Prehistory & Ancient History
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Encyclopedia of Prehistory.
New York: Kluwer Academic, 2001.
- Ref GN710 .E53 2001, v.1-9
Oxford Classical Dictionary. 5th ed..
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.
The Oxford companion to classical civilization. 2nd ed.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 2014.
The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.
The Oxford dictionary of the classical world.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
- Also available in print at Ref DT58 .O94 2001, v.1-3
The Cambridge ancient history. 3rd ed.
London: Cambridge University Press, 1970-
- Main Library D57 .C17 1970, v.1-14
Contents: v. 1, pt. 1. Prolegomena and prehistory -- v. 1, pt. 2. Early history of the Middle East -- v. 2, pt. 2. History of the Middle East and the Aegean region, c. 1380-1000 B.C. -- v. 3, pt. 1. The Prehistory of the Balkans; and the Middle East and the Aegean World, tenth to eighth centuries B.C. 2d ed -- v. 3, pt. 2. The Assyrian and Babylonian empires and other states of the Near East, from the eighth to the sixth centuries B.C -- v. 3, pt. 3. The Expansion of the Greek World, eighth to sixth centuries B.C. --v. 4. Persia, Greece, and the western Mediterranean, c. 525 to 479 B.C. 2nd ed -- v. 5. The Fifth century B.C. -- v. 6. The Fourth century B.C. 2nd ed -- v. 7, pt. 1. The Hellenistic world 2nd ed -- v. 7, pt. 2. The Rise of Rome to 220 B.C. 2nd ed. -- v. 8. Rome and the Mediterranean to 133 B.C. 2nd ed. -- v. 9. The Last Age of the Roman Republic, 146-43 B.C. 2nd ed. -- v. 10. The Augustine Empire, 43 B.C.-A.D. 69. 2nd. ed.-- v. 11. The High empire, A.D.70-192 -- v. 12. The Crisis of empire, A.D. 193-337 -- v. 13. The late empire, A.D.337-425 -- v. 14. Late antiquity: Empire and successors, A.D. 425-600.
Brill's New Pauly: chronologies of the ancient world: names, dates and dynasties.
Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2007.
- Ref D101.7 .H4713 2007
Chronology of the Ancient World. 2nd ed.
London: Thames and Hudson, 1980.
- Main Library D54.5 .B5 1980b
Greek and Roman Chronology: Calendars and Years in Classical Antiquity.
München: Beck, 1972.
- Main Library CE42 .S3
The atlas of Ancient Rome: biography and portraits of the city.
Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2017.
- Main Library DG63 .A85 2017 , v.1-2
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world.
Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2000.
- Ref G1033 .B3 2000, v.1-2
Digital Atlas of Roman & Medival Civilizations. (DARMC)
Harvard University's DARMC provides a free Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.
Historical atlas of ancient Mesopotamia.
New York: Checkmark Books, 2004.
- Sciences & Engineering G2251.S1 B3 2004
Historical atlas of the ancient world = Historischer Atlas der antiken Welt.
Leiden; Boston: Brill 2010
- Ref G1033 .H5713 2010
Illustrated atlas of ancient Egypt.
London: British Museum, 2005.
- Sciences & Engineering G2491.S1 P46 2005
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Period (Prehistory & Ancient History):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
- Citations to scholarly work on classical antiquity, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, early Christian texts and patristics, and Greek and Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, and science.
- Topical coverage begins in the second millennium BCE with pre-classical archaeology, and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800), extending from the physical centers of ancient Greece and Rome to Northern and Eastern Europe, Asia Minor, the Middle East, and North Africa.
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World.Contains primary and secondary materials: course materials, a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many online resources, including articles, book reviews, databases and images, on women and gender in the ancient Mediterranean world.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
- An index to scholarly journals and collected works on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Brush up on your German, or select the "English" interface option at the bottom of the left column. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. Historical Abstracts does index some material on ancient history.
- Supplementum epigraphicum graecumA collected bibliography of books and articles on aspects of Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions. Inscriptions are listed by their provenance, region, and assigned area (Greece, North, Aegean, West, Asia Minor, East, Unknown provenance, and Varia) and each lemma has a unique identifier made up from the printed SEG volume and sequence number, as well as additional hyperlinked metadata. This online edition includes the electronic equivalent of all SEG volumes (beginning with v. 1 [1923]) published so far, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series.
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to ClassicistsProvides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Abzu ETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East ArchivesA guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world, from the Penn State University Libraries.
- Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL)From the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, AWDL provides access to scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world.
- Brill's New Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Brings together online Jacoby's Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker (collection of ancient Greek historical texts) and Brill's New Jacoby, a new edition together with new commentaries in English by contemporary scholars, as well as facing English translations of the Greek texts.
▪ See also Jacoby, Felix. Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker. Leiden; New York: E.J. Brill, 1993- . Main Library PA3490 .J3 (22 vols.) - Brill's New Pauly Online[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The English edition of Der Neue Pauly, Brill's New Pauly covers the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity and Islam.
▪ See also Brill's New Pauly: chronologies of the ancient world - names, dates and dynasties in print at Ref D101.7 .H4713 2007
- Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum.A digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum is part of the larger Forum Romanum resource, maintained by David Camden.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum.The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum ('Corpus of Ancient Vases') is the oldest research project of the Union Académique Internationale, presenting of a series of pictorial catalogs of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. Published since 1922, almost 400 catalogs in the series have illustrated more than 100,000 vases.
▪ See also print volumes at Art & Architecture, Cage Oversize NK4640.C6 ... - Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World.Contains primary and secondary materials: course materials, a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many online resources, including articles, book reviews, databases and images, on women and gender in the ancient Mediterranean world.
- Perseus Digital LibraryFrom Tufts University, texts and images focusing on the literature, history and culture of the Graeco-Roman world.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Contains most of the surviving ancient Greek literary texts, dating from the 8th century BCE to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. - Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A comprehensive, scholarly etymological dictionary of ancient Latin, based on critical analysis of texts from the earliest times up to 600 A.D.
- University of Oxford. Classical Art Research Centre.Supports research on ancient art via providing access to the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
- EuroDocs: History of Prehistoric & Ancient Europe.Links to collections of European primary historical documents, transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. EuroDocs comes to us from the Harold B. Lee Library of Brigham Young University,
- History: Ancient: Primary SourcesLinks to collections of primary sources, from the University of Washington.
Links and citations to additional sources of information on prehistory and ancient history might be found on the UCSB Library research guide for:
- Thesaurus linguae Latinae.[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Berlin: Walter de Gruyter, 2006.
- Covers Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.