Skip to Main Content

UCSB Reads 2021


Each year, a committee of faculty, staff, students, and community partners convene to select an intellectually stimulating, interdisciplinary book by a living author that appeals to a wide range of readers and can be incorporated into the UCSB curriculum. Each committee member suggests two titles to the long list, which is narrowed down by vote to the "short list". The final book is chosen by vote from these 5-6 titles. Below is the list of 2020-2021 committee members.

Rebecca Baker -Graduate Student, English

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia - Faculty, History

Jackson Eddy - UCSB Undergraduate Student

Jane Faulkner - UCSB Librarian

Allison Gray - Director, Goleta Valley Public Library

Michelle Grue - Doctoral Candidate, Education and Writing and Literature Fellow at CCS

Bruce Kendall - Faculty, Bren School

Dylan Martinez - UCSB Undergraduate Student

Patrick McCray - Faculty, History

Maria Napoli Community College Programs Manager, Center for Science and Engineering Partnerships

Erin Nerstad - Associate Director, Interdisciplinary Humanities Center

Sharleen O'Brien - Director, UCSB Health and Wellness

Caitlin O'Hara Senior Publicist, UCSB Arts & Lectures

Sameer Pandya - Faculty, Asian-American Studies

Behrooz Parhami - Faculty, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Kathy Patterson - Faculty, Writing Program

David Pellow - Faculty, Environmental Studies

Alex Regan - UCSB Librarian

kynita stringer-stanback - UCSB Librarian

Emily Zinn - Associate Director, Carsey-Wolf Center