Find Books on Your Topic in UC Library Search
Use UC Library Search to find books and other materials in the UC library system.
Enter your search terms, then select Resource Type > Books on the left side of the results screen.
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB is a way to find books and other materials located in libraries outside the UC System.
Other Catalogs
-
Center for Research Libraries CatalogConsortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other resources for research and teaching.
-
HathiTrustDigital repository of scanned books, journals, and other library materials.
All users may access the bibliographic information for materials in the databases.
Full text is viewable for "Full View" materials. Those with UCSBnetID & password can download full text of "Full View" materials.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations are the product of the academic research done to obtain a Ph.D. Degree. A thesis is the equivalent product to obtain a Master's Degree. Check with your instructor to see if these are acceptable sources for your research.
-
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
-
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Locate Print Materials in Library
Recommend a Book
If you are a student, staff, or faculty member, use the recommend a book form.
Google Books
Library of Congress Call Number Ranges for Theater
Library of Congress Classification System
Call Number Areas for Performing Arts:
GV 1580-1799 - Dancing
ML 47- 54.8 - Librettos. Texts. Scenarios (Music Library)
MT 955-956 - Musical theater (Music Library)
PA 3000-6961 - Greek & Latin Literature
PN 1560-1590 - Performing Arts, Show Business
PN 1660-1693 - Dramatic Composition (includes playwriting)
PN 1720-1861 - History
PN 1993-1999 - Motion Pictures
PN 2000-3307 - Dramatic Representation, Theater
PN 2080 - Monologue Books
PQ - French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese Literature
PR - English Literature (UK)
PS - American Literature (playscripts)
PT - Germanic Literature (Ibsen)
TK 7881.4 - Sound Recording and Reproducing
Library of Congress Subject Headings
UCSB Library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe materials.
(Think standardized hashtags for subjects and topics.)
LCSH is not a perfect system by any means, but Subject Headings can be useful for exploring the library's collections quickly. Always pay attention to the subject terms listed on the records for books you are interested in.
Below are some examples of Subject Headings related to theater that you can use in the UCSB Library Search to help find relevant books, videos, and other materials on theater topics:
You can also search Library Search by keyword (try "drama" "theater" or "theatre").
Acting
African American theater
Amateur theater
Costume (theatrical)
Drama
Drama - collections
English theater 18th century [or other countries and dates]
English drama 18th century [or other countries and dates]
Feminism and theater
Monologues
Musical theater
Stage lighting
Staging and scenery
Theater
Theater and society
Theater architecture
Theater history
Theater production and direction
Theater political aspects
Theater United States [or any country]
Theaters stage setting and scenery
Theatrical makeup