Reference Works
Subject dictionaries are a great way to familiarize yourself with words and phrases used in geology and Earth science. Use them to find definitions and background information on your topic.
Challinor's Dictionary of Geology
Call Number: Reference QE5 .C45 1985 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1986
Chambers Earth Sciences DictionaryCall Number: Reference QE5 .C453 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1992
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Earth SciencesCall Number: Reference QE5 .C66 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1991
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical GeographyCall Number: Sciences & Engineering GB10 .H82 1988 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1988
Dictionary of Geological TermsCall Number: Reference QE5 .D55 1984 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1984
Dictionary of Mining, Mineral and Related TermsCall Number: Reference TN9 .D564 1997 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Dictionary of PetrologyCall Number: Reference QE423 .T65 1983 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1983
Earth Sciences ReferenceCall Number: Reference QE5 .M366 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1991
Elsevier's dictionary of environmental hydrogeology: in English, French, and GermanCall Number: Reference GB1003 .E47 1990 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1990
Elsevier's Dictionary of Mining and MineralogyCall Number: Reference TN 10 .D67 1993 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1993
Facts on File Dictionary of Geology and GeophysicsCall Number: Reference QE5 .L29 1987 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1987
Glossary of GeologyCall Number: Reference QE5 .B38 2005 (5th ed.) (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005 & 2011 (5th ed. rev. online)- Glossary of Mineral SpeciesCall Number: Sciences & Engineering QE355 .F56 1987 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1987
Glossary of Mineral SynonymsCall Number: Reference QE357 .F68 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Illustrated Glossary of Petroleum GeochemistryCall Number: Reference TN870.5 .M493 1989 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1989
Illustrated Petroleum Reference DictionaryCall Number: Reference TN865 .I43 1985 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1985
Magill's Survey of Science, Earth Science SeriesCall Number: Reference QE28 .M33 1990 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1990
Simon and Schuster Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs and Prehistoric CreaturesCall Number: Reference QE841 .M225 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Specialized encyclopedias provide excellent introductions to many aspects of geology and Earth science. Articles are usually written by experts in the subject, and will include a bibliography to get you started on your research.
- Earth Science (5 vol. on different topics)Call Number: Reference QE 28 .E12 2001 (Print Resource)
Encyclopaedia of Solid Earth SciencesCall Number: Reference QE5 .E75 1993 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1993Encyclopedia of Beaches and Coastal Environments
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1984
Encyclopedia of DinosaursCall Number: Reference QE862.D5 C862 1997 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Earth and Space ScienceCall Number: Reference QE5 .K845 2010 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and VolcanoesCall Number: Reference QE521 .R58 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007Encyclopedia of Earth System Science
Call Number: Reference QE5 .E514 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1991
Encyclopedia of Gemstones and MineralsCall Number: Reference QE392 .H65 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1991
Encyclopedia of GeochemistryCall Number: Reference QE515 .E48 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and PaleomagnetismCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007Encyclopedia of Geomorphology
Call Number: Reference QE5 .E58 v.3 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1968
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs: Geography, Geology, Hydrology and PaleolimnologyCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of MineralsCall Number: Reference QE355 .R6 1990 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1989
Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient EnvironmentsCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of PaleontologyCall Number: Reference QE703 .E58 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of PrehistoryCall Number: Reference QE26.3 .L36 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary RocksCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1987Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs: Original and Compelling Insight into Life in the Dinosaur Kingdom
Call Number: Sciences & Engineering QE862.D5 N67 1985 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1988
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs: The Ultimate Reference to 355 Dinosaurs from the Triassic, Jurassic and Cretaceous Periods, Including More Than 900 Watercolours, Maps, Timelines and Photographs by Call Number: Reference QE861.3 .D59 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Handbooks, Manuals, & Field Guides are useful for both work out in the field and in the lab. They are often good for finding established techniques for doing something.
