Early Modern History
The Cambridge Dictionary of Modern World History.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2017.
Encyclopedia of early modern history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Leiden: Brill, 2015.
- English edition of the 15v Enzyklopädie der Neuzeit, covering the history of Europe from ca. 1450 to ca. 1850.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance.
New York: Scribner's, 1999.
- Ref CB361 .E52 1999, v.1-6
Europe 1450 to 1789: encyclopedia of the early modern world.
New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.
- Ref D209 .E97 2004, v.1-6
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
- Also available in print at Ref CB361 .C27 2003
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
- Also available in print at Ref BR302.8 .O93 1996, v.1-4
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
- Also available in print at Ref B802 .E53 2003, v.1-4
The Wiley-Blackwell dictionary of modern European history since 1789.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
A Dictionary of eighteenth-century world history.
Oxford, UK; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Reference, 1994.
- Ref D286 .D53 1994
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620: a biographical dictionary.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001.
- Ref CT759 .R46 2001
Historical atlas of the Renaissance.
New York: Checkmark Books, 2004.
- Main Library CB361 .R58 2004
The New Cambridge modern history.
Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1957-79.
- Contents: v.1. The Renaissance, 1493-1520; v.2. The Reformation, 1520-1559; v.3. The counter-reformation and price revolution, 1559-1610; v.4. The decline of Spain and the Thirty Years War, 1609-48/59; v.5. The ascendancy of France, 1648-88; v.6. The rise of Great Britain and Russia, 1688-1715/25; v.7. The old regime, 1713-63; v.8. The American and French Revolutions, 1763-93; v.9. War and peace in an age of upheaval, 1793-1830; v.10. The zenith of European power, 1830-70; v.11. Material progress and world-wide problems, 1870-1898; v.12. The era of violence, 1898-1945; v.13. Companion volume; v.14. Atlas. Includes also the 2d ed. of v.12, The shifting balance of world forces, 1898-1945.
- Main Library D208 .N5 1957-79, v.1-14
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Period (Early Modern History):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Journal article citations and abstracts to articles pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and Middle Ages (400-1500)
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), this collection represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, made available by the British Library. - Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. - Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. It transcribes and marks up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints. - Early European Books This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, ECCO gives access to digital images from works published in the UK (and elsewhere) during the 18th century, including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. - English Broadside Ballad Archive This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Created by the Early Modern Center in the English Department at UCSB, the English Broadside Ballad Archive (formerly, Pepys Ballad Archive) holds over 1,800 broadside ballads, mostly of the seventeenth century and mostly in black-letter print. - English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Includes all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
- Medici ArchiveThe Medici Granducal Archive (Archivio Mediceo del Principato) documents the lives and works of the Medici family, Grand Dukes & Duchesses of Tuscany, from 1537-1743.
- Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank. (MEMDB)A project from Rutgers University and originally co-sponsored by the Research Libraries Group (RLG) giving access to five large data sets, three pertaining to currency exchanges and two pertaining to prices, on the medieval and early modern periods of European history, circa 800-1815 AD.
- Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present.
- Old Maps OnlineAn open resource of maps from research libraries around the world. Searching a place and a time period will help find high-resolution maps.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowRegistration: ARTstor requires users to create an account and login before images can be downloaded. Use the links at upper right of the ARTstor site.
ARTstor contains digital images with accompanying data, as well as software tools to enable researchers to use the images actively. The database allows searching and browsing of images from a wide range of cultures and time periods, focusing on but not limited to the arts. ARTstor is designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship in art history and many other disciplines.
- The Early Modern WorldAn Internet Modern History Sourcebook project by Fordham University. The website has links to primary source documents mostly in English translation.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryContains open access sources. Has links connecting to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. There are also video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
The order of documents is chronological wherever possible. - Library of Congress MapsDigitized maps from the Library of Congress
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseThe platform has records from more than 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866 from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world, providing information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes.