Medieval History
- The ORB: On-line Reference Book for Medieval StudiesAn academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students in the field, ORB gives access to a collection of peer-reviewed texts by modern scholars on medieval studies. Essays here provide links to a number of sources of primary materials.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
- Articles on all aspects of the history of art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history from the fifth to the fifteenth century. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages.
New York: Scribner, 1982-89.
- Ref D114 .D5 1982 v.1-13
Lansing, Carol and Edward D. English. A companion to the medieval world.
Chichester, UK; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
- Main Library D117 .C657 2009
The Oxford dictionary of Byzantium.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.
- Also available in print at Ref DF521 .O93 1991 v.1-3
The Oxford handbook of Byzantine studies.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
- Main Library DF552 .O93 2008
Medieval England: an encyclopedia.
New York: Garland, 1998.
- Ref DA129 .M43 1998
Medieval France: an encyclopedia.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Garland, 1995.
- Also available in print at Main Library DC33.2 .M44 1995
Medieval Germany: an encyclopedia.
New York: Garland, 2001.
- Ref DD157 .M43 2001
Medieval Iberia: an encyclopedia.
New York: Routledge, 2003.
- Ref DP99 .M33 2003
Medieval Ireland: an encyclopedia.
New York: Routledge, 2005.
- Ref DA933 .M43 2005
Medieval Islamic civilization: an encyclopedia.
New York: Routledge, 2006.
- Ref DS36.85 .M434 2006 v.1-2
Medieval Italy: an encyclopedia.
New York: Routledge, 2004.
- DG443 .M43 2004 v.1-2
Medieval Jewish civilization: an encyclopedia.
New York: Routledge, 2003.
- Ref DS124 .M386 2003
Medieval Scandinavia: an encyclopedia.
New York: Garland, 1993.
- Ref DL30 .M43 1993
The New Cambridge Medieval History.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995-
Contents: v.1 c.500-c.700. v.2 c.700-c.900. v.3 c.900-c.1024. v.4 c.1024-c.1198 (2 v.) v.5 c.1198-c.1300. v.6 c.1300-c.1415. v.7 c.1415-c.1500.
- Ref D117 .N48 1995, v.1-7
Venning, Timothy. A chronology of early medieval Western Europe: 450-1066.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
London: Routledge, 2018.
Atlas of Medieval Europe.
London; New York: Routledge, 2007.
- Sciences & Engineering G1791 .M2 2007
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Period (Medieval History):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowA tool for locating articles, books and essays relating to medieval women, sexuality and gender.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. Historical Abstracts does index some material on medieval history. - Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Indexes articles in some 4,500 periodicals and 5,000 miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). Includes access to the companion database Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BCM) which provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of books dealing with the Middle Ages. - ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Journal article citations and abstracts to articles pertaining to the Middle Ages (400-1500) and Renaissance (1300-1700). - Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries from many academic perspectives.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Acta Sanctorum Database This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
An electronic version of the Acta Sanctorum - published in 68 volumes between 1643 and 1940 by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels - the database is a collection of documents on the lives of saints, organised by each saint's feast day. It includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices, as well as Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers.
- Archivio di Stato di Firenze.Archival material that documents the history of Florence from the Republic to the Medici and Lorena Dutchies to the Reign and then on to the Republic of Italy.
- ARLIMA: Les Archives de littérature du Moyen ÂgeBibliographical guide to medieval French literature, arranged by author and work.
- La Bibliothèque virtuelle des manuscrits médiévaux. (BVMM)Digital copies of medieval manuscripts from French libraries other than the National Library, made accessible by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes.
- British Library. Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts.A database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts found in the British Library.
- British Library. Digitised Manuscripts.Includes many manuscripts from the medieval period.
Corpus Fontium Historiae Byzantinae (CFHB).
Historical sources (with textual criticism) from the time of the Byzantine Empire (4th–15th centuries AD) from the Association Internationale des Études Byzantines (AIEB) and its national branches.
♦ Search the Library Catalog portion of UCSB Library Search for "Corpus Fontium Historiae Byzantinae" as an Exact Phrase in Any Field.
- Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum.Vindobonae: C. Geroldi, 1866- (86 vols.)
A series of critical editions of the writings of the Latin Church Fathers, from the time of the late 2nd century to the beginning of the 7th century.
- Available in print from the Southern Regional Library Facility BR60 .C6 - Corsair: Images from Medieval and Renaissance ManuscriptsThe online research resource of the Pierpont Morgan Library.
- De Re Militari.A portal to scholarly information - primary sources, articles, dissertations, and other resources - on warfare in the Middle Ages, from the fall of Rome to early seventeenth century. From the Society for the Study of Medieval Military History.
- Dictionary of Old English. Old English corpus.[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2004.
- A computerized corpus comprising at least one copy of each text surviving in Old English. - Digital Scriptorium.Digital Scriptorium is a website supported by a consortium of libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.
- Digital Vatican LibraryProvides digital access to parts of the Vatican Library’s collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects). It is a growing collection of thousands of images of printed books, manuscripts, incunablula, visual materials and coins and medals.
Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile. [series]
Copenhagen: Rosenkilde and Bagger, 1951- .
The series represents primary sources from pre-Conquest England. A contents list for each volume of the series is found at a University of Kentucky web page: http://www.uky.edu/~kiernan/ENG519/EEMF.htm
♦ Search the Library Catalog portion of UCSB Library Search for "Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile" as an Exact Phrase in Any Field.
- Electronic Sawyer.An online and updated edition of Peter Sawyer's Anglo-Saxon Charters: an Annotated List and Bibliography, published by the Royal Historical Society in 1968.
- Epistolae: Medieval Women's LettersA collection of medieval Latin letters to and from women. The letters date from the 4th to the 13th centuries, and are presented in their original Latin as well as in English translation.
- Global Medieval Sourcebook (GMS)Stanford University's Sourcebook provides for the parallel viewing of medieval texts in new English translations, and in their digitized manuscript form. The GMS spans one thousand years (600-1600) of literary production from around the world, with short texts in a variety of genres, almost all of which have not previously been translated into English.
- Harvard Library. Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts.Some 250 digitized manuscripts useful for the study of the literature, art, history, music, philosophy, and theology of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance in Western Europe.
- MacKinney Collection of Medieval Medical Illustrations.Digitized database of images from the slide collection of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Professor of medieval history and medieval medical history, Loren C. MacKinney.
- Manuscripta MediaevaliaAn database of over 90,000 digitized manuscripts held in German repositories.
- Medici Archive Project. (MAP)MAP provides worldwide access to historical data in the Medici Granducal Archive (Florence) .
- Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank. (MEMDB)A project from Rutgers University and originally co-sponsored by the Research Libraries Group (RLG) giving access to five large data sets, three pertaining to currency exchanges and two pertaining to prices, on the medieval and early modern periods of European history, circa 800-1815 AD.
- Medieval England and France, 700-1200 = France et Angleterre: manuscrits médiévaux entre 700 et 1200.Medieval manuscripts that were digitized as part of The Polonsky Foundation England and France Project: Manuscripts from the British Library and the Bibliothèque nationale de France, 700-1200.
- Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts.Thousands of manuscript illuminations from the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library of the Netherlands) and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum in The Hague. Primarily late medieval images from the 8th through 16th centuries, the majority of the manuscripts are from France and the Low Countries.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica. [Series]
Ongoing collection of sources on German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500.
♦ Search the Library Catalog portion of UCSB Library Search for "Monumenta Germaniae Historica" as an Exact Phrase in Any Field.
♦ Much of the Monumenta Germaniae Historica series can be found online at the Internet Archive.
- The ORB: On-line Reference Book for Medieval StudiesAn academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students in the field, ORB gives access to a collection of peer-reviewed texts by modern scholars on medieval studies. Essays here provide links to a number of sources of primary materials.
- Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
An electronic version of the 1st edition published by Jacques-Paul Migne between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865, the Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes, as well as Migne's column numbers.
Rerum Britannicarum Medii Ævi scriptores; or, Chronicles and memorials of Great Britain and Ireland during the Middle Ages.
Great Britain. Public Record Office, London, 1858-1911.
- Main Library DA25 .B5 99 v. in 254.
- The "Rolls Series" as it is commonly known is a major collection of British and Irish historical materials and primary sources that date from the Roman occupation of the British Isles to the reign of Henry VIII, published as 99 works in 254 volumes between 1858 and 1911.
- History: Medieval: Primary SourcesLinks to primary source collections, from the University of Washington.
- The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies.Links to electronic resources in medieval studies from a site at Georgetown University, with connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world.
- Mediaevum.deLinks and other resources for studying German language and literature dating from the 8th to the 16th century.
- Medieval and Renaissance Studies.A portal to scholarly resources on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance from the Western European Studies Section ot the Association of College & Research Libraries.
- New York University. Medieval and Renaissance Studies research guide.An excellent list of links and resources.
- UC Berkeley, Program in Medieval Studies. Electronic Resources.A great list of resources and links that support research into aspects of medieval culture. It's good to know what exists.
- Anglo-Norman Online HubOnline Anglo-Norman dictionary, articles and texts in a web resource from the University of Aberystwyth and Swansea University.
Bosworth, Joseph. An Anglo-Saxon dictionary.
Oxford: Oxford UP, [1954].
- Main Library PE279 .B62, v.1-3
- Also available online as the Bosworth-Toller Anglo-Saxon Dictionary.
Godefroy, Frédéric. Dictionnaire de láncienne langue française, et de tous ses dialectes du IXe au XVe siècle ...
Vaduz: Kraus Reprint, 1965.
- Ref PC2889 .G5 1965, v.1-10
Latham, R. E. Dictionary of medieval Latin from British sources.
London: Oxford UP, 1975-
- Ref PA2891 .L28, v.1-12
Mantello, Frank Anthony Carl. Medieval Latin: an introduction and bibliographical guide.
Washington, DC: Catholic University of America Press, 1996.
- Main Library PA2802 .M43 1996
Old French-English dictionary.
Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
- Main Library PC2891 .H56 2000
- Middle English CompendiumThe University of Michigan's Middle English Compendium contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.