Research Sources by Type
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowThe best database for geology and Earth science
Includes citations to articles, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports
Much more complete coverage of the topic than Web of Science - Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe epicenter for research on earthquakes
You should also search GeoRef when researching in this area - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window(1984+) Provides basic articles about earthquakes and volcanoes. Includes new magazine accounts of quakes and eruptions.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window(1978+) Marine geology, incl. earthquakes, tsunamis, & volcanism.
- Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window(1970+) Useful for earthquake engineering.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and VolcanoesCall Number: Reference QE521 .R58 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of GeochemistryCall Number: Reference QE515 .E48 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of GeomorphologyCall Number: Reference QE5 .E58 v.3 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1968
Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate TectonicsCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1987Field Guide to the San Andreas Fault
Call Number: Sciences & Engineering QE606.5.U6 L9 2006 (Print Resouce)Publication Date: 2009
Volcanoes in Human History: The Far-Reaching Effects of Major EruptionsCall Number: Sciences & Engineering QE522 .B637 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2001
California’s Deadliest Earthquakes: A HistoryCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Catalog of Significant Earthquakes 2000 B.C.-1979 Including Quantitative Casualties and DamageCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Earthquake History of the United States
Call Number: Sciences & Engineering QE535 .E18 1982 (Print Resource)
Earthquakes, Tides, Unidentified Sounds, and Related Phenomena: A Catalog of Geophysical AnomaliesCall Number: Reference QE53 .C65 1983 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1983- Earthquakes and Earthquake Faults of CaliforniaCall Number: Reference QE606.5.U6 E27 1980 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1980
Glossary of GeologyCall Number: Reference QE5 .B38 2005 (5th ed.) (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005 & 2011 (5th ed. rev. online)- USGS Volcano Hazards Program - GlossaryOnline open-access website
Defines terms related to volcanoes (US Geological Survey)
Includes images and illustrations of the concepts
- California Geological SurveyState agency dedicated to the Earth Sciences in California
- Earthquake Country AllianceInformation on earthquakes for people living in California. Includes basic information on California faults, home preparedness, and earthquake survival (Southern California Earthquake Center).
- Earthquake Engineering Online ArchiveIncludes reports and images (UC Berkeley)
- Earthquake Engineering Research InstituteOrganization working to reduce earthquake risk through earthquake engineering
- Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS)USGS program to study earthquakes
- Earthquake Lists, Maps, and StatisticsInformation about significant earthquakes worldwide since 1980 (USGS)
- Geyser Observation and Study AssociationDescriptions and photographs of geysers from around the world with an emphasis on Yellowstone and Old Faithful.
- Global Volcanism Program (Smithsonian)Weekly & monthly reports on current and historical eruptions for more than 400 volcanoes
- National Strong-Motion ProjectUSGS program to study damaging earthquakes; includes data sets on earthquakes since 1933.
- PEER Strong Ground Motion DatabasesContains records for over 140 earthquakes worldwide (Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center)
- Santa Barbara Earthquake HistoryCovers earthquakes felt in the greater Santa Barbara region between 1800 and 1960 (UCSB)
- Southern California Earthquake CenterCollects and analyzes data on earthquakes in Southern California. Located at USC.
- Southern California Earthquake Data CenterThe archive of the Southern California Seismic Network (SCSN). Located at Cal Tech.
- Southern California Seismic NetworkMonitors earthquakes in Southern California.
- U.S. Geological Survey - California Volcano ObservatoryObservatory studying a region of volcanic unrest in the Sierra-Nevada range, California
- U.S. Geological Survey - Cascades Volcano ObservatoryObservatory studying the Cascades volcanoes including Northern California
- Volcano Hazards Program (USGS)USGS program to study volcanoes; links to volcano observatories
- Weekly Volcanic Activity Report (Worldwide, Smithsonian/USGS)Includes updates on current volcanic eruptions and activity
Recent Earthquakes
Kilauea Volcano
