Biochemical Society/
- C&EN JobsJob listings from the American Chemical Society news magazine, C&EN (Chemical and Engineering News.)
- Chemistryjobs.comCommercial site for chemistry job seekers.
- Chemistry World JobsJob listings from the Royal Society of Chemistry's news magazine, Chemistry World.
- Chemjobs.netA commercial site for chemistry job seekers.
- Chronicle of Higher Education JobsThe Chronicle of Higher Education is a prime source for faculty, research and administrative positions in academia.
- MRS Career Central Job BoardJob listings from the Materials Research Society.
- Naturejobs.comJob listings from Nature magazine.
- New Scientist JobsJobs listing from New Scientist magazine. You may use keyword search, or select broad discipline categories (e.g. chemistry.)
- ScienceCareers.org JobsJob listings at ScienceCareers, the jobs site of Science magazine and the AAAS.