Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Each of the sites listed below contains data suitable for re-analysis. Many of them include built-in visualizations or maps. Datasets are either on topics directly related to Racial Justice, or would be especially relevant for such research.
Locally Relevant Data Sources
A branch of the Black Youth Project (http://blackyouthproject.com/) run by the Center for the Study of Race, Politics, and Culture at the University of Chicago. GenForward collects social survey data among young people (Millenials/Gen Z), to understand the challenges and opportunities faced by young people of color in the contemporary United States
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act
The Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) was enacted by Congress in 1975 and was implemented by the Federal Reserve Board's Regulation C. On July 21, 2011, the rule-writing authority of Regulation C was transferred to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). Regulation C, requires lending institutions to report public loan data. In this section of the website, you can find out more about the regulation and its interpretation.
United States National Lynching Data
1883-1941 from the Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research
Freedom on the Move
Freedom on the Move is a database of newspaper ads of "fugitives" or runaway-slaves. from the South. The ads preserved the details of individuals, their appearance, and personalities, serving as a rare source of information about the experiences of enslaved peoples.
Policing, Police Violence, and Crime
Atlas of Surveillance
Documents various types of surveillance technology used by 3,500 law enforcement agencies around the US. The 5,300 data-points, crowdsourced with the help of hundreds of students and volunteers, cover a dozen categories of technology, such as automated license plate readers, facial recognition systems, and partnerships with doorbell camera–companies. A project of the Electronic Frontier Foundation
Civilian complaints against NYPD officers
has published a dataset of more than 12,000 civilian complaints against nearly 4,000 NYPD officers. The data were obtained through a freedom-of-information request to New York City’s Civilian Complaint Review Board, after NY state overturned a decades-old statute that had shielded the records. ProPublica’s database “lists the name of each officer, the race of the complainant and the officer, a category describing the alleged misconduct, and whether the CCRB concluded the officers’ conduct violated NYPD rules.”
Crime Statistics for the United States
Crime statistics and publications from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
A database of all deaths through fatal police interactions in the United States from Jan. 1, 2000
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Thematic collection from ICPSR, the mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
Police Violence @ BLM Protests
Created by Greg Doucette and curated by Jason E. Miller, this site along with its underlying data
(https://tinyurl.com/GFProtestPoliceBrutality) compiles more than 1,800 incidents of “unnecessary violence by law enforcement officers against civilians”
Stanford Open Policing Project
A database of vehicle and pedestrian stops from law enforcement departments across the United States.
Uniform Crime Reporting Data Series
Since 1930, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) has compiled the Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) to serve as periodic nationwide assessments of reported crimes not available elsewhere in the criminal justice system. With the 1977 data, the title was expanded to Uniform Crime Reporting Program Data. Each year, participating law enforcement agencies contribute reports to the FBI either directly or through their state reporting programs. ICPSR archives the UCR data as five separate components: (1) summary data, (2) county-level data, (3) incident-level data (National Incident-Based Reporting System [NIBRS]), (4) hate crime data, and (5) various, mostly nonrecurring, data collections.
Use of Force Policy Database
Created by 8cantwait.org
, a police reform organization, this project compiled the use of force policies of 100 large police departments, and evaluated them based on the 8 specific reforms for which the organization have advocated.
Washington Post: Fatal Force Database
Contains every fatal police shooting in the United States since Jan 1. 2015.
Data Visualizations and Maps
Black Lives Matter protests
A project created by an individual to document and map BLM protests across the United States--more than 4400 as of September 14. The background data files are also available (https://www.creosotemaps.com/blm2020/json/).
COVID Racial Data Tracker
The COVID Racial Data Tracker advocates for, collects, publishes, and analyzes racial data on the pandemic across the United States. It’s a collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and Boston University Antiracist Research & Policy Center (ARPC).
Digitized Home Owners Loan Corporation (HOLC) red lining maps from the University of Richmond.
Mapping Police Violence
A research collaborative collecting comprehensive data on police killings nationwide to quantify the impact of police violence in communities.
Visualizing hidden histories of race and privilege in the urban landscape in Minneapolis and beyond.
An initial release of social mobility data, collaborated between Harvard Univeristy, Brown University, and The U.S. Census Bureau.
Key Subscription Resources
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies