Data Sources: Demography

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

The Population and Vital Statistics Report presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years. It also presents United Nations estimates of the mid-year population of the world, and its major areas and regions.

Provides access to public health data and information, such as queries, resources, statistics, surveys, informatics, GIS, and health indicators.

Includes links to surveys and data from: National Health Interview Survey, National Health Interview Survey-Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Survey, National Health Interview Survey-National Health Care Interview Survey, and more. See the pop-up link for detailed information

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal to providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

The global health expenditure database that WHO has maintained for the past ten years, provides internationally comparable numbers on national health expenditures.

The data collections in HMCA include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care.

The AHRQ MCC Research Network works to advance the field of Multiple Chronic Conditions (MCC) research, provide needed guidance for clinicians and patients, and advise policy makers about improved methods to measure and promote quality care for complex patients.

The Center offers data and resources to health researchers to fill critical knowledge gaps related to the health of sexual and gender minorities, strengthening the foundation for culturally competent treatment and behavior change models.

CPES provides data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups.

IFSS offers access to ten national studies of fertility encompassing the Growth of American Families (GAF; 1955, 1960), National Fertility Surveys (NFS; 1965, 1970), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG; 1973, 1976, 1982, 1988, 1995, 2002) as well as a single dataset composed of harmonized variables across all ten surveys.

The Milken Institute's sFasterCures project is tracking hundreds of potential COVID-19 treatments and vaccines. The project’s database (an Airtable with direct download of a csv) lists treatment category (e.g., DNA-based vaccines, cell-based therapies, et cetera), a brief description, its stage of development, “anticipated next steps,” funders, and more. The project includes an interactive graphic exploring the vaccines.

The COVID Racial Data Tracker advocates for, collects, publishes, and analyzes racial data on the pandemic across the United States. It’s a collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and Boston University Antiracist Research & Policy Center (ARPC).

COVID-related behavior. Since early April, Imperial College London Institute of Global Health Innovation has been surveying people in 29 countries about their coronavirus-related behaviors and opinions. Topics include mask usage, self-isolation, working from home, vaccinations, and economic activity; the 230,000+ (anonymized) responses and country reports are available to download.