Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Science Data
Social Science Data Services @ UCSB Library
Are you looking for:
- A specific data set you saw referenced in an article?
- Help finding out what data sets are available on a particular topic?
- A statistic to support an argument?
The UCSB Library can help you with data discovery, and can (in some cases) assist with the acquistion of specific data sets.
This guide is meant to be a starting point for researchers, so if you don't find what you're looking for, please contact me and I'll help.
For assistance in data curation, data management, or other topics related to the data you are collecting, please visit the guide for Research Data Management: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/data_management
U.S. Census Bureau
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Provides fact sheets, statistics, and tabular data.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences, including economics. Search by keyword, topic, or series.
In order to view data, you must create a MyData account. As a researcher affiliated with UCSB, creating an account permits you to download data available only to ICPSR members.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The Roper Center provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. While the data collection focuses strongly on United States public opinion, it also includes collections of micro-level European, Latin American (Latin American Databank), and Japanese (JPOLL) polls.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government websites. Statistical Universe combines American Statistics Index (U.S. Federal statistics), Statistical Reference Index (U.S. state governments and private organizations) and Index to International Statistics (international agencies).
Social Media Data
UCSB Library information regarding using social media data for your research.
Data Citation Index
Data Citation Index indexes data sets from selected repositories around the world, and also enables the user to find data sets which cite a particular work.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Data
The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
View further data collections here.
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
World Development Indicators (WDI) provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series for 210 economies going back to 1960, where data are available.
Statistical data from Indian government and private sources.
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies