Shakespeare in the Stacks
Call Numbers for Shakespeare materials:
PR2750 - PR3112
7th Floor, Ocean Side*
The Library of Congress (LC) Classification System organizes most materials written by Shakespeare or written about Shakespeare into this call number range.
* Some materials are held in other locations, such as Reference, Feminist Studies, or the Andelson Collection.
Complete Works
The new Oxford Shakespeare:the complete works by Call Number: Main Library PR2755.T39 2017 [Regularl Loan]ISBN: 9780199591879Publication Date: 2017
The Arden Shakespeare complete works by Call Number: Main Library PR2754 .P76 1998x [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0174436157Publication Date: 1998
Companions
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film by Call Number: Online & Main Library PR3093 .C36 2007 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0521866006Publication Date: 2007
Shakespeare on Stage by Call Number: Online & Main Library PR3091.C36 2002 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0521792959Publication Date: 2002
A Feminist Companion to Shakespeare by Call Number: Online & Feminist Studies PR2991.F45 2000 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781118501221Publication Date: 2000 (Print), 2016 (Online)
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare by Call Number: Online & MAIN REF PR2892.O94 2001 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0198117353Publication Date: 2001 (Print), 2015 (Online)
Shakesqueer by Call Number: Andelson Collection PR2976 .S346 2011 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780822348337Publication Date: 2011
Dictionaries
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- DictionariesList of items available through the Library
Dictionary of Shakespeare by Call Number: MAIN REF PR2892 .M398 2000 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1901659399Publication Date: 2000
A Dictionary of Shakespeare by Call Number: Online & Main Library PR2892 .W43 1998 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0192800647Publication Date: 1999 (Print), 2002 (Online)
The Oxford Dictionary of Original Shakespearean Pronunciation by Call Number: Main Library PR2892.C78 2016 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0199668426Publication Date: 2016
Shakespeare Online
- Folger Shakespeare Library - audio playsThese productions were performed by the professional actors of Folger Theatre, in consultation with the editors of The Folger Shakespeare.
- Open Source ShakespeareThis site was built with four attributes in mind: Power, Flexibility, Friendliness, and Openness. It won't replace the expensive, subscription-only sites at libraries or research institutions, but you can use the advanced search function, read the plays, and look up words in the concordance.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Generally recognized as the most comprehensive searchable electronic database of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
Shakespeare in Video
- Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos, includes a number of Shakespeare productions.
- Globe Theatre videosList of Globe Theatre videos available at the Library
- Royal Shakespeare Company videosList of Royal Shakespeare Company videos available at the Library
- How to Search for VideosUCSB Library has many more Shakespeare videos, explore UCSB Library Search tool to discover them.
For Actors
- Speaking in Shakespeare's Voice: A Guide for American Actors by ISBN: 9780810139916Publication Date: 2019
Shakespeare for One - Men by Call Number: Main Library PR2771.N48 2002 [Regular Loan}ISBN: 0325004889Publication Date: 2002
Shakespeare for One: Women by Call Number: Main Library PR2771.N49 2002 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0325004870Publication Date: 2002
Shakespeare Monologues for Men by Call Number: Main Library PR2771.D49 2009 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781848420052Publication Date: 2010
Shakespeare Monologues for Women by Call Number: Main Library PR2771 .D496 2009 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781848420076Publication Date: 2010
Soliloquy! The Shakespeare Monologues (men) by Call Number: Main Library PR2771.E15 1988 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0936839783Publication Date: 2000
Soliloquy! The Shakespeare Monologues by Call Number: Main Library PR2771.E153 1988 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0936839791Publication Date: 2000
