UCSB Library Search
Article Databases
There are a number of useful resources for finding information on sports psychology and health & wellness. Below are some recommended article databases, many of which contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the 
to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular articles from across the disciplines. Articles date from 1984 to the present, with some PDF content going back as far as 1867.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndex to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. between 1890-1982. For coverage of similar topics from 1984 to the present, use Academic Search Complete.
- Counseling & Therapy in Video: Library
Contains streaming video files of actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. Provides a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
- Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
Indexes the bibliographic data for articles from thousands of scholarly journals. Its unique feature is the ability to browse issue by issue tables-of-contents for any of the journals indexed.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowElsevier ScienceDirect allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals, plus books and reference works, published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Full-text display is available for most journals and for a few of the books and reference works.
Sample Books from the Catalog
Performing under PressureCall Number: Main Library GV706.4 .P4728 2020
Coaching Athletes to Be Their BestCall Number: Main Library GV711 .R65 2020
Call number ranges for sports psychology and related topics:
- RC 1200-1245 - Sports medicine
- RD 97 - Sports injuries & surgery
- RA 773-788 - Personal health including exercise & nutrition
Suggested subject headings and keywords:
- Sports -- psychological aspects
- Stress management
- Performance
- Motivation (psychology)
- Coaching (athletics)