LibGuides: Exercise &amp; Sports Studies: Sports Medicine

UCSB Library Search

Article Databases

There are a number of useful resources for finding information about sports medicine. Below are some recommended article databases, many of which contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes the full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles which have not yet been added to MEDLINE, and some additional references from life sciences journals.
Date Coverage: 1814 - presen
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Coverage of thousands of research journals across all disciplines. Updated weekly.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier ScienceDirect allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Full-text display is available for most journals and for a few of the books and reference works.
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Journal Articles
SportRxiv This link opens in a new window
SportRxiv is maintained by the Society for Transparency, Openness and Replication in Kinesiology, and hosts preprint papers dealing with any area of sport, athletics, exercise or kinesiology.
Dates: 2018 - present
Materials Indexed: Preprints
Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on mainstream ergonomics and related material from physiology, biomechanics, safety science, medicine, and more.
Date Coverage: 1970-present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free, full-text access to all original research papers published by BioMed Central. UCSB is a member of BioMed Central through the California Digital Library.
Date Coverage: 1997 - present
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
Anatomy of the Human Body This link opens in a new window
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Date Coverage: 1918
Materials Indexed: Books; Images
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
Current Contents Connect indexes the bibliographic data for articles from thousands of scholarly journals. Its unique feature is the ability to browse issue by issue tables-of-contents for any of the journals indexed.
Date Coverage: 1998 to present
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles