LibGuides: Theater: Theater Reviews (Newspapers)

Tracking Production History

Internet Broadway Database
Provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Internet Off-Broadway Database - Lortel Archives
Catalogs productions played at a Manhattan theatre with a seating capacity of 100-499, dating back to 1958.
Playbill Vault
"The Largest Broadway Database on the Internet." In beta, and currently covers Broadway 1930 to the present, sometimes including images of the programs or headshots. Their plan is to eventually include off Broadway and extend back to 1900.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
(1990s to present)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Variety, Billboard, Back Stage, The Stage, and more. (1880s-2000)
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States between 1890-1982
Note: For coverage of similar material from 1984 to the present, use Academic Search Complete.

For American Broadway and Off-Broadway reviews:

New York Times Theater Reviews (1870-2000)

MAIN REF PN1581 .N42 [Non-circulating]

All the theater reviews excerpted and reprinted in chronological order.

To use the print volumes:

Look up debut of of your play - Month & Year (see Tracking Production History box at top of this page)
Page through chronologically till you find it (Index available for early years)

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles, Book Reviews
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Our subscription includes access to the following titles: The Colored American (1837-1840), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The National Era (1847-1860), The North Star (1847-1851), Weekly Advocate
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Early American Newspapers Series 1, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Early American Newspapers Series 2, 1690-1900

Newspaper Navigator
From the Library of Congress. Explore more than 1.5 million historical newspaper images online and free of charge. Allows users to search visual content in American newspapers dating from 1789-1963.