DVD & VHS in UCSB Library
- Use ADVANCED SEARCH to locate videos held in the UCSB Library Media Collection.
- Limit to LIBRARY CATALOG (for DVD/Blu-ray/VHS)
- leave as Articles, Books, and More to include Streaming Video in search results
- Enter search terms as needed.
- Tip: use quotations marks around title or phrase (ie: "romeo and juliet") for enhanced specificity
- Or choose field limiters Title >>> Starts With...
- In the MATERIAL TYPE field, choose VIDEO/FILM to target your search. (see image below)
Locate:
- UCSB Library's circulating Media Collection is located on Floor 2 Ocean Side in the Main Library
- The Music Library maintains a separate non-circulating media collection
- Some videos may also be located in Special Collections
View:
- All public computers are equipped with VLC Media Player (handles most DVD formats and regions).
- UCSB Library maintains two TV viewing stations for individual viewing
- one with VHS/region free DVD capacity, one with Blu-ray player
- available on a first-come basis; inquire at Services Desk
- Music Library maintains its own viewing rooms
- available on a first-come basis
- Contact Special Collections directly to arrange viewing of their video materials
Streaming Video Collections (UCSB Library)
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowContains streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- Digital Theatre+
DT+ includes streaming video and audio of plays and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
- Drama Online Core Collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of over 1,875 playtexts which includes texts from Sophocles and Shakespeare to Harold Pinter and Caryl Churchill. Major foreign works in translation from Bertolt Brecht, Luigi Pirandello, Eduardo De Filippo, and Frank Wedekind are included, as well as student editions and first night program texts.
- Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowOpera in Video contains five hundred hours of 290 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
- Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