3D Imaging of the Environment: Mapping and Monitoring
This book gives readers detailed explanations of the techniques used to map and monitor the built and natural environment and how that data, collected from a wide range of scales and cost options, is translated into an image or visual experience. It is written with technical, professional, and academic readers in mind.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Audubon Society Field Guide to North American FossilsCall Number: Reference QE718 .T5 1982 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1982
Cambridge Guide to Minerals, Rocks and FossilsCall Number: Reference QE363.8 .B57 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Data Science Handbook: A Practical Approach by
DATA SCIENCE HANDBOOK This desk reference handbook gives a hands-on experience on various algorithms and popular techniques used in real-time in data science to all researchers working in various domains. Data Science is one of the leading research-driven areas in the modern era. It is having a critical role in healthcare, engineering, education, mechatronics, and medical robotics. Building models and working with data is not value-neutral. We choose the problems with which we work, make assumptions in these models, and decide on metrics and algorithms for the problems. The data scientist identifies the problem which can be solved with data and expert tools of modeling and coding. The book starts with introductory concepts in data science like data munging, data preparation, and transforming data. Chapter 2 discusses data visualization, drawing various plots and histograms. Chapter 3 covers mathematics and statistics for data science. Chapter 4 mainly focuses on machine learning algorithms in data science. Chapter 5 comprises of outlier analysis and DBSCAN algorithm. Chapter 6 focuses on clustering. Chapter 7 discusses network analysis. Chapter 8 mainly focuses on regression and naive-bayes classifier. Chapter 9 covers web-based data visualizations with Plotly. Chapter 10 discusses web scraping. The book concludes with a section discussing 19 projects on various subjects in data science. Audience The handbook will be used by graduate students up to research scholars in computer science and electrical engineering as well as industry professionals in a range of industries such as healthcare.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022Engineering Geology Field Manual - Open Access Book
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1998-2001
Environmental Geology: Handbook of Field Methods and Case StudiesCall Number: Reference QE38 .E58 2007 (Print & Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Facts on File Earth Science HandbookCall Number: Reference QE5 .F32 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Fossil Collector's HandbookCall Number: Reference QE746 .M3 1983 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1983
Fossils: A Photographic Field GuideCall Number: QE714.3 .P45 2016 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Geological Field Sketches and Illustrations: A Practical GuideCall Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0192572873
Geotechnical Engineering Investigation HandbookCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Engineering Hydrology: Environmental Hydrology and Water ManagementCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of GeochemistryCall Number: Reference QE515 .W42 (Print Resouce)Publication Date: 1969-1978
Handbook of Geotechnical Investigation and Design TablesCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of MineralogyCall Number: Reference QE366.8 .H36 1990 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1990
Handbook of PaleozoologyCall Number: Reference QE761 .K8413 1986 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1981
Handbook of Physical Properties of RocksCall Number: Reference QE431.6.P5 H36 1982 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1982
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis
Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from many studies in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given research issue. When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for conducting meta-analyses in both the social and behavioral sciences. In the third edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of classic chapters and add new sections that evaluate cutting-edge developments in the field. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions and distills a vast literature to explain the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, the development of machine-based abstract screening, the increased use of meta-regression and the problems of missing data. The Handbook also addresses the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis, including searching the literature and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can foster communication of the results of research syntheses. The third edition of the Handbook provides comprehensive instruction in the skills necessary to conduct research syntheses and represents the premier text on research synthesis. Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook''s classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Hey's Mineral Index: Mineral Species, Varieties, and SynonymsCall Number: Reference QE357 .C53 1993 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1993
Igneous Rocks: A Classification and Glossary of TermsCall Number: QE461 .I446 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Manual for Soil Analysis - Monitoring and Assessing Soil BioremediationCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Manual of Mineral ScienceCall Number: Reference QE372.2 .K54 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Mineral Reference ManualCall Number: Reference QE372.2 .N53 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1990
Minerals of CaliforniaCall Number: Reference QE375.C32 P45 1983 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1982
Physical Properties of Rocks: Fundamentals and Principles of PetrophysicsCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Physical Properties of Rocks and MineralsCall Number: Reference QE431.6.P5 P48 1989 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1989
Pictorial Guide to FossilsCall Number: Reference QE714 .C32 1982 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1982
Seismic Stratigraphy, Basin Analysis and Reservoir Characterisation [handbook]Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006Strunz Mineralogical Tables
Call Number: Reference QE388 .S813 2001 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Visualization of Digital Terrain and Landscape DataCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Why Use Reference Works?
Reference works provide quick access to basic information about your topic. You should select the type of reference work you want depending on the type and depth of information you need.
Dictionaries:
- Subject dictionaries are a great way to familiarize yourself with words and phrases used in geology and Earth science.
Encyclopedias:
- Specialized encyclopedias provide excellent introductions to many aspects of geology and Earth science.
- Articles are usually written by experts in the subject, and will include a bibliography to get you started on your research.
Handbooks, Manuals, & Field Guides:
- These sources are great for both work out in the field and in the lab.
- They are often good for finding established techniques for doing something.
NOTE: The lists below are a mix of print and electronic resources. E-books are marked with a padlock and require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.
Valles Marineris
Valles Marineris is the largest canyon on Mars. It is as long as the United States and spans about 20 percent (1/5) of the entire distance around Mars.
Depth: up to 7 km (4 mi)
Length: 4000 km (2500 mi)
Photo Source: NASA