19th & 20th Century History
The Cambridge dictionary of modern world history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2017.
A dictionary of contemporary history, 1945 to the present.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1999.
A dictionary of contemporary world history. 5th ed.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2019.
A Dictionary of nineteenth-century world history.
Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1994.
- Ref D356 .D53 1994
A dictionary of twentieth-century world history.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
- Ref D419 .P32 1997
The Routledge companion to world history since 1914.
London; New York: Routledge, 2005.
- Main Library D421 .C64 2005
The New Cambridge modern history.
Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1957-79.
- Contents: v.1. The Renaissance, 1493-1520; v.2. The Reformation, 1520-1559; v.3. The counter-reformation and price revolution, 1559-1610; v.4. The decline of Spain and the Thirty Years War, 1609-48/59; v.5. The ascendancy of France, 1648-88; v.6. The rise of Great Britain and Russia, 1688-1715/25; v.7. The old regime, 1713-63; v.8. The American and French Revolutions, 1763-93; v.9. War and peace in an age of upheaval, 1793-1830; v.10. The zenith of European power, 1830-70; v.11. Material progress and world-wide problems, 1870-1898; v.12. The era of violence, 1898-1945; v.13. Companion volume; v.14. Atlas. Includes also the 2d ed. of v.12, The shifting balance of world forces, 1898-1945.
- Main Library D208 .N5 1957-79, v.1-14
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Period (19th & 20th Century History):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSCI) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Database of sources in the history of science, technology and medicine and allied historical fields. HSCI integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. - Cold War International History Project This link opens in a new windowThe Cold War International History Project, established at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC, disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources from the former Communist world.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A comprehensive source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. C19 draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.5 million books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 18.9 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. - Historic Government Publications from World War II This link opens in a new windowFrom Southern Methodist University, a collection of informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.
- Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. - Sixties: Primary Documents Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary on this important period in American history, culture, and politics. - Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A collection of international documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Socialism on Film is a streaming video collection comprised of 20th century documentaries, newsreels, and feature films created in the communist world and later modified with English language enhancements for distribution to Western audiences. - Victorian Popular Culture Series[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Taking its cue from the source material, Victorian Popular Culture welcomes readers into the darkened halls, small backrooms and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to magic and spiritualist séances. Victorian Popular Culture contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. - World's Fairs This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic.
- World War I Document ArchiveAn archive of primary documents from World War One assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.