LibGuides: Geology & Earth Science: Geospatial Collections

Geospatial Collectons in the UCSB Library

The UCSB Library's geospatial collection consists of over 500,000 paper maps and 2.5 million air photos, as well as atlases, gazetteers, GIS data, CDs, DVDs and globes. Although the collection's scope spans the entire world (and beyond!) on a variety of topics and in a range of scales, the main focus is on Santa Barbara and California, primarily in the geosciences.

For more information about geospatial data, GIS, or maps, consult the following guides:

Our geospatial librarians are available to help you with your research. For assistance, see the "profile" boxes on this page for their contact information.

Aerial Photography, Maps, and Spatial Data Resources in the UCSB Library

Aerial photography: located in our Geospatial Collection

Maps: located in our Geospatial Collection

Spatial Data Resources: GIS Software and assistance is available in the Interdisciplinary Research Collaboratory

Geologic Maps Online

National Geologic Map Database This link opens in a new window
NGMDB makes widely available a national archive of standardized maps. The database is the product of a partnership between the United States Geological Survey (USGS) and the Association of American State Geologists (AASG). Site includes the catalog, the lexicon, the map interface and the historical topographic map collection. The lexicon has stratigraphic information – geologic names, charts, time scales, and guidelines.